Xers007 Supercharged July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 (edited) Dun worry...when the oil dry up, then we see what happen to them lor. yeah that is why UAE is building up their tourism... cos heard their oil can only last bout 150 years based on current utilisation rates and no additional discoveries. Edited July 19, 2013 by Xers007 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 in tis manner, how they building up tourism? no one in the right frame of mind will wan to go... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valrosx 3rd Gear July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 80 years ago ... they were nomads roaming with the camels fast forward today ... Gigantic SUVs, gold plated sports car but the mind remains nomad style 50 years later ... back to camels wandering again Still a nomad after 130 years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged July 19, 2013 Share July 19, 2013 in tis manner, how they building up tourism? no one in the right frame of mind will wan to go... exactly... just a bunch of lucky idiots who give no effort and get all the riches... see how they eat sand after all goes dry... but too bad i wont be around to see them eat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lalapunch Neutral Newbie July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 wa still thought of going there for a holiday, but now see such thing happening at there. I think i can drop that idea liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azhiwen 3rd Gear July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 wa still thought of going there for a holiday, but now see such thing happening at there. I think i can drop that idea liao Go by tour? Should have less chance of these kinda incidents happening. My colleague went there as part of his tour itinerary and he came back fine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 Read the news sometimes ago, an asian woman kanna raped by a UAE citizen. That woman report police and the rapist kanna sentenced to 12 months due to lack of evidence and that asian woman kanna sentenced to 15 MONTHS IMPRISONMENT. I was like wtf??? I remember if u kanna rape u need 5 witnesses to prove the raping case. Or else better dont report police. This is what happen when a country ruled with too much on religion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 (edited) Read the news sometimes ago, an asian woman kanna raped by a UAE citizen. That woman report police and the rapist kanna sentenced to 12 months due to lack of evidence and that asian woman kanna sentenced to 15 MONTHS IMPRISONMENT. I was like wtf??? I remember if u kanna rape u need 5 witnesses to prove the raping case. Or else better dont report police. This is what happen when a country ruled with too much on religion. it was mentioned in one of the comments in the video also... wtf? Edited July 26, 2013 by Solar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 it was mentioned in one of the comments in the video also... wtf? Sori uncker i nvr see the video mah, mai flame wo le Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 (edited) Lexus LX, btw dont think those arab people richer than sg people, their car so cheap, property also cheaper in dubai. Think they own world??! Pui la Edited July 26, 2013 by Thaiyotakamli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 Didn't realise the "headband" was the thing he used to wack the guy until he put back on his head Yalor, though it was whip which has been coiled up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 yeah that is why UAE is building up their tourism... cos heard their oil can only last bout 150 years based on current utilisation rates and no additional discoveries. If their sand can be a source of alternative energy, will huat gao gao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 Waliao eh u all. Bcos of one arab guy beat a foreign worker u all curse the whole arab nation. The western people learnt from arab algorithm, modern chemistry, algebra, modern astronomy and others lei! What if the paikia fella who beat a fella motorist with a baseball bat were featured in a tv show and the whole world call all of us freaking small time gangster without a trace of civility. How would we feel? I dont condone the arab guys behaviour but to curse his ancestry is a bit too much, right? One more thing at least he has the balls to come down and confront the other driver. In singapore we will only dare to stomp and complain when a foreign talent does something wrong to us! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 (edited) Waliao eh u all. Bcos of one arab guy beat a foreign worker u all curse the whole arab nation. The western people learnt from arab algorithm, modern chemistry, algebra, modern astronomy and others lei! What if the paikia fella who beat a fella motorist with a baseball bat were featured in a tv show and the whole world call all of us freaking small time gangster without a trace of civility. How would we feel? I dont condone the arab guys behaviour but to curse his ancestry is a bit too much, right? One more thing at least he has the balls to come down and confront the other driver. In singapore we will only dare to stomp and complain when a foreign talent does something wrong to us! It's interesting you mention that. At least one of those major contributions (Mathematics) was largely due to the Indians. The numerals we use routinely today actually originated from India, but they are often called Arabic Numerals. This is actually a misnomer and the proper name should be Hindu-numerals. The reason for the misnomer is that the Europeans most directly learned these numerals from the Arabians, who in turn had first learned of them from the Indians. Credit does go to the Arabians for transmitting the knowledge to the Europeans, so I like the balanced name "Hindu-Arabic numerals" to properly reflect the transmission of this important knowledge. Ditto for algebra. The name comes from the Arabic: Al Jabr, but again, the system originated in India. The same holds true for many other sciences like Astronomy, which originated with the Greeks. The Greeks influenced Indian thought, and a treatise was written by the Indian polymath and genius Brahmagupta. This treatise was then translated into Arabic, and only then did it significantly influence Islamic Astronomy. To their credit, they did greatly build upon the previous corpus of knowledge. To sum up, ancient Islamic traditions have certainly had a rich tradition of science and mathematics (especially during the Abbasid Caliphate, considered the Golden Age of Islam), but it must be remembered that they built upon the work of other great and even more ancient civilisations, most notably the Indians. The only reason I'm mentioning this is because in the video it was an Indian that was being whacked up by that Arab. The modern day Arabs, culturally/intellectually speaking, are a very pale shadow of what they once were (I suppose the same can be said about the Indians, too) - but the arrogance many of them show towards other cultures greatly irritates me. Especially when they're cultures that they should perhaps be more respectful of, if they bothered to educate themselves on their shared history. Edited July 26, 2013 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 (edited) What i learnt was that the numbers 1-9 were of arabic/persian/indian ancestry. Even the arabic holy book originally wrote in 7 AD bore the numbers similar to that of the numeric numerals found in modern books. Indian came out with the absolute number 0. Alkwaritzmi introduced the decimal points system or somewhat took the idea from indian mathematician. Even the term arrithematic is of arabic term. When europe was in the dark ages 8-12 century AD the Arab/Persian/Indian were in a stage of enlightenment with majir discoveries in science, medicine, engineering and such. Only when Spain which was under the moslem for 200 yrs returned to the christian empire did the european rennaissance started and then the contribution of great arabic scholars were trivialise and forgotten. But they forgot to change the names of all these discipline from arabic to european.......if they had nobody would be the wiser! And you know why the prophet of the worlds great religion came from that area? It have to do with the people there being barbaric and uncivilized! Edited July 26, 2013 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 (edited) What i learnt was that the numbers 1-9 were of arabic/persian/indian ancestry. Even the arabic holy book originally wrote in 7 AD bore the numbers similar to that of the numeric numerals found in modern books. Indian came out with the absolute number 0. Alkwaritzmi introduced the decimal points system or somewhat took the idea from indian mathematician. Even the term arrithematic is of arabic term. When europe was in the dark ages 8-12 century AD the Arab/Persian/Indian were in a stage of enlightenment with majir discoveries in science, medicine, engineering and such. Only when Spain which was under the moslem for 200 yrs returned to the christian empire did the european rennaissance started and then the contribution of great arabic scholars were trivialise and forgotten. But they forgot to change the names of all these discipline from arabic to european.......if they had nobody would be the wiser! What I was saying is that a lot of that Mathematics (especially the exact form of the numerals used in the base-10 system) actually originated in India before being transmitted to Arabia/Persia (and only thence to Europe). But I agree that these ancient civilisations (along with the Chinese, who were great in their own right, and who also had lots of cultural interchange with other ancient cultures like the Indians and Persians) were so far ahead of most of the Europeans* at one point in history that it's really lamentable how tragically they've (we've??) fallen behind now. *the only exception (pre-renaissance) being the Ancient Greeks, who've really made a brilliant contribution to global culture. Edited July 26, 2013 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 26, 2013 Share July 26, 2013 (edited) What I was saying is that a lot of that Mathematics (especially the exact form of the numerals used in the base-10 system) actually originated in India before being transmitted to Arabia/Persia (and only thence to Europe). But I agree that these ancient civilisations (along with the Chinese, who were great in their own right, and who also had lots of cultural interchange with other ancient cultures like the Indians and Persians) were so far ahead of most of the Europeans* at one point in history that it's really lamentable how tragically they've (we've??) fallen behind now. *the only exception (pre-renaissance) being the Ancient Greeks, who've really made a brilliant contribution to global culture. Yes i agree thoroughly.....most of the advances in sciences and others were based on great civikisation of asia.....after the renaissance period we seem to fall asleep while the west advanced in leaps and bound and we see them so up. Proffesor Jim Alkhalili ever tried solving mathematical equations using roman numerals.....some took a few pages to solve and some he gave up as it was rather difficult without using the numerics introduced by the arabs based on the indian/persian works. Edited July 26, 2013 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pms 3rd Gear July 27, 2013 Share July 27, 2013 thanks for the history lesson? The arabs descendants here also got the "atas" ego leh. Melayu here speaking. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...