Liverpool 2014/15 Part 2 : Qtr Century On....

Vegas

This is the first time in 30 years Pool has kept

5 away clean sheets since Joe Fagan was our manager.

Looks like nobody is talking abt BR's head on the chopping board liao :D

But somehow, his tactics baffled most of us leh.... maybe he is keeping some tricks up his sleeves for the europa match....

Took CNY to actually watch 2 late (or early) Pool matches live - something that I've not done for years (the 4 am match, that is…).

It's clear that Lucas is missed. While we kept clean sheets in both matches, I can't say that we looked comfortable when defending, or rather, we didn't look really solid. It's still, however, obvious that confidence - sorely lacking in the first 4 mth of the season) - can be seen and felt by the defenders and midfielders when the opponents are attacking. There are also more outlets when it comes to relieving pressure when under attack, and hopefully spotting a player or two upfield with space and releasing the ball to them to counter attack at pace.

Compare this to the ultra-negative football we were playing in Sep-Nov, when LM passed to LB, who will kick to MF running back who will in turn kick the ball to LCB, then to RCB, and to RM, who then reverse the order - before repeating till end of the match!

Soton was spot on in getting their wingers to keep our wing backs busy. This is important as Markovic can't defend well, esp. on the left. In one previous match, he put in a good - if not great - shift when defending while he played RWB. Ibe at least did better on the right. This kept our own wing play limited, as our WBs can't afford to roam too freely upfield and neglect the defense. If other teams do this too, we'll need to counter it quickly.

The wet field didn't allow our creative players like Sterling, Lallana, Ibe, Coutinho to show much of their skills. Any promising attacks were usually snuffed out pretty quickly by the Soton defense and midfield - credits to them. They controlled possession up until they reach our penalty box, when we somehow managed to get the balls away, legal or not.

I can only say that if we were the one denied the decisions, we would have been screaming too. So we were lucky - and probably due some of it anyway.

The difference was that with only a handful of shots, we managed to put 2 into the net. With all the possession Soton had, you can see that they were not very imaginative or threatening when reaching the last third of the field. This is where I think is very useful and important for us. We need to show more of such performances and solidity (although this can still improve further, and we must), so that opponents will not grow confidence and come at us all the time. There were still a few hairy moments, and if we manage to weed them out, then we will suddenly become a very mean team. Pity that Lucas is not here to help.

Sturridge is selfish. Maybe that's a good trait of strikers, but he needs to make himself an even more valuable player by putting the team above him. It was obvious in the last 2 seasons that he didn't want to lose out to LS, and so seized on every opportunity to shoot, and will complain if LS didn't pass to him if he was in a decent position. He missed more than half the season this term and is thinking of making up for lost time, but if a teammate is in better position, he must know it's better to pass than shoot. He also doesn't pressure opponents the way LS did last year. And he didn't defend. He better read the papers where BR was critical of Balo's work rate.

I think Coutinho heard my vibes about his shooting, so that's good. Keep it up!

There were too many bad passes last night, and luckily that didn't affect the good result.

More difficult matches coming up that will decide our season. Bad time to play City as they were a shadow of themselves just a fortnight ago, but has now trashed Newcastle. We'll need to play to perfection to beat them, and will hopefully get the result like last year. If we do that, then maybe, just maybe we can get the feeling and conviction that we can play anyone (Utd, Arsenal, Chelski lie in wait) and beat them, reminiscence of last season (minus the slip…) [:)]

But somehow, his tactics baffled most of us leh.... maybe he is keeping some tricks up his sleeves for the europa match....

When things are not going well, a change is in order. BR's problem was he was fixated with his own ways/methods for so long (what, 4 mth?) and couldn't (or worse, not willing to) change anything, and the slump continued.

Credits to him when finally changed the shape and tactic (and personnel) and it's pleasantly obvious the performance improved.

Yup, hope he'll have some more tricks up his sleeves, as I'm concerned that more teams might dominate us the way Soton did, by restricting our WBs, and put a couple of good players in the middle to avoid us having the numerical advantage...

if the team is winning, no need to chop him, but can continue to detest his methods. how do u motivate someone who made positive contributions for 3 matches in a row? tell the whole world he needs to do better! that is not the Liverpool way

he is riding his luck... we got away with 2 stone wall penalties and 3 possible red cards & penalties

but winning ugly is necessary, so his job is safe for now

why is Joe Allen still in the team???

conceding so many dumb freekicks!

No choice.

Actually, Allen is 3rd in line for that position after Lucas and SG.

if the team is winning, no need to chop him, but can continue to detest his methods. how do u motivate someone who made positive contributions for 3 matches in a row? tell the whole world he needs to do better! that is not the Liverpool way

he is riding his luck... we got away with 2 stone wall penalties and 3 possible red cards & penalties

but winning ugly is necessary, so his job is safe for now

I just hope our 2015 luck can continue for the upcoming matches against ManC, ManU....

From now onwards, every 3 points is so valuable that can make or break our season !

As long as I didnt change back to using his name or initials, he is still consider to be on the chopping board :D

For me he is only getting a stay of execution. Ultimately i don't see us winning the title next season or after (don't dare to say ever).

And the win yesterday was definitely not a good win. He is just a "will do for now" status.

Took CNY to actually watch 2 late (or early) Pool matches live - something that I've not done for years (the 4 am match, that is…).

It's clear that Lucas is missed. While we kept clean sheets in both matches, I can't say that we looked comfortable when defending, or rather, we didn't look really solid. It's still, however, obvious that confidence - sorely lacking in the first 4 mth of the season) - can be seen and felt by the defenders and midfielders when the opponents are attacking. There are also more outlets when it comes to relieving pressure when under attack, and hopefully spotting a player or two upfield with space and releasing the ball to them to counter attack at pace.

Compare this to the ultra-negative football we were playing in Sep-Nov, when LM passed to LB, who will kick to MF running back who will in turn kick the ball to LCB, then to RCB, and to RM, who then reverse the order - before repeating till end of the match!

Soton was spot on in getting their wingers to keep our wing backs busy. This is important as Markovic can't defend well, esp. on the left. In one previous match, he put in a good - if not great - shift when defending while he played RWB. Ibe at least did better on the right. This kept our own wing play limited, as our WBs can't afford to roam too freely upfield and neglect the defense. If other teams do this too, we'll need to counter it quickly.

The wet field didn't allow our creative players like Sterling, Lallana, Ibe, Coutinho to show much of their skills. Any promising attacks were usually snuffed out pretty quickly by the Soton defense and midfield - credits to them. They controlled possession up until they reach our penalty box, when we somehow managed to get the balls away, legal or not.

I can only say that if we were the one denied the decisions, we would have been screaming too. So we were lucky - and probably due some of it anyway.

The difference was that with only a handful of shots, we managed to put 2 into the net. With all the possession Soton had, you can see that they were not very imaginative or threatening when reaching the last third of the field. This is where I think is very useful and important for us. We need to show more of such performances and solidity (although this can still improve further, and we must), so that opponents will not grow confidence and come at us all the time. There were still a few hairy moments, and if we manage to weed them out, then we will suddenly become a very mean team. Pity that Lucas is not here to help.

Sturridge is selfish. Maybe that's a good trait of strikers, but he needs to make himself an even more valuable player by putting the team above him. It was obvious in the last 2 seasons that he didn't want to lose out to LS, and so seized on every opportunity to shoot, and will complain if LS didn't pass to him if he was in a decent position. He missed more than half the season this term and is thinking of making up for lost time, but if a teammate is in better position, he must know it's better to pass than shoot. He also doesn't pressure opponents the way LS did last year. And he didn't defend. He better read the papers where BR was critical of Balo's work rate.

I think Coutinho heard my vibes about his shooting, so that's good. Keep it up!

There were too many bad passes last night, and luckily that didn't affect the good result.

More difficult matches coming up that will decide our season. Bad time to play City as they were a shadow of themselves just a fortnight ago, but has now trashed Newcastle. We'll need to play to perfection to beat them, and will hopefully get the result like last year. If we do that, then maybe, just maybe we can get the feeling and conviction that we can play anyone (Utd, Arsenal, Chelski lie in wait) and beat them, reminiscence of last season (minus the slip…) [:)]

Liverpool need to control the midfield and strong in defence consistently if they want to be a top team. If not, just relying fast pace counter attack football can only win you the odd cup final match.

I was surprised that Morgan Schneiderlin and Mane not in the starting 11 for Southampton. Morgan can controlled midfield and prevent Liverpool from breaking from midfield in counter attack and Mane can hurt Liverpool as part of 3 strikers tactics Southampton deployed.

Liverpool can get Kolo's help to lock his brother Yaya inside his house and stop him playing for Man City against Liverpool [sly]

Once Yaya is back from African Nation Cup, Man City's form improve. So stopping him and the Man City attack is crucial. I take a draw for this match and win against chelsea arsenal and man utd. I prefer to let Man City win the league.

Glad we win with joke Allen playing

To me he is gone case already should he axe. Problem is talk so much also not we decide

WELL DONE! Prove me wrong!! Come on!

Liverpool need to control the midfield and strong in defence consistently if they want to be a top team. If not, just relying fast pace counter attack football can only win you the odd cup final match.

I was surprised that Morgan Schneiderlin and Mane not in the starting 11 for Southampton. Morgan can controlled midfield and prevent Liverpool from breaking from midfield in counter attack and Mane can hurt Liverpool as part of 3 strikers tactics Southampton deployed.

Liverpool can get Kolo's help to lock his brother Yaya inside his house and stop him playing for Man City against Liverpool [sly]

Once Yaya is back from African Nation Cup, Man City's form improve. So stopping him and the Man City attack is crucial. I take a draw for this match and win against chelsea arsenal and man utd. I prefer to let Man City win the league.

make him lao sai lao buay hiah [laugh][lipsrsealed][:p]

Happy new Year and here we go again .

sotong 0-2 LFC wins

My first accurate predictions :) and I like it. summary of the match for the MTM is goal keeper Mignolet, He is a change person , confident, command the back line and can catch hold of the ball. I think he saved 3 fantastic shots from sotong.

Although we got no majority of the balls the defenders ( except lovren) and goal keeper keep us in the game.

Makovic is poor, lovren too. Although sotong look good it remind me of the Kenny dalglish time just cannot score lol. hitting wood work 47times lol those days.

As long our defend hold we can always be in the hunt :)

YNWA

Edited by fisheryak

That's why Lucas is important...

Or last time Mescherno even better. It would be ideal if the DM is tall and good. The one that comes to mind and I'm envious of, is Matic (minus his rash retaliation). At 1.94 m, he is 26 cm taller than Allen… for 3rd match running, during corners Allen was marking someone taller by one of at least half a head...

Kolo could have done something last year to make his bro injured early in the match. So maybe this year also planning something...

I also dun like chelski winning. i hope - even though i doubt it will happen - they self-disintegrate in the last 2 months, and drop 15 points...

That's why Lucas is important...

Or last time Mescherno even better. It would be ideal if the DM is tall and good. The one that comes to mind and I'm envious of, is Matic (minus his rash retaliation). At 1.94 m, he is 26 cm taller than Allen… for 3rd match running, during corners Allen was marking someone taller by one of at least half a head...

Kolo could have done something last year to make his bro injured early in the match. So maybe this year also planning something...

I also dun like chelski winning. i hope - even though i doubt it will happen - they self-disintegrate in the last 2 months, and drop 15 points...

I think a good defensive midfielder must be strong, has good passing rate, can keep the ball well, good stamina, not injured prone, can protect the defence well, fearless and stand up for his team mates.

Henderson? for the last point...

i find JA is trying to be Mascherano, diving into tackles... prob is Monster timing is much much better

read this on one webbie:

hump3. (Ipswich Town) says...

Magnificent. Outstanding. Great Team Performance. The holy trinity of Brendanisms. The thing about Liverpool at the moment is Brendan only has one philosophy, "Go out there, be awesome, and play Rodgerotically" On form they are doing that with the popularity of an E. L. James book, little argument that they are the neutrals favourite for fourth now, n'est-ce pas?