MBBS In Mathematics??

Little_prince

http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news...questioned.html

Raffles EduHub founder's and staff's qualifications questioned

Kane Cunico and David Sun | The New Paper | Fri May 10 2013

Raffles EduHub founder's and staff's qualifications questioned

The Ministry of Health (MOH) is investigating the founder and managing director of a tuition centre who is listed as a medical doctor and a child psychologist on the centre's website.

Raffles EduHub, which also boasts a teacher with an "MBBS in mathematics", has been featured in the New York Times, and in both print and TV media here in stories about the private tuition industry.

In the New York Times report, Raffles EduHub's founder and managing director, Dr Zhong Rui Wen, was described as a medical doctor and child psychiatrist.

Checks with both the Singapore Medical Council and the Ministry of Health (MOH) showed that her name is not on their lists of registered doctors.

An MOH spokesman said the ministry is investigating the matter.

The spokesman said that under the Medical Registration Act, "any unauthorised person guilty of advertising or holding himself out as a medical practitioner will be liable to a fine not exceeding $100,000 or imprisoned for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both".

The question over the academic qualifications published on the Raffles EduHub website arose after a reader tipped off The New Paper that his friends became suspicious while looking for a suitable tuition centre for their children.

They were wary after checking the centre's website and seeing that one of the teachers has an implausible qualification from the National University of Singapore (NUS) - an MBBS in mathematics.

"I don't think there's such a thing as an MBBS in mathematics," said the reader, who declined to be named.

An MBBS is a bachelor's degree in medicine and surgery.

irony is that most of the docs i know math quite bad [laugh] wanna sian also sian something more plausible lah. sibei c--k

think maybe she god Dr in mathematics....so oni way to assoc Dr here is MBBS lo

a phd in maths also will know better than to put mbbs .

if i remember correctly it's against the law to impersonate a doctor.

a phd in maths also will know better than to put mbbs .

if i remember correctly it's against the law to impersonate a doctor.

yup....it is

enough is enough.

these are not innocent mistakes, but calculated lies to mislead and cheat.

if it were up to me, lock them up. including sim lim/used car/"banker" salesmen types.

Double degree lah

For medical doctor, MBBS means Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery

For the maths tutor, MBBS means Bachelor of Mathematics & Bachelor of Science

Am I right?? :D

Double degree lah

For the maths tutor, MBBS means Bachelor of Mathematics & Bachelor of Science

Am I right?? :D

i believe you BSc too.....BussShitcrap [:p] [:p]

like a prof told me

BS - b-------t

MS - Moreshit

pHd - b-------t, moreshit Pile Higher n Deeper

Double degree lah

i never understood why it's not BMBS :huh:

Maybe typo lah.

Should be MBS in maths. Good at calculating odds at casino.

enough is enough.

these are not innocent mistakes, but calculated lies to mislead and cheat.

if it were up to me, lock them up. including sim lim/used car/"banker" salesmen types.

Agreed!

Agreed!

u also mislead say you table wipar..... <_< <_<

at least for me, i am in the good co of undertakers [laugh] [laugh] thru the work i did

these parents who complained maybe their son/dau failed in their school exam. buay song.....go and dig out all these info.

i went to this tuition centre to enquire before....so much cheaper than most of the tuition centre on the same shopping centre.

too bad, the time slot dont fit into my children timing.

u also mislead say you table wipar..... <_< <_<

at least for me, i am in the good co of undertakers [laugh] [laugh] thru the work i did

I am table wiper what....didnt mislead....

And more importantly, i dont cheat people's money leh.

it's the goverment's fault...

nowadays every issue can be linked to goverment's fault . picking a bone from an egg as the chinese saying goes