Own up! Who did this drift?

It was me. I was going to change my tires the next day anyway. Not a fan of wasting almost worn out tires.

Inspired by fast and furious 6 one confirm. I just watched and I wanted to do it when we left the cinema, but my wife and daughter won't let me do even though my son was 150% behind me [bigcry]

Of course your son would be most happy to agree with the boy racer in you [:p]

Seriously, dun think drift can be executed based on an impulse, no matter how inspired by a movie. In this instance, your wifey and daughter have my vote for sensibility :D....200% behind their talk-you-out of it stand.

Safe ride.... and good luck if you finally mastered the skills to drift.... on proper tracks.

There are a lot of factors to consider. Sure, you can get more perfect drifts in a controlled setting - like on a track. But the confidence needed to do it on a public road with damaging kerbing in one's own car with a single attempt, carrying a fairly high speed through the drift and without wiping out means that the driver has already attained a high degree of skill and self-assurance.

Honestly, unless you can better that stunt spontaneously on a public road and provide video evidence, you shouldn't knock it too hard. You may have done better on a track, but things are simply different on the track - almost everyone is willing to push the limits harder on the track, and things are definitely more controlled.

Note that I'm not endorsing pulling stunts on the public roads, simply acknowledging a really good drift.

I was merely stating facts. I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion. To be honest anyone that can drift without hitting the dirt on track will be able to do that. Look at how wide that U turn is. Whether or not they do it in the public or not is another question. People who have respect scene will not do such thing as it gives genuine car enthusiast a bad name.

If we're not allowed to speak what we think, whats the point of the forum? To answer your question, I probably cant do that in public and even if I can, I wouldnt because its the PUBLIC. Theres always a place for something like that and thats called a track.

Of course your son would be most happy to agree with the boy racer in you [:p]

Seriously, dun think drift can be executed based on an impulse, no matter how inspired by a movie. In this instance, your wifey and daughter have my vote for sensibility :D....200% behind their talk-you-out of it stand.

Safe ride.... and good luck if you finally mastered the skills to drift.... on proper tracks.

You'd be surprised how easy it is. Only need a car and some balls with some practice and away you go. I've done that in my mate's 180 in the club's gymkhana day then on a seperate occassion (skidpan with lotsa water) in my car. Much much easier doing it in the rwd than awd for sure.

But... no... dont think you can do it just cause you just finished watching fast 6. Unless you're Tsuchiya.

Edited by Strudel-

I was merely stating facts. I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion. To be honest anyone that can drift without hitting the dirt on track will be able to do that. Look at how wide that U turn is. Whether or not they do it in the public or not is another question. People who have respect scene will not do such thing as it gives genuine car enthusiast a bad name.

If we're not allowed to speak what we think, whats the point of the forum? To answer your question, I probably cant do that in public and even if I can, I wouldnt because its the PUBLIC. Theres always a place for something like that and thats called a track.

Did I try to silence you in any way? Chill, no need to get so worked up.

Anyway, your reply is a little confused, because you start out saying you're "stating facts", then immediately imply it's "your opinion". So which is it? Fact or opinion?

You've admitted that you probably can't do it in public, so my opinion stands - I feel you shouldn't criticise what you're unable to do. Again, this is simply my opinion - you're really free to criticise whatever you like, but I don't agree with it. As for the inadvisability of doing such a stunt on a public road, we're in agreement. But while you may not think much of the skill of the driver (despite the fact that, by your own admission, you probably can't pull it off yourself), I don't think many others would share your opinion on that.

Did I try to silence you in any way? Chill, no need to get so worked up.

Anyway, your reply is a little confused, because you start out saying you're "stating facts", then immediately imply it's "your opinion". So which is it? Fact or opinion?

You've admitted that you probably can't do it in public, so my opinion stands - I feel you shouldn't criticise what you're unable to do. Again, this is simply my opinion - you're really free to criticise whatever you like, but I don't agree with it. As for the inadvisability of doing such a stunt on a public road, we're in agreement. But while you may not think much of the skill of the driver (despite the fact that, by your own admission, you probably can't pull it off yourself), I don't think many others would share your opinion on that.

You're alright. The fact I was refering to is that drift isnt anywhere close to perfect. You are entitlted to your opinion and sure enough I can critcise that drift or driver as much as I like. Its no different from anyone that's making comment on how stupid of a free kick or penalty kick is in soccer (even when half the time these people who make the comment probably cant even kick straight). I dont see anything wrong with that.

In summary, you think thats a close to perfect drift and I dont think it is. Case closed.

Howdefark do you drift 'by accident'?! [confused]:blink:

I accidentally did it when I was in a multistorey carpark...waiting on the ramp bcos got car parking...and den I accidentally press accelerator instead of brake. I panic, engage e brake and turn the wheel as much as possible to avoid langgar and den become I drift lor. [laugh] True story

[shocked][speechless]

Tell us which MSCP, I'll never go there in case you are around driving [sweatdrop]

[shocked] Wah lao...you damn lucky never end up flying out of the MSCP...

Tell us which MSCP, I'll never go there in case you are around driving [sweatdrop]

Eh I that day only nvr lim kopi before driving ok...I'm a safe driver one hor... [drivingcar]