Woman Destroys Taoist Prayer Items At HDB Void Deck

Vega

A vegetarian or even Vegan - be he/they a Buddhist, Hindu or 7 Day Adventist or any others for whatever reasons is a conviction to faith ; Tolerance and understanding yes ... being given free meat is a no - no, Saying goes - one mans meat is another mans poison.. food for thought

I think u misread my statement. What I meant was meat-free (non meat/fish) meals. Meat/protein were substituted with products from flour gluten or soya.

Rest assured that I respect other people's dietary preferences; be it for health, religious or other personal reasons.

I know what is truly Buddhist Vegetarian food; I grew up with my Nana who was one & I learnt the culinary art of preparing those meals from her, including making gluten from wheat flour. :)

Another keong Hee? Taoism has got no god. Or newly appointed by you?

Are you sure Taoism has no GOD???..............

Are you saying @jamesc can appoint a new Taoism GOD???.............

A vegetarian or even Vegan - be he/they a Buddhist, Hindu or 7 Day Adventist or any others for whatever reasons is a conviction to faith ; Tolerance and understanding yes ... being given free meat is a no - no, Saying goes - one mans meat is another mans poison.. food for thought

I think u misread my statement. What I meant was meat-free (non meat/fish) meals. Meat/protein were substituted with products from flour gluten or soya.

Rest assured that I respect other people's dietary preferences; be it for health, religious or other personal reasons.

I know what is truly Buddhist Vegetarian food; I grew up with my Nana who was one & I learnt the culinary art of preparing those meals from her, including making gluten from wheat flour. :)

I have came across many religion faithfuls................and so call faithfuls.............from these ppl and those well respected religion leaders..............I have learned that many actually follow faithfully but blindly.......

There are reasons to why some food are not allowed to be consume..............not because after eating the food you become unfaithful to the religion...........

I have come across monks who eat with us the same food...............all they do is remove the meat and take the vege............they told me that little bit of garlic is not going to harm them...................and they are powerful monks.........

Is the understanding of the teaching that is important........... [laugh] [laugh]

Ok clarified tks... should have used the word mock meat instead of free here and free there...... thought you meant meat and onion/garlic was free (on the house). [:)]

Traditional Chinese culture different from Taoism [:p]

I apologise first for OT...

Bro owner-driver,

My apologies for pointing this out....your post sometimes no head no tail and you dont bother to clarify or elaborate on what you post....what do u mean Taoism has no god? And what do u mean traditional Chinese Chinese culture different from Taoism? What has Chinese culture got to do with the topic?

Do u know the roots of Taoism? Please do some homework or research first before you post because your posts detracts from the topic at hand tolong tolong....

For your convenience, I attach the wiki post and first para. on Taoism for your reading pleasure:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taoism

Taoism (or Daoism) is a philosophical, ethical, and religious tradition of Chinese origin that emphasizes living in harmony with the Tao (also romanized as Dao). The term Tao means "way", "path" or "principle", and can also be found in Chinese philosophies and religions other than Taoism.

Disclaimer : I am not Taoist...

Traditional Chinese culture different from Taoism [:p]

Are you trying to compare folk religion with Taoism ?

Both believe in the presence of Higher being (God), while Taoism has embed with former practices since it's originated in the same culture.

I will suggest you comment less if you are not that well verse in the subjects.

Are you sure Taoism has no GOD???..............

Are you saying @jamesc can appoint a new Taoism GOD???.............

Ya..... god can be appointed ... -_-

just sit under a tree and pray. See if there are 'golden' lights appear behind your head. If there are, then you achive & receive 'enlightenment' & 'karma' and becomes one of the "Lorhan" ... :ph34r:

Not Lorhan fish hor with a 'ba-lu-ku' on its head ... [laugh]

I dislike this post because it is showing great dis respect to other religion.

Futhermore showing great misunderstanding of the mention religion.

I just dislike you as well, please show some respect.

You got the point. You are right. The literature you attached also no mention of any god in Taoism, and its all blurred with other religions and the likes.

No mention of GOD does not mean there is no GOD. Now tell me what do you mean there is no GOD in Taosim?

At my area, the Town Council provide more burners to promote insane burning.

Their excuse for malingering: oh its their religion to misbehave.

Town council at my place promoting such burning/smoking. Now and then we even smoke Haze.

These people are pro-insane burning, since the smoke can cause chronic mental retardation and the likes.

Religion is usually hijacked by those with ulterior motives to mislead others who are ignorant enough to be followers.

Example: CHC.

I will had dislike this also. But will have to go one round.

Total dis-respect. What insane burning. Totally insensitive.

This is not religion, if you are looking for one to hijack.

You already mentioned.

where is your example????.........

Edited by Tianmo

You got the point. You are right. The literature you attached also no mention of any god in Taoism, and its all blurred with other religions and the likes.

why not you explain ............what is all blurred with other religions and the likes???.............

I will say something about this that might be controversial even to Christians even though I am a Christian

When I was young, my church pastor asked us to ask our non Christian friends to ask any thing about the Christian faith and we write it down to him and he will answer us and we then answer our friends.

I wrote down," does the bible teach religious tolerance?"

When he read the question, he gave this answer. I can still remember most of it.

"This question is most likely asked by one of you and not by a non Christian friend. Nevertheless, this is an important question, more so because we are in Singapore.

Before I go further, first I must define tolerance. Tolerance means i show respect to you because you are a friend, a fellow human being. I respect your beliefs because I respect you. Tolerance does NOT mean I must accept your religion as equal to mine. The bible does not teach us that. What the bible teaches is to love our neighbours.

If you are Taoist, I respect you. I dun condemn you or your religion but I dun have to bow before your altar to show my respect for you.

This distinction is important because in modern society, tolerance sometimes mean that not only do I have to respect your religion, I cannot tell anyone my religion is true.

In summary the bible teaches religious tolerance in the sense that you respect the laws and your friends but it does not teach that you must accept that religion as equal to yours."

Bear in mind that this ans was in 1990s before the gay movement came in where tolerance for gays can sometimes not only mean accepting them as fellow human beings but lately in America , accepting that as equal to mainstream lifestyle and revamping education materials to show tolerance.

In the bible, idols were only cast down in Israel but Israel is special. It is like a nation church. The apostles never cast idols in Rome or other countries. They stood firm for their faith but they never go round smashing idols to preach.

Long text but my two cents.