S'poreans work the longest hours in the world

Vulcann

Stick to eating honey and crapping in the woods. You're more loveable that way.

You got a point there. One of my uncle started eating wood and crapping honey. Didn't make it pass summer. Thanks for the advice. Btw, do you work for NORAD? I think you guys are swell for keeping the Russians away. 👍

You got a point there. One of my uncle started eating wood and crapping honey. Didn't make it pass summer. Thanks for the advice. Btw, do you work for NORAD? I think you guys are swell for keeping the Russians away.

But you're a bear, and everyone knows that Russians are bears.

And eating wood is an activity best reserved for the Porkers of this world. Bears can't hack it.

Let's not get stereotype here. But yes, Porkers consume wood like nobody's business. I personally know one that sees a wood in every pecker. Bears are more refined. We just wipe our arss on rabbits.

If you work in a typical MNC in Singapore, you'll notice something......

1. Singapore office is always the one to kio sai (pick up the sh1ts from other network), the ang moh counterparts will always taiji back the sh1tty work to Singapore office. Credits they will claim back.

2. Singapore office is always the one to back up SEA/APAC country offices (sometimes even Oceania) for either their incompetence, low efficiency or simply their short operating hours.

All expenses and incidental costs are absorbed as Singapore office cost centre.

Sometimes for very simple stuff, like yearly calendars for distribution to network, they print them at expensive costs at those ang moh countries (to help their economy), but they will send all stocks to Singapore for re-distribution (even back to the Europe region), all at Singapore office costs, time, labour......... This is just one small example.

Oh yea,, that describe my current job well.

Clearing shit created by others.

Oh well..

To protect these precious 2400 hours workers, we need more defenders

Come and ask the girls to serve ns!!!

Ns is a privilege!

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/getting-women-do-ns-european-style-20131019

As defence policymakers here consider roping in more female volunteers, Singapore is looking at its European counterparts to learn how they get women to do their part for defence.

Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen is leading a delegation on a visit to Finland and Switzerland to study their conscription system.

On the team are senior Defence Ministry officials and members of the high-level Committee to Strengthen National Service (CSNS), including Minister of State for Defence Mohamad Maliki Osman and MP for Nee Soon GRC Lim Wee Kiak.

On his visit to Finland which began on Wednesday, Dr Ng called on his counterpart, Mr Carl Haglund and other top-level defence officials, including the Commander of the Finnish Defence Forces General Ari Puheloinen.

our women too smart liao.. where will be bluffed to volunteer? even if volunteer, will be at market salary as professional soldier or what not.. $$$$ is the question. not "privilege"

Thought japan working hours also very long?

not anymore [:|]

for me, i thought was hong kong. coz i heard working life there is worst than here.

Edited by Mllcg

not anymore [:|]

for me, i thought was hong kong. coz i heard working life there is worst than here.

Sg overtake japan and hk!

u 2 need nukes?

i can provide url to the US forces. :huh:

Sg overtake japan and hk!

Not sure about this buy my jap frens work past midnight. In all honesty they tell me most of their time is spent pointlessly waiting. And all go home late for show only.

Also, lately there is a higher rate of part time and temp job taken by the younger generations who dont want to go the path of the salaryman. Hence lower hours.

Dunno if they count their PH too. They have a lot of PH.

Not sure about this buy my jap frens work past midnight. In all honesty they tell me most of their time is spent pointlessly waiting. And all go home late for show only.

Also, lately there is a higher rate of part time and temp job taken by the younger generations who dont want to go the path of the salaryman. Hence lower hours.

Dunno if they count their PH too. They have a lot of PH.

Heard from my jap friends, tey also say japanese work very "slow" during, so that they can work "OT"!

Thought the Japs do prawns or watch prawns after office hours? [sly]

Japan has overtime pay! So cannot suka suka ask people to overtime. For a so call first world nation, there is practically no control over over working. I think the main reason is so we can be more 'competitive', wages vs hours wise. Mom just keep an eye close.

Not sure about this buy my jap frens work past midnight. In all honesty they tell me most of their time is spent pointlessly waiting.

That's quite interesting, considering that all this quality improvement/Kaizen/Lean/Toyota way nonsense that has been foisted by the Japanese (and American biz con charlatans) onto the rest of the world emphasise "waiting" as a key element of waste ("Muda") that is to be eliminated.

Clearly, the Japs are not great at practising what they preach (or others preach on their behalves).

That's quite interesting, considering that all this quality improvement/Kaizen/Lean/Toyota way nonsense that has been foisted by the Japanese (and American biz con charlatans) onto the rest of the world emphasise "waiting" as a key element of waste ("Muda") that is to be eliminated.

Clearly, the Japs are not great at practising what they preach (or others preach on their behalves).

I have worked closely with them for some projects at the jap HQ before and......seriously, they cannot make snap decisions. It was just a simple shift in schedule, and they have to sit around and think, folded arms, silenece until the head says something, and by the time they wanna say "muzukashii", I told them forget it and sorry to raise the suggestion. Real waste of time.

If it were here, chope chope discuss, decide in a few minutes and proceed.

Quality wise they are definitely better. They really spend time and gets very @n@l on the details. They really put their all into it.

Heard from my jap friends, tey also say japanese work very "slow" during, so that they can work "OT"!

Not sure abt OT but my ex-gf (yes, jap) had to work till 2am. Sleep until 5.30am the boss emailed (their sms) her asking for some files. Knn wake up go work again. And mind you, this is a huge US co based in japan.

Every time we meet for dinner say 6.30pm end up I wait till 9.30pm. Never is she punctual once.

With a life like that how to promote having kids? I can see singapore going down the same road, seriously. And migrating into japan is not easy.

Edited by Yattokame