School Bookshop Encounter with a Crap-bee. LOL

Hiphiphoray

ya lor.....pick up books only nia mah!!!!! Seconds only.

I also hate Q-cutters to the bone.....but still have to see the situation mah.

The student is release by the teacher in small numbers of 3-4 students....so i believe the basic understanding not to join Q is there as far as the school and bookshop is concern.

Give & Take lar........its not as if one huge invading army is cutting Q!!! And parents have to sleep overnite in the Q!!! hahaha.

If everybody join the queue...it's even worse? That couple could be there the entire day lor? If already paid and student just go there to collect why must join queue? If there were in the same shoes as the sudents I think they will be asking, why queue? I dun understand their mentality. Fancy the adults bully kids just becoz they can do so. Pricks.

Yes can order on-line at Popular even the school exercise book... Think Popular also operates my son's sch bookshop. But there'll definitely be missing titles which you may need to buy some other days.

We buy from Popular during school holidays, FC took one day leave, go and buy and then go to school for balance and for uniforms.

Popular cheaper n faster....

Courier is the easiest way, but my wifey prefers to go down to collect so that mistakes in the order (and they are frequent! - especially with the language books if you don't take CL2) can be rectified on the spot.

CL2?

My sprog is HMT....books blardy difficult to decipher...

We buy from Popular during school holidays, FC took one day leave, go and buy and then go to school for balance and for uniforms.

Popular cheaper n faster....

CL2?

My sprog is HMT....books blardy difficult to decipher...

What I meant was that non-Chinese students (for instance my son, who does Tamil) end up getting the Chinese text/work books because the bookshop can't seem to keep things straight. The Chinese book orders are so much more common than the other languages that such a mixup is quite frequent.

Anyway, the whole thing sounds like *terrible* organisation.

Maybe...maybe not - if the students were just picking up pre-ordered, or getting out of stock items, it makes sense to let them go first.

First of all, bookshop allow to cut-Q doesn't mean it's OK.

Were they cutting queue, or were they "priority queue" (like priority banking) or were they different service?

Secondly, sounds like all this could be solved by having two separate lines: one for picking up previously ordered books, and another for fresh orders. Of course, no point suggesting this because most Singaporeans are like stupid cows - they will stare at you or, at most, smile vacuously if you try to change the system in any way.

This sounds like what they were doing actually - allowing students to join some sort of queue just for picking up pre-ordered or out of stock. Just that the first free staff was helping and then going back to other stuff.

Thirdly, what's this stuff about students coming down during lesson breaks to get books?

Why not? If the teacher and the school allow - which the obviously are, why should we be second guessing their policies?

My own son is in P4, and if my wifey/I have to bring our son to go buy books, we do so outside of school hours. If we don't bring our son down, one of us does it during school hours, while my son is in class. Best is to do it all before school opens, but if it's really unavoidable, then either of us has to find time (like this guy did). But under no circumstances has he ever had to come down mid-class to buy books, especially at the last minute.

Why must parents "go with" to buy? My daughter also P4 (woo hoo!!) - she is quite capable of picking up one or two books herself without my help - just today I gave her money to go get two books from the bookshop, which she will do during recess.

Lastly, if the school organisation is really that cocked-up (which school, ah?) - then the teacher should be empowered to pre-purchase and distribute the books in class.

Serious or not? You really expect the teacher to track 40 students, who has and who does not, who has paid, who gave exact change and who didn't? Much easier to send the students if they are capable. And if they are not capable of buying one or two books at that age (or telling the auntie what book they want) then the parents have already failed.

Either way, this thing about cutting Q is really not on. Kids will do it because a) they don't know better or b) they think they can get away with it. I might even let them do it if I really have a lot of time. But if my own interests are being compromised and it's not my fault that I have to be Q-ing up there (e.g. the school's or bookshop's cock up), you bet I will insist on my place in the Q.

Once again - that's on the assumption that they WERE cutting queue. If the school or the bookshop gives them priority (which is how it seems, and is actually rather logical and acceptable to me) who are we to say otherwise? In any case, as an adult, you should be taking it up with the bookshop staff, and not be bullying the students directly. Particularly if, as in this case you and OC are there as a pair - one can queue and one can go and talk to staff.

What I meant was that non-Chinese students (for instance my son, who does Tamil) end up getting the Chinese text/work books because the bookshop can't seem to keep things straight. The Chinese book orders are so much more common than the other languages that such a mixup is quite frequent.

You're Indian?

Har...stupid school....

One thing I will say - my daughter is more scared of Tamil than she is of Chinese - is it hard to learn the script?

You're Indian?

Har...stupid school....

One thing I will say - my daughter is more scared of Tamil than she is of Chinese - is it hard to learn the script?

Think he's grabbing those previous "out-of-stock" books, but anyway for such out of stock books, they are normally passed on to students via teachers (since prepaid liao).

Since when? At our school, the students still go and collect themselves.

We also go to Popular to buy most of the text, except the work books. Popular is easy, and the staff is helpful. Just passed them the book list, and come back one hour later.

eh TS, dun bluff hor, leave is given for kid first day at school.....one of the entitlements...kekekekek

no wonder u so relac.....

eh TS, dun bluff hor, leave is given for kid first day at school.....one of the entitlements...kekekekek

no wonder u so relac.....

Child care leave rocks!!

And the govt even reimburse

Child care leave rocks!!

And the govt even reimburse

i oso say brudder...

oh happy 2014! Have a gr8 year ahead

Welcome... please report to CMPB.. [laugh]

That bar at Dempsey? They have good food and good beer....you can buy. [grouphug]

PR with Citizen daughter (x2) I pretty sure I get....

That bar at Dempsey? They have good food and good beer....you can buy. [grouphug]

PR with Citizen daughter (x2) I pretty sure I get....

you also know it was at dempsey area. It's only old uncles would know since it had moves to depot road

Doh.....all of Dempsey used to be barracks....

Errrr... I don't have any children, but saw my colleagues bought iPad or laptop from their kid's school for some elearning things. Still need textbook and workbook? I know that some local uni and poly have do away with books and every learning materials are available for download from their intranet.