KIA K3 Owners check-in!

TTT

I find your comment here very interesting. The Mazda3 has long been lauded as the class leader for handling and steering feel/feedback. Never expected to someone call it "too light", especially compared to a korean car.

What FlexSteer weight did you use?

didn't change any of the setting, not sure which flexsteer weight it was at. test drive speed was normal road condition, below 60km/hr. didn't go expressway. personally, i prefer heavier steering feel and between k3 and mazda 3, i like k3 steering and handling more. just my opinions of course!

considering between Mazda 3 and K3 as well, does K3 comes with 3 free servicings package? warranty is 3 years 100km or 5 years unlimited?

After testing both K3 and Mazda 3, I think the K3 is better overall. Couldn't find any part of the car where I prefer the Mazda over the Kia.

I find your comment here very interesting. The Mazda3 has long been lauded as the class leader for handling and steering feel/feedback. Never expected to someone call it "too light", especially compared to a korean car.

its true leh i find de m3 steering wheel a bit light compare to my old suzuki swift.

or mayb its becos nowadays they got new technology hence de steering wheel is lighter compare to older cars.

when i tried out the k3 the steering was light oso then the sales man say can adjust the weight of the steering jus by pressing the button.

After testing both K3 and Mazda 3, I think the K3 is better overall. Couldn't find any part of the car where I prefer the Mazda over the Kia.

I have test drive both K3 and Mazda 3.

K3 definitely better than Mazda 3 in many ways.

Going down to Alexandra tml to test drive the SX.....

But came across this in the review section

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_reviews.php?CarCode=11322

"Review

I'm the 1st batch of K3 drivers and figured I'll give an update since sgcarmart doesn't allow to update prev posts. In general, the car is good and many of what the posters have said here are valid. So I'll just give the negative parts of the car.

1. The service at C&C is the worst in the industry. They upsell you stuff and even if you take the service package, be prepared to keep paying for all sorts of crap. Eg. Air filters costs 2-3x more than 3rd party workshops. Once they returned my car with brown paint on my seat. The 2nd time i sent my car in, my aircon screwed up and has always had an uneven flow problems... And they have never been able to fix it after that. They just want to frustrate you to the point that you live with the issues. They take about 3-6 weeks to import parts from Korea. Eg. My window motor spoilt and aircon problems (still not fixed). They tell you come back again and you waste another half day.

2. They key issue is the the C&C group is owned by Jardine Group, which is indonesian and they are facing massive problems back home. So they will rip us off to subsidise their problems back home.

3. Fuel economy. When i first the got the car, i could get 7.9l/100km very easily. I drive the same route every day and after 2 years, I have to be really really light footed to get 8.4liters/100km. If i drive like previously, i would probably get 9/100km... Almost like the current new SUVs.

What I like

Most of what the other many reviewers have posted.

What I do not like

1. Cycle and carriage service. It is VERY BAD. This is very real because you must stick with them for 5 years... and they basically rip you off for 5 years.

2. relatively fast decline in fuel economy even though i service regularly."

Anyone has any views of this or has taken this into consideration?

Existing K3 owners, will really appreciate your feedback and experiences during servicing.... thanks a lot.

hey irene, you bought the sports model?

I'm looking at the normal model, thought about it long and hard with the Elantra, and finally made up my mind to get the K3 ($94,999 on Sunday). Went for viewing last Sunday but the female salesperson was SO aloof, was not keen to provide more information, was a huge turn off. Eventually went off to Hyundai to look see look see.

Anyone bought the normal model? Just keen to look at what freebies you guys manage to include in just in case I meet another salesperson that cant be bothered.

When you encounter such SE, look for another. Some of us can recommend based on our experience.

When buying a $100k+ car, do not rush into things. Consult family and friends. Check out the forums

The K3 is very value for money and i still like it (not the tyres which is somewhat noisy).

Do try the J cars as well.

"Review

I'm the 1st batch of K3 drivers and figured I'll give an update since sgcarmart doesn't allow to update prev posts. In general, the car is good and many of what the posters have said here are valid. So I'll just give the negative parts of the car.

1. The service at C&C is the worst in the industry. They upsell you stuff and even if you take the service package, be prepared to keep paying for all sorts of crap. Eg. Air filters costs 2-3x more than 3rd party workshops. Once they returned my car with brown paint on my seat. The 2nd time i sent my car in, my aircon screwed up and has always had an uneven flow problems... And they have never been able to fix it after that. They just want to frustrate you to the point that you live with the issues. They take about 3-6 weeks to import parts from Korea. Eg. My window motor spoilt and aircon problems (still not fixed). They tell you come back again and you waste another half day.

2. They key issue is the the C&C group is owned by Jardine Group, which is indonesian and they are facing massive problems back home. So they will rip us off to subsidise their problems back home.

3. Fuel economy. When i first the got the car, i could get 7.9l/100km very easily. I drive the same route every day and after 2 years, I have to be really really light footed to get 8.4liters/100km. If i drive like previously, i would probably get 9/100km... Almost like the current new SUVs.

What I like

What I do not like

1. Cycle and carriage service. It is VERY BAD. This is very real because you must stick with them for 5 years... and they basically rip you off for 5 years.

Existing K3 owners, will really appreciate your feedback and experiences during servicing.... thanks a lot.

Read the earlier thread about the K3. I posted a post detailing my views. Too lazy to refer. I will give some of my views here instead:

Points 1 and 2 are personal views. I cannot comment. I had no problems with my first Forte (4+ years. I did not find the servicing charges expensive)

Point 3 - you should be able to get 12km/l on average

1. Very bad service? Did not feel it.

2. Relatively fast decline of fuel economy - did not feel it in my first Forte

Suggest you spend a weekend morning hanging around the rear where customers wait for their cars (K3 included). You can ask them as much as you can about their car.

i had test drive both the k3 and mazda 3 many months back this year before CNY. price was 115k for k3 and 122k for mazda 3 if I didn't remember wrongly. 7k difference.

specs wise about the same, am particularly impressed that both cars have electric seats. k3 even have memory seat. liked the mazda 3 back then because it got the factory fitted infotainment system while the k3 don't have a screen.

happened to read this thread now and realised can request for Eurostyle Multimedia System so am now seriously considering.

CNY that time was just doing some field report as current 2005 kia due for scrapping at the end of the year.

based on my test drive the other time,

kia k3 steering feel is very good. cannot compare to the heavier steering of the contis, but in my opinion, beats mazda 3 hands down. mazda 3 steering feels too light to me. both k3 and mazda 3 have decent acceleration, k3 is quieter than mazda 3. i also liked the sports rims of the k3.

K3 has three steering feel. Pick one.

Yes, the K3 is quieter

Rims? I dont have any impression of the MZ3 rims. Yes, the K3 rims look nice.

u go test drive it. then u will be more convince y we bought k3.

oooo 1 full tank cost around how much ah?

Based on 40litre, @ $2.15 for Ess0 95, after basic discount = $73 per pump

"Review

What I like

What I do not like

1) & 2). No comments. 1st servicing @ 1k mileage, still decent. requested for car to be ready by 1pm, they called me at 12pm inform car was ready. Car return in good condition, other than the free washing wasn't up to my expectation (Maybe coz car already gim gim ceramic coated, the fingerprints make it an eye-sore for me)

3) Fuel economy I think every car also will drop with age/mileage, slight drop in fc/ horsepower drop. Even my old low mileage Honda also suffer the same. Solution? Jetronic fuel system clearning @$100 from major workshop

i had test drive both the k3 and mazda 3 many months back this year before CNY. price was 115k for k3 and 122k for mazda 3 if I didn't remember wrongly. 7k difference.

specs wise about the same, am particularly impressed that both cars have electric seats. k3 even have memory seat. liked the mazda 3 back then because it got the factory fitted infotainment system while the k3 don't have a screen.

happened to read this thread now and realised can request for Eurostyle Multimedia System so am now seriously considering.

CNY that time was just doing some field report as current 2005 kia due for scrapping at the end of the year.

based on my test drive the other time,

kia k3 steering feel is very good. cannot compare to the heavier steering of the contis, but in my opinion, beats mazda 3 hands down. mazda 3 steering feels too light to me. both k3 and mazda 3 have decent acceleration, k3 is quieter than mazda 3. i also liked the sports rims of the k3.

Most bros here get the Eurostyle FOC.. like what I always advice pple, if u're firm to commit on the dotted line, offer the SE the most ridiculous package you'll sign for. Definitely u'll walk out of the showroom with a Big Wide smile, juz like the day I sign for my K3 [laugh]

Long time ago, I drive a non-power steering Toyota, the K3 steering feels very light to me.. In fact, I set it at Sports mode all the time.

M3 engine I feel is a bit grunty, and slightly high pitch. K3 engine groaning sound seems to grow on me, as I drive each day.. Sounds bassy & sporty to me.. Does any bros/sis feels that too? :wub:

Read the earlier thread about the K3. I posted a post detailing my views. Too lazy to refer. I will give some of my views here instead:

Points 1 and 2 are personal views. I cannot comment. I had no problems with my first Forte (4+ years. I did not find the servicing charges expensive)

Point 3 - you should be able to get 12km/l on average

1. Very bad service? Did not feel it.

2. Relatively fast decline of fuel economy - did not feel it in my first Forte

Suggest you spend a weekend morning hanging around the rear where customers wait for their cars (K3 included). You can ask them as much as you can about their car.

K3 has three steering feel. Pick one.

Yes, the K3 is quieter

Rims? I dont have any impression of the MZ3 rims. Yes, the K3 rims look nice.

The car review is based on K3. But your review is base on your 4 years + old Forte. Don't you think your comparision is out of point here? From most review I see, most k3 owners did feedback on poor FC. Hope KIA will improve this in its next variant.

What I dislike about servicing in C&C is that you can't get to see your own car during the servicing process. Whatever they say, you have to either believe them for parts replacement or insist not to change. If they skip some process, you can't see it too.

And yes, they cost so much more than 3rd party workshops which do similar things and also use original parts.

Look for Tham , 81688,688 . 1 of the more lao jiao KIA agent around. Quote referral from Tony.. Service & Price best [:p]

So that you have referral fee from Tony? Why must quote your name... Keke...

Seems like Kee is the one highly recommended instead of Tony Will pass the name to my friends.

Edited by Ivan_06

$200 Referral Program

Get paid $200 for each friend that buys!

At The Kia Store we have made our incredible $200 Referral Program even easier! Just fill out the form below at least 12 hours prior to your referral visiting our dealership. We will not contact your referral, its your job to bring them into The Kia Store. Once your referrals purchase is complete, we will send you a check for $200!*

Just sharing since Fc of k3 is not tat good.

Might be old news but no harm sharing.

Switch from Esso to Spc.

Spc card + posb everyday card = 20.1% instant deduct.

Other better fuel lobangs. Pls share. :)

Edited by boobic

Just sharing since Fc of k3 is not tat good.

Might be old news but no harm sharing.

Switch from Esso to Spc.

Spc card + posb everyday card = 20.1% instant deduct.

Other better fuel lobangs. Pls share. :)

I would say the K3 FC is consider average and decent for the price you're paying and also if you have driven mit Lancer or Nissan sunny, you'll agree with me. ;)

I'm also considering getting either K3 or Elentra, so which one is better?

The car review is based on K3. But your review is base on your 4 years + old Forte. Don't you think your comparision is out of point here? From most review I see, most k3 owners did feedback on poor FC. Hope KIA will improve this in its next variant.

What I dislike about servicing in C&C is that you can't get to see your own car during the servicing process. Whatever they say, you have to either believe them for parts replacement or insist not to change. If they skip some process, you can't see it too.

And yes, they cost so much more than 3rd party workshops which do similar things and also use original parts.

I am driving a K3 now, for more than 1/2 a year.

The fuel economy for me is about 12.5km/l. (80%hw)

The K engines are not that fantastic, hence resulting in average fuel economy. I had a Sunny (2001) that returned like 10-11km/l. That was like ages. Now the Sylphy should return better (I cannot verify)

For servicing, it is good to be able to make some decisions, like you say. It is always fine not to repair at C&C even though they the problem highlight to us. I did not change my tires there despite their recommendation (outside tire shop even told me to keep driving for another 6 months since the wear was not much) It is always good to go for second opinion when it comes to repairs/replacement advice.

Outside ws tend to be cheaper - as attested by so many people. (I had serviced my cars outside before.)

For normal servicing, like oil change, it is fine to leave the outside ws do it. But for repairs, we really need to find a trustworthy and reliable ws that we can trust.

For me, I am prepared to pay more for servicing as C&C is convenient for my servicing needs.

When you encounter such SE, look for another. Some of us can recommend based on our experience.

When buying a $100k+ car, do not rush into things. Consult family and friends. Check out the forums

The K3 is very value for money and i still like it (not the tyres which is somewhat noisy).

Do try the J cars as well.

Yep, last weekend went to a few showrooms, Honda, Hyundai, Mazda, Toyota. I'm currently driving a Toyota and liked it, very few issues at all but the price difference seems too high. So ended up with Elantra and K3. I'll probably go down to the showroom this weekend again and look for Tham or Kee as shared by another forum poster.

Now can't seem to decide whether to get the Sports or normal version, weighing if the price difference is worth it for my family.

Saw that most people got the Eurostyle FOC, if i get the normal model, also can get Eurostyle?

Edited by PeiJiaLing

ehhh my family test drive Mazda 3 also complain of the light steering...maybe my HB is used to his k3 sports mode steering...they also commented something on the brake not "biting" not sure if anyone felt the same.

This is honest and neutral feedback hor..although we are driving k3 now. But we are also looking for another car with FC in mind so most likely wont get another K3...maybe will need to test drive Mazda 3 again. Or is there any other car with good FC at this range? Tried accent feels not bad but the car really a bit too small for our liking and for the price not very attractive...only few ks different we can a bigger car...