Gordon Ramsay to Char Kway Teow!!

Jman888

Someone must tell him that his frying pan must be seasoned to have the wok hei taste...

Most impt is who are the judges. If normal uncle/auntie cfm gordon can fly kite liao.

If are those wat well known celebrity chef....maybe give some face to gordon ley.

Most impt is who are the judges. If normal uncle/auntie cfm gordon can fly kite liao.

If are those wat well known celebrity chef....maybe give some face to gordon ley.

since the doctor and Singtel call for it, obviously they would be the judges.

Anyone going to Newton this Sunday? I am very tempted but worried it will be another Hello Kitty debacle.

Event: SingTel Hawker Heroes

Date/Time: Sunday, 7 July 2013 From 1800hr

Venue: Newton Food Centre, 500 Clemenceau Avenue North, Singapore 229495

Details: Non-ticketed event, open to the public free of charge. 1000 servings are available on a first come-first-served basis.

Ramsay will be doing Chilli crab, Laksa and Chicken rice. While the dishes are a good representation of local hawker food, the people he is challenging are not exactly hawkers imo.

Anyhoo, I predict @#$%^ will nail Chilli crab, do an ok Chicken rice but get stumped by Laksa.

Cookoff going to be at Newton hawker centre. Wonder if Gordon Ramsay going to kena chop carrot head or not........ [laugh]

Edited by Soya

Cookoff going to be at Newton hawker centre. Wonder if Gordon Ramsay going to kena carrot head or not........ [laugh]

I would love to see the Newton hawkers try to carrot this oversized angmo beng [laugh]

wtf .....#&%#^& no aircon!! :angry:

Anyone going to Newton this Sunday? I am very tempted but worried it will be another Hello Kitty debacle.

Details: Non-ticketed event, open to the public free of charge. 1000 servings are available on a first come-first-served basis.

Ramsay will be doing Chilli crab, Laksa and Chicken rice. While the dishes are a good representation of local hawker food, the people he is challenging are not exactly hawkers imo.

Anyhoo, I predict @#$%^ will nail Chilli crab, do an ok Chicken rice but get stumped by Laksa.

I would love to see the Newton hawkers try to carrot this oversized angmo beng [laugh]

dunno who more vulgar. tink the challenge shld be this instead. [laugh]

I suspect the crab will be damn good, but the chili gravy will not be so good. Chicken rice may be so-so but he will confirm farkup on the laksa.

spot on..these 3 are not even hawkers..they probably just goes once to their outlets daily to close the till and collect earnings for the day [laugh]

fortunately chai tow kway is not chosen..else Ramsay might swear and curse and says "this is not f*cking carrot cake..this is f*cking RADISH cake..u sinkies are so f*cking stupid c*nts"

carrot cake:

carrot-cake.jpg

Wonder if he will make a big hoo-haa on the 'cleanliness' of newton food market.

hope that his assistant visit the venue in advance and instruct the food market to clean up the place thorough before his visit [laugh]

I suspect the crab will be damn good, but the chili gravy will not be so good. Chicken rice may be so-so but he will confirm farkup on the laksa.

I feel he will bungle Chilli Crab. It may look simple but it is incredibly difficult to get right.. One can get close to the real taste, but can never hit the right flavour notes.

hope that his assistant visit the venue in advance and instruct the food market to clean up the place thorough before his visit [laugh]

There is no need to lah. Why must put on a show for him? Ang mo dua ki? [:p]

actually i was thinking more for us, after the show we will have a cleaner Newton circle :D

on the contrary. chilli crab dun tink so easy to get right. chicken rice the auntie may give chance but the laksa will be easy. i usually buy my own ayam brand laksa paste, boil wif some coconut milk, throw in some hk yee mee, tau pok & tau geh and reckon it tastes better than the diluted and ingredient-less 328 laksa. :D