Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 (edited) Get a Rolex for what it is made for. A sports watch, a tough watch, an everyday watch. Go for the Explorer2, it can be had for about $4k, it has GMT hand, it is waterproof and it is a really solid allrounder. It also has an illustrous history on its own. I have one (two) myself. Cannot go wrong, bro. Super good watch , with value and value for money. where you get it for $4k, price listed as at $8k .... Thanks. Style No: 216570 bk Rolex Oyster Perpetual Explorer II Watches. 42mm stainless steel case, 24 hour bezel and hand, independent 12 hour hand, black dial, self-winding Rolex calibre 3187 movement, and Oysterlock bracelet with Easylink 5mm comfort extension link. List Price: $8,100.00Save 6%:- ($505.00) Edited August 19, 2013 by Picnic06 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 19, 2013 Author Share August 19, 2013 cos M is the earliest series to have the chapter ring.. i think it looks better with that. Oh i see, you like the rehaut engraving. Yes quite nice detailing but after a while you wont even see it. Ok mate, good luck with your search. Anything i 'll let you know as well. Ceers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 19, 2013 Author Share August 19, 2013 (edited) where you get it for $4k, price listed as at $8k .... Thanks. Style No: 216570 bk Rolex Oyster Perpetual Explorer II Watches. 42mm stainless steel case, 24 hour bezel and hand, independent 12 hour hand, black dial, self-winding Rolex calibre 3187 movement, and Oysterlock bracelet with Easylink 5mm comfort extension link. List Price: $8,100.00Save 6%:- ($505.00) Oh, I was talking about the 16570. The currenct 216570 is modelled after the original 16570 which has been around for a long time. I always prefer a tried tested proven 40mm rolex sports. Essentially the same movement and same functions including independant GMt hand. I really dont quite like the proportions of the 216570 ..... Its just me, i simply prefer the older versions than the current one. The only current one i have is the full gold GMT2c becos i like the big heavy masculine blob of gold. The blue gold sub, i like for its unique electric blue which is also discontinued already in current model.... Edited August 19, 2013 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 where you get it for $4k, price listed as at $8k .... Thanks. Style No: 216570 bk Rolex Oyster Perpetual Explorer II Watches. 42mm stainless steel case, 24 hour bezel and hand, independent 12 hour hand, black dial, self-winding Rolex calibre 3187 movement, and Oysterlock bracelet with Easylink 5mm comfort extension link. List Price: $8,100.00Save 6%:- ($505.00) he meant the 16570 discontinued model, not the new model Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 Or maybe the Grade AAA "Shenzhen Limited Edition". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 i aiming this lol: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverfern7 Neutral Newbie August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 Hi All I currently using my GMT2C as a daily beater and thinking of getting either an Omega Sea master PO 232.30.42.21.01.003 (new from AD) or a Rolex SD (of course much older) as another daily beater. I believe both can be had for 6.5-7K. What do you guys think? Thanks in advance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 19, 2013 Author Share August 19, 2013 Hi All I currently using my GMT2C as a daily beater and thinking of getting either an Omega Sea master PO 232.30.42.21.01.003 (new from AD) or a Rolex SD (of course much older) as another daily beater. I believe both can be had for 6.5-7K. What do you guys think? Thanks in advance I think you should just saveup and keep using the GMt2c as daily beater. Its solid looking and reliable and waterproof, you dont need another..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lufu 1st Gear August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 where you get it for $4k, price listed as at $8k .... Thanks. Style No: 216570 bk Rolex Oyster Perpetual Explorer II Watches. 42mm stainless steel case, 24 hour bezel and hand, independent 12 hour hand, black dial, self-winding Rolex calibre 3187 movement, and Oysterlock bracelet with Easylink 5mm comfort extension link. List Price: $8,100.00Save 6%:- ($505.00) List price for explorer II 216570 is not $8k unless you are talking about USD? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 all the gold watches swee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunny Hypersonic August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 I think saw someone selling around $250 if not wrong in swx or somewhere. gd luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 u right man on grey mkt prices, the higher u go, the bigger the grey to AD spread! macam PI & AD car buying LOL. Im gona get my feet wet via grey route hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silverfern7 Neutral Newbie August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 Thanks.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zapp 1st Gear August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 Explorer is a nice watch! My next target too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 19, 2013 Author Share August 19, 2013 all the gold watches swee Heh heh, thx mate! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 (edited) u right man on grey mkt prices, the higher u go, the bigger the grey to AD spread! macam PI & AD car buying LOL. Im gona get my feet wet via grey route hehe Cannot compare to car lah bro... PI OMV very low, so 10 year annual depreciation may often be higher than if buy from AD. But selling price is lower and hence loan amount is lower so you save on the simple interest. Watches have no COE, no such thing as PARF. No such thing as number of previous owners. So they will hold a substantial % of its cost price forever. How much the value retention depends a lot on the brand itself. That is why Rolexes are popular. Imagine you are a contractor, you wear a gold Rolex, rest your hand on the kopi tiam table, people automatically know you are immediately liquid to the tune of $20k to $30k at least. So they will do business with you. Yeah gray dealer is value for money. Brand new AD price compared to gray dealer price is very high. This premium withers away to almost nothing, after a few years. A comparable watch will command only a very slight premium over the overseas AD one. Watches have no such record of previous owners and in the pre-owned market, this isn't a big issue at all, so for the ultimate bang for buck, you buy for example a 10 year old Rolex Explorer 2 at $4,500 pre-owned with box and papers. I dare say that after you buy it, you can easily sell it at the same price any time you want, even 5, 10, 20 years down the road. So you don't lose money and your only liability is servicing and parts replacement costs. Edited August 19, 2013 by Viceroymenthol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vegas Turbocharged August 19, 2013 Share August 19, 2013 216570 @ 5k, even at usd, even though machiam masak, i also will buy ;p Unless u have already spend a few tens or hundreds of thousands @ AD, can't beat PI pricing lah. Best is have seller die die must preserve their local ad set premium when selling. To me, a swiss is a swiss. Rolex is Rolex, Pam is Pam, Ap and PP remains as AP PP. Y pay few k more? To enjoy the tea served at boutique/ AD? Jmho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 19, 2013 Author Share August 19, 2013 Cannot compare to car lah bro... PI OMV very low, so 10 year annual depreciation may often be higher than if buy from AD. But selling price is lower and hence loan amount is lower so you save on the simple interest. Watches have no COE, no such thing as PARF. No such thing as number of previous owners. So they will hold a substantial % of its cost price forever. How much the value retention depends a lot on the brand itself. That is why Rolexes are popular. Imagine you are a contractor, you wear a gold Rolex, rest your hand on the kopi tiam table, people automatically know you are immediately liquid to the tune of $20k to $30k at least. So they will do business with you. Yeah gray dealer is value for money. Brand new AD price compared to gray dealer price is very high. This premium withers away to almost nothing, after a few years. A comparable watch will command only a very slight premium over the overseas AD one. Watches have no such record of previous owners and in the pre-owned market, this isn't a big issue at all, so for the ultimate bang for buck, you buy for example a 10 year old Rolex Explorer 2 at $4,500 pre-owned with box and papers. I dare say that after you buy it, you can easily sell it at the same price any time you want, even 5, 10, 20 years down the road. So you don't lose money and your only liability is servicing and parts replacement costs. How is your Gold Rolex so far, good or not. Keeper or to sell? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...