Hyundai Sonata (2015)

Thaiyotakamli

Specially for Fuelsaver... hahaha

post-167839-0-25247800-1460265409_thumb.jpg

The light switch is in the off position.

post-167839-0-39627800-1460265434_thumb.jpg

The light switch is in the main beam position (1)

post-167839-0-74182400-1460265501_thumb.jpg

Close up of light cluster when the light switch is in the main beam position (1)

post-167839-0-45616700-1460265585_thumb.jpg

The gauge cluster lighting when the light switch is in the main beam position (1)

post-167839-0-88278400-1460265532_thumb.jpg

The light switch is in the high beam position (2)

post-167839-0-45226000-1460265556_thumb.jpg

Close up of light cluster when the light switch is in the high beam position (2)

post-167839-0-40351200-1460265622_thumb.jpg

The gauge cluster lighting when the light switch is in the highway beam position (2)

post-167839-0-54275600-1460265647_thumb.jpg

Light colour and beam shape when the light switch is in the main beam position (1)

This is sunlight colour, not exactly completely white, but with a yellow tinge.

post-167839-0-15626300-1460265689_thumb.jpg

Light colour and beam shape when the light switch is in the high beam position (2)

So I think the conclusion is quite clear, both main and high beams are xenon HID lamps.

post-167839-0-77485000-1460265772_thumb.jpg

Rear light cluster when the light switch is in the off position.

Will update rear light cluster when the light switch is in the off position. Forgot to take... hahaha...

Hope this is helpful...

If you look at the last photo, you see the rear lamp in the middle of the bumper... I have absolutely no idea what that. I expected it to be the rear fog lamp cos it has four LED bulbs... but the switch doesn't turn it on... I will update when I get the time to do so...

Edited by teomingern

Specially for KoreanLover...

post-167839-0-17254600-1460265990_thumb.jpg

Zoom out view of the 7-inch entertainment screen.

post-167839-0-06005500-1460266017_thumb.jpg

Even wider zoom out view... not very good effect cos outside is so bright... will take again at night when it's dark outside.

The picture of that girl in the USB player software, I realise it is the album art. If your MP3 has no track, then that's the system default... they should have chosen a nicer picture...

But I used MP3Tag and attached album art for all my tracks... and this is the effect...

post-167839-0-44136400-1460266108_thumb.jpg

post-167839-0-66943600-1460266119_thumb.jpg

post-167839-0-46411700-1460266129_thumb.jpg

post-167839-0-01673900-1460266130_thumb.jpg

Just one more point, if you buy this car, be prepared to be very careful when you park in HDB MSCP... the car is huge and while I usually don't have trouble adjusting to new cars, this car is probably the largest I have ever driven, bar perhaps a Ford Falcon in Oz...

post-167839-0-34803400-1460290726_thumb.jpg

post-167839-0-28764700-1460291207_thumb.jpg

The two photos show just how wide the car is and how much space you have on each side if you were to park right in the centre. I deliberately parked more to left. Took me three tries to get it that close. The parking sensor kind of scared me. The front left corner sensor was beeping like crazy. And you can see that if I opened the door, there really isn't much space to get out hence parking closer to the pillar.

Also the length of the car is also an issue... I'm parked right in until the front wheel is almost touching the front curb. Of course the centre front two parking sensor was screaming at this point. I have to park front in cos I can't access the boot if the car is parked back in... and even like this, the car's boot is slightly outside the parking space markings.

Some HDB MSCP are much narrower and the parking spaces are much smaller than where I live. Bukit Batok, Choa Chu Kang, Bishan are some places where I have experienced really cramped MSCPs... so another issue to think about, especially if your wife or children are going to drive the car, and they can't handle tight parking spaces, the Sonata might be too much for them.

Edited by teomingern

Just one more point, if you buy this car, be prepared to be very careful when you park in HDB MSCP... the car is huge and while I usually don't have trouble adjusting to new cars, this car is probably the largest I have ever driven, bar perhaps a Ford Falcon in Oz...

20160410_102704.jpg

20160410_102719.jpg

The two photos show just how wide the car is and how much space you have on each side if you were to park right in the centre. I deliberately parked more to left. Took me three tries to get it that close. The parking sensor kind of scared me. The front left corner sensor was beeping like crazy. And you can see that if I opened the door, there really isn't much space to get out hence parking closer to the pillar.

Also the length of the car is also an issue... I'm parked right in until the front wheel is almost touching the front curb. Of course the centre front two parking sensor was screaming at this point. I have to park front in cos I can't access the boot if the car is parked back in... and even like this, the car's boot is slightly outside the parking space markings.

Some HDB MSCP are much narrower and the parking spaces are much smaller than where I live. Bukit Batok, Choa Chu Kang, Bishan are some places where I have experienced really cramped MSCPs... so another issue to think about, especially if your wife or children are going to drive the car, and they can't handle tight parking spaces, the Sonata might be too much for them.

Are you prepare for door dents?

Whether prepared or not,the feeling quite sian

What to do ah... no choice lar... Singapore so cramped... sure will get some door dents... my old car really pitted with them lor... once the car is a few years old then I don't care already lar... now still take a lot of precautions... less than one week old...

Whether prepared or not,the feeling quite sian

What to do ah... no choice lar... Singapore so cramped... sure will get some door dents... my old car really pitted with them lor... once the car is a few years old then I don't care already lar... now still take a lot of precautions... less than one week old...

Park at the highest level.

They're part of car ownership. You don't sound prepared... [laugh]

Hyundai metal is quite hard. Won't easily get dents.. However might get paint chip or marks over time.

just joking mah.

But then sometimes is not about the money. for me is laziness. too lazy to keep going to workshop change tyre.

paiseh have to borrow article from stomp.

Sonata having accident. Heart pain....

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/how-bizarre-driverless-ghost-van-hits-car-at-bukit-timah-hawker-centre

Edited by Kennethoka

Specially for Fuelsaver... hahaha

attachicon.gif20160410_101442.jpg

The light switch is in the off position.

attachicon.gif20160410_101508.jpg

The light switch is in the main beam position (1)

attachicon.gif20160410_101524.jpg

Close up of light cluster when the light switch is in the main beam position (1)

attachicon.gif20160410_101612.jpg

The gauge cluster lighting when the light switch is in the main beam position (1)

attachicon.gif20160410_101544.jpg

The light switch is in the high beam position (2)

attachicon.gif20160410_101551.jpg

Close up of light cluster when the light switch is in the high beam position (2)

attachicon.gif20160410_101605.jpg

The gauge cluster lighting when the light switch is in the highway beam position (2)

attachicon.gif20160410_101725.jpg

Light colour and beam shape when the light switch is in the main beam position (1)

attachicon.gif20160410_101734.jpg

Light colour and beam shape when the light switch is in the high beam position (2)

So I think the conclusion is quite clear, both main and high beams are xenon HID lamps.

attachicon.gif20160410_101423.jpg

Rear light cluster when the light switch is in the off position.

Will update rear light cluster when the light switch is in the off position. Forgot to take... hahaha...

Hope this is helpful...

If you look at the last photo, you see the rear lamp in the middle of the bumper... I have absolutely no idea what that. I expected it to be the rear fog lamp cos it has four LED bulbs... but the switch doesn't turn it on... I will update when I get the time to do so...

otang u 5 pts bro, appreciate ur zeal and effort, wc was very informative. really a handsome ride u got there. btw, r the speakers of certain brand (e.g. new elantra by infinity for overseas 2l version; dunno about here though sounded very clear yet bassy and balanced)?

now i kena abit of poison, hope won't run-fire-enter-devil..

Park so high up waste fuel lor... going up the MSCP ramps really eat up a lot of fuel. Anyway, it's all part of of the process of owning a car... also will wear out the steering mechanism faster, plus all the bushings and bearings and the drive shaft faster also. Seriously parking in our kind of MSCP is very stressful on the car cos our MSCP ramps are very narrow and steep. They take a toll on the car if you repeat very often. That's why I wonder those people who stay in the new HDB/Shopping Mall hubs like at Clementi, how they find driving up 7 floors to park every day... and how often they have to repair their car...

just joking mah.

But then sometimes is not about the money. for me is laziness. too lazy to keep going to workshop change tyre.

paiseh have to borrow article from stomp.

Sonata having accident. Heart pain....

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/how-bizarre-driverless-ghost-van-hits-car-at-bukit-timah-hawker-centre

Woah! The van driver forgot to pull handbrake lar... and the Sonata is the same colour as my car... totally unexpected I guess... so the Sonata driver can't take evasive action...

otang u 5 pts bro, appreciate ur zeal and effort, wc was very informative. really a handsome ride u got there. btw, r the speakers of certain brand (e.g. new elantra by infinity for overseas 2l version; dunno about here though sounded very clear yet bassy and balanced)?

now i kena abit of poison, hope won't run-fire-enter-devil..

Hahaha... just for fun lar... when I was buying the car, I also scoured the web for all sorts of information about the Sonata... it's a bit difficult to find cos very few people drive Sonatas in Singapore. And those who drive this car don't come into this forum. So thought to do a thorough write-up and leave it as a repository here lor... anyone googling for Sonata will stumble onto this thread and can make use of the info lor...

The speaks are unbranded. The speaker grilles don't have any markings. To be honest, I haven't had time to really scrutinise the speakers lar... but the speaker output is really quite stunning. If you go for a test drive, just plug in a USB drive with the kind of music you like to listen to and then pump up the volume... sounds really good... I have tried Classical, Gospel, Chinese/English POP, Celtic, Rock and they all rock... what stands out for me is the clarity of the different sounds in a piece. Granted MP3 at 128 kbps doesn't have a lot of details but regardless it's really good. You're right, the output is very balanced. Neither boomy nor tinny. The sound is rich and full. My classical tracks are all ripped at 320 kbps and the fullness of the sound is really great! No idea if it can playback FLAC.

I keep forgetting to try 1080p video... very curious myself to see if it works.

Cannot afford tyres when have the ability to buy 2000cc?

Bro... the tyres are super expensive leh... 18"/235/45 cost at least $250 per piece... one shot $1000 minimum lor... not little leh... 2x more expensive than my 15"/195/55 tyres on my previous Impreza. 

Edited by teomingern