Deciding on uni courses

Lovethecars

one of my friends graduated from ntu in computer science with honors. after 5 years of working .. he is pulling in abt 3k per mth ... he is damn good at what he does (think he can get higher, but he seems content where he is) ...

knn work 5 yrs 3k nia?

wu ya bo?

3k is fresh grad pay leh

Local uni with honors and after working of 5 years, salary only about $3K per month? :blink: Got so low?

my friend works in IT from diploma, then private degree from Moxxxx ,now 31 hit 5k+ liao

i think u really need to come to luck when come to work..not always about FT also la..

like this no locals work liao..lol

He couldn't decide between the two...

I had a computer science degree from NUS. Based on my understanding, computer engineering is a mix of programming and hardware and EE stuff, while computer science focuses on computer theories, algorithms, software, system engineering, etc. While CE seems to give you the benefits of both world, I've seen people who graduated with neither a good understanding in programming nor one in EE. In other words, not enough depth in either field. On the other hand, I had limited exposure to the hardware side during my courses.

In terms of career perspective, yes it's now flooded with FTs from a particular country, where every Tom and Jerry claims to be a programmer after a 2-yr computer-related master course, despite a basic degree in civil engineering, mechanical engineer or even history. But a good hiring manager will be able to tell such people from those who've gone through proper training.

At the end of the day it's your passion and interest in the field that will keep you going and differentiate yourselves from the rest.

my friend works in IT from diploma, then private degree from Moxxxx ,now 31 hit 5k+ liao

i think u really need to come to luck when come to work..not always about FT also la..

like this no locals work liao..lol

Sometimes salary how much one is getting also must depends on luck, even though you might have the paper and experience.

Work in IT also can get 5K plus??? IT manager ar?

Ya it took my younger bro about 4 or 5 yrs

Since he's on scholarship, he still draw minimum salary

On job training at kk hospital and now he's at general hospital

I was told his starting salary is 4.5k basic exclude other allowance for eg. shift allowance etc

Sorry, but can you explain a little. I though suergen need a medical degree, & you are not allow double degree in Singapore Universities.

Don't go into IT if you have no interest. If you can just code crunch, you are just competing with tons cheaper FTs. It's the interest and constant update to improve yourself that make yourself apart from the commoners. However, there is always a reality aspect of it also. Those who are in the enterprise solution like SAP, finance solution development are the most highly sought and good pay, but it's also the most competitive and pressurizing. Other niche areas like animation, mobile development, product development, unfortunately is largely not found here and are highly volitile, but can also be very rewarding is timing is right.

If IT or engineering can get into Banking or something else, then whats the poubnt of taking a course in Business or something? hmmm

I think unless zou are top dog, mostIT work in Singapore is more low-mid level stuff, like maintenence, support work, coding, something that is of huge abaundance, & cheap in certain countries.

Visual effects, CGI, game, software developement etc, I do not think are huge in Singapore.

I have a friend in England, his son is study game design (I think not coding stuff, but level design & such), how cool is that, but sorry, cannot find such courses in Singapore,not uni level at least, which is what this should be.

much less job chances.

But then again, if you look at it another way, if you find out you do not like it anymore, you can always switch to something else.

Local uni with honors and after working of 5 years, salary only about $3K per month? :blink: Got so low?

well, he said he is content there because he gets to run the job the way he likes. hours also flexible (starts around 11am and normal 8 hours per day) think he is given a free hand to do his work as long as he can provide the results no one question him ... he is one of those guys with no gf .. still stay with parents, not interested to marry ... i guess as long as he happy can already.

He better pray that he doesn't get retrenched in future. Stagnating skillset in IT is a disaster waiting to happen....

Sorry, but can you explain a little. I though suergen need a medical degree, & you are not allow double degree in Singapore Universities.

Apology i dont have much info on how my younger bro did it

He started off with a local poly diploma, proceed to local uni next

After graduate join HP, 2 yrs later got lay off

I assuming, maybe healthcare sector in great demand and since he's willing to start all over again and with recommendation from government hospital (since he's qualify for the scholarship) ???

Apology i dont have much info on how my younger bro did it

He started off with a local poly diploma, proceed to local uni next

After graduate join HP, 2 yrs later got lay off

I assuming, maybe healthcare sector in great demand and since he's willing to start all over again and with recommendation from government hospital (since he's qualify for the scholarship) ???

wow. even more amazing. poly to nus comp. to NUS medicine with scholarship!

your bro is my role model sia

If IT or engineering can get into Banking or something else, then whats the poubnt of taking a course in Business or something? hmmm

I think unless zou are top dog, mostIT work in Singapore is more low-mid level stuff, like maintenence, support work, coding, something that is of huge abaundance, & cheap in certain countries.

Visual effects, CGI, game, software developement etc, I do not think are huge in Singapore.

I have a friend in England, his son is study game design (I think not coding stuff, but level design & such), how cool is that, but sorry, cannot find such courses in Singapore,not uni level at least, which is what this should be.

much less job chances.

But then again, if you look at it another way, if you find out you do not like it anymore, you can always switch to something else.

Must well study accountancy. Can work as accountant or can work in IT application consultant if one finds number crunching boring. There is always a need for people with accountancy and business background in ERP applications.

There is gaming course in polytechnic here iirc. But tough life studying and working life is shitty also.

He better pray that he doesn't get retrenched in future. Stagnating skillset in IT is a disaster waiting to happen....

actually ... i think he has become an integral part of the company .. whatever language they ask him to learn ... he can pick up in abt 2 weeks or so ... anyway .. yea. think maybe his is a rare case from you guys reaction i guess ...