Do You Want To Retire Before 60 ?

5th Gear
On 2/5/2025 at 3:04 PM, Throttle2 said:

Wah lau, cannot leh, retiree no money, no income, no ratrace….. 😫😫😭😓😰

waahahhahhahhah muayhahhahhah 😂😎😂

no wonder nobody wants to retire, becos they love to ratrace  😆😅😀😛

I can never keep up with the jones so lim teh all alone in hdb coffeeshop. Nothing to compare so never contact them🤣

On 2/5/2025 at 9:24 AM, RadX said:

$8k at best is middle class....$23k a month, upper middle....they can retire early if they are frugal, BUT they are missing out onlife..Good they are enjoying their fruits at this point in time

With life so unpredictable nowadays....best to enjoy a bit la..

the latter example, would be content at best....and as i always say, contentment is a virtue...i am contented w my life...

Must be prepared for sacrifices and compromises.  Deferred gratification is tough, so a lot end up in debts with little saving.  

Asset rich, cash/ investment poor and hoping to downgrade someday to enjoy the finer things in life, worth it? I am not sure, it works for some but not for others.

5th Gear
On 12/4/2024 at 12:11 AM, Throttle2 said:

muayhahhahhahhha, thats what i have been flabbergasted by all these years including some folks in here.

Quite surprising that someone with decent earning power like your firned can be so clueless about her own financial situation, needs and requirements.   Either that or she is just gaslighting you lah.  $3k in 2036??  How much is that worth by then.  And at $100 a day? Hyek hyek

of course, let me guess, she isnt a finance person, is single, unmarried or divorced without chidlren right?  😂😁

Hello! Long time not been here! 

well some figures were not that accurate  but her views on her retirement income is still quite similar! 2-5k maybe she thinks. Upping the ante a bit. 

300k was their 2023 income but last year was a whopping 1.3m! (They are in sales) no wonder the splurge on the holiday! 

she’s not a finance person yes, but married with kids la  

still blissfully married! 

5th Gear
On 12/4/2024 at 12:25 AM, Throttle2 said:

Yes when you dont have enough inflows and start drawing on savings, its scary. 😬

All the best in your planning and retirement dude.  By the way when is that happening?

60 still the same!

any earlier is a bonus!

On 2/5/2025 at 3:32 PM, Dp26 said:

Hello! Long time not been here! 

well some figures were not that accurate  but her views on her retirement income is still quite similar! 2-5k maybe she thinks. Upping the ante a bit. 

300k was their 2023 income but last year was a whopping 1.3m! (They are in sales) no wonder the splurge on the holiday! 

she’s not a finance person yes, but married with kids la  

still blissfully married! 

Oh property agents ah?

yeah they know shit about finance but always act guru.  Muayhaha, hope they pay taxes, i hear many agents cheat on taxes by using receipts from everywhere as expenses. 

😅😅😅😅😂😂

Edited by Throttle2

5th Gear
On 12/4/2024 at 8:42 AM, Ginyu said:

For the middle class, they need their 30k salary to pay for their  15k monthly expenses. The rich auto invest the 30k and only use the returns from the investments to fund their 15k monthly expenses but again the rich never work for money🤣

High earners for sure. Both set of parents have properties for them 1 each. 
they have their own place in D10 so maybe I wouldn’t say that they are middle class strictly. 

only sad part, imo, is that they don’t know what you mentioned above, making money work for them. 

but one thing for sure, they know how to make money! 

5th Gear
On 2/5/2025 at 3:39 PM, Throttle2 said:

Oh property agents ah?

yeah they know shit about finance but always act guru

Nothing against property agent la. 
but your observations are not unfounded. 

Another young senior retiree watching Netflix after $6 lunch on a Thursday afternoon 😁

Tennis this evening at 8pm 💪

image.jpg

had a good round of Tennis last night.

gotta rest my knee until Sunday’s game

Relaxing with my usual in this afternoon.

image.jpg

5th Gear

Heard one reaching retirement age very soon and also plan to retire.  just bought a brand new Lexus awaiting delivery. Pamper ownself to kick start retirement 🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 2/7/2025 at 3:14 PM, Ginyu said:

Heard one reaching retirement age very soon and also plan to retire.  just bought a brand new Lexus awaiting delivery. Pamper ownself to kick start retirement 🤣

Thats good.

My children still young, perhaps when they are older i will also get something expensive to treat myself

my whole life has been planning and preparing and making sure my family is well taken care of as i am solebreadwinner.  I tend to think very very hard when spending on myself but whatever they want i usually get it alost immediately.  Of course not senseless spending.

5th Gear
On 2/7/2025 at 3:40 PM, Throttle2 said:

Thats good.

My children still young, perhaps when they are older i will also get something expensive to treat myself

my whole life has been planning and preparing and making sure my family is well taken care of as i am solebreadwinner.  I tend to think very very hard when spending on myself but whatever they want i usually get it alost immediately.  Of course not senseless spending.

Good for you anyway my retirement kick start not so glamorous,  cannot compare with other capable retirees , they can afford to buy brand new car at today high coe prices🤣

20250206_155222.thumb.jpg.1ec206595ee1f1bfc1cce4349364919d.jpg

Edited by Ginyu

On 2/7/2025 at 5:20 PM, Ginyu said:

Good for you anyway my retirement kick start not so glamorous,  cannot compare with other capable individuals, they can afford to buy brand new car at today high coe prices🤣

20250206_155222.thumb.jpg.1ec206595ee1f1bfc1cce4349364919d.jpg

Well, there should be nothing and no need to compare anymore.  

just enjoy retirement.  

my ex staff ask me to go back inro the industry, saying i am too young, but i am absolutely not keen.  
although i climbed the corporate ladder and was a high flyer ahead most of my peers in school and at work, i am absolutely not a person who is concerned with power or status and do very well being a low profile unknown.   

I think they also dont understand or dont know how shiok my life is right now.   😎😎 

4th Gear
On 2/7/2025 at 3:14 PM, Ginyu said:

Older cars can also be enjoyable.

aaa.jpg

On 2/7/2025 at 6:18 PM, flat6 said:

Older cars can also be enjoyable.

aaa.jpg

Hi maintenance also especially 5 gauges

On 2/7/2025 at 7:00 PM, inlinesix said:

Hi maintenance also especially 5 gauges

Me tinks holding the steeeering  looks ackward position..... this watch brand also very hard to pronounce oso :grin:

On 2/7/2025 at 7:12 PM, BanCoe said:

Me tinks holding the steeeering  looks ackward position..... this watch brand also very hard to pronounce oso :grin:

What brand ah? I don’t even know what watch is that?! Lol.