Ford Galaxy - Good buy?

Typhoonz

assume 100k millionaires on this island with average of 2 cars each

total car population ~ 600K

do you think there is sufficient COEs to go around even at peak supply?

[dizzy]

Don't think COE will ever come down low again...

we are still lucky to be able to experience car ownership

i think my children no need to take driving lessons when they turn 18 liao

maybe if they proved themselves to be high income earners later in life

take driving lessons then also not too late

Nothing is certain. There are many things in life that is unknown. Only 2 things are certain, we will get sick and we will die someday.

That's true... Unless our transportation system becomes like Hong Kong, I think there's no need to own private cars unless you can afford it...

Nothing is certain. There are many things in life that is unknown. Only 2 things are certain, we will get sick and we will die someday.

Not taxes and death?

That's true... Unless our transportation system becomes like Hong Kong, I think there's no need to own private cars unless you can afford it...

Not taxes and death?

death yes... taxes no

In HK i would want to drive still. ... when i need to i drive. when i dont need to i take public transport.

Edited by Miles

No lah, i think Presage was always in the league of Estima, which was 2nd bro of Toyota (Alphard being eldest, picnic being 3rd, Wish 4th, etc.). At that time there was Lafesta, which was 2.0 l so comparable to Picnic, although in reality it prob pales in comparison to wish...

But at 69K, sigh… can't get over myself… this amt is less than 1K more that what i paid for my wish when brand new...

Can't anchor yourself to those prices also mah but I am not advocating buying at current prices also.

Get a Presage (with decent omv and COE) to tahan for a few years. Identify your ride, send to AA for evaluation (at your own cost, I don't like STA and VICOM), switch when better spec mpv models are out and COE soften.

Nissan parts are cheap (when compared to T and especially H).

4AT gearbox may be dinosaur but it also means workshops are familiar with it and cheap to replace and it's not like 6 speeder gearboxes theses days are giving 12km/ L on new mpv (maybe Ody can hit).

Plus Presage has 8 airbags and sliding doors.

Take it as a stop gap measure till you really identify an mpv you really like.

For a car that old is quite high... Anyway my car is no better at $16k... Anyway come to think of it 2.5L plus 4AT hard to swallow...

Seems like their safety standard is no improving and staying stagnant at 2 airbags...

For Japanese standard 2 airbags is perhaps enuff...

They have mpv with multiple aribags. Just that most PI not bringing in.

Previa from Borneo has 6 airbags. Presage HW Star (2008 model) has 8 airbags. Vincar is supposedly bringing in Estima with 6 airbags.

Toyota JP website always displayed mpvs with multiple airbags option.

It's quite similar to how property developers shove condos with bay windows plus big balconies plus bomb shelter and buyers still lap it all up.

Car ADs here know Estima chio, so SG buyers will go weak in the knees and buy the 2 airbags model.

Can't anchor yourself to those prices also mah but I am not advocating buying at current prices also.

Get a Presage (with decent omv and COE) to tahan for a few years. Identify your ride, send to AA for evaluation (at your own cost, I don't like STA and VICOM), switch when better spec mpv models are out and COE soften.

Nissan parts are cheap (when compared to T and especially H).

4AT gearbox may be dinosaur but it also means workshops are familiar with it and cheap to replace and it's not like 6 speeder gearboxes theses days are giving 12km/ L on new mpv (maybe Ody can hit).

Plus Presage has 8 airbags and sliding doors.

Take it as a stop gap measure till you really identify an mpv you really like.

They have mpv with multiple aribags. Just that most PI not bringing in.

Previa from Borneo has 6 airbags. Presage HW Star (2008 model) has 8 airbags. Vincar is supposedly bringing in Estima with 6 airbags.

Toyota JP website always displayed mpvs with multiple airbags option.

It's quite similar to how property developers shove condos with bay windows plus big balconies plus bomb shelter and buyers still lap it all up.

Car ADs here know Estima chio, so SG buyers will go weak in the knees and buy the 2 airbags model.

8 airbags? Safety is good while engine CC is huge...

Buyers in Singapore has always had ADs lead them by the nose...

Just to ask for 4AT does it have OD?

Of all AD i have experienced, I believe i had the best experience with Tan Chong. Efficient, no nonsense, good value.

So buying a Nissan is a safe choice.

have OD

but to overtake decisively, must drop to 2

[sweatdrop]

Of all AD i have experienced, I believe i had the best experience with Tan Chong. Efficient, no nonsense, good value.

That's a saving point for Nissan... As long as they know their stuff and don't take their customers for a ride...

have OD

but to overtake decisively, must drop to 2

[sweatdrop]

Already driving rather slowly these days and hardly overtake anyone unless they are slower than me... [laugh]

So if you driving behind a slow blue Mazda 5 I apologise in advance...

And please don't honk, high beam or show me the middle finger when you overtake me hor...

That's a saving point for Nissan... As long as they know their stuff and don't take their customers for a ride...

Already driving rather slowly these days and hardly overtake anyone unless they are slower than me... [laugh]

So if you driving behind a slow blue Mazda 5 I apologise in advance...

And please don't honk, high beam or show me the middle finger when you overtake me hor...

i was referring to overtaking big trucks on Malaysia B roads fully loaded with passengers and luggage

Yes. Has OD.

I'm curious. Estima and Ody 2.4L but nobody say engine very big.

100cc more is Presage 2.5L and it is big?

i was referring to overtaking big trucks on Malaysia B roads fully loaded with passengers and luggage

Oh that ah... Of course I will step hard and hope for the best...

The power is there on the 2.5L engine...

Took my ex-boss's car to cheong along Changi Coastal Road between my driver duties... Stable drive and body rolls are expected...

Yes. Has OD.

Since it has OD so itself is a gear right? So why not call it 5AT?

Actually to me the 2.4L seems underpowered for an Estima...

Presage not common mah... So when people hear about it the most striking feature is the engine CC...

Edited by Typhoonz

Just saw a mark x zio on way back from lunch.

think it's prob the most neglected MPV around...

Don't classify that as an MPV... Like the Exiga it's a stationwagon with 3rd row seats and almost zero boot space...

Looks unique though...

I had a good experience with TC too as a resale buyer.

The seller's car was on a 5 year warranty program and I was able to confirm that the car was sent in for regular servicing with TC.

When I sourced for TC parts, I was surprised to find that their parts are cheaper than Toyota (my previous ride) and Honda (also bought parts for a friend's Honda).

Don't classify that as an MPV... Like the Exiga it's a stationwagon with 3rd row seats and almost zero boot space...

Looks unique though...

i also thought Zio was mpv until I looked into one and realised it is a wagon.

The seller's car was on a 5 year warranty program and I was able to confirm that the car was sent in for regular servicing with TC.

When I sourced for TC parts, I was surprised to find that their parts are cheaper than Toyota (my previous ride) and Honda (also bought parts for a friend's Honda).

Usually ADs (less some business too good and forget how to treat their customers properly) don't give crap even for resale buyers... Mazda was not bad (that was before the take over but cannot say anything for the current) but their prices are [thumbsdown] [thumbsdown] [thumbsdown] ...

Did you make a comparison to those stockists?

i also thought Zio was mpv until I looked into one and realised it is a wagon.

Look like MPV meh? For sometime I was trying to identify that car until someone parked their car next to mine...

Had a good look inside... Not bad but to me a bit tight leh the space...

Yes. Has OD.

Hahaha ...That's why my S-Max is 2.3 & the new Galaxy / S-Max only 2.0.

However the prices for both (new) are ridiculous.

Speaking of which - anyone knows the cost of insurance for the Estima, ODC & Presage?

For the S - Max, mine was 1K.