Hemorrhoids - piles treatment

Fishy

My aunt, in her fifties, suffers from painful piles / hemorrhoids. I did a search, it can arise because of old age so not surprising she is suffering it now. She went to a specialist last week and told me that she has 1 internal and 1 external. Doctor advised surgery, which requires GA and 1 day hospital stay but it could take 2 weeks to recover. She is horrified at the prospect of surgery. I wished she could go for the surgery as she had been tormented by piles regularly this year but unable to convince her.

Apart from surgery, does TCM help? Anyone here been for the surgery before? Is she able to walk after the surgery?

长痛不如短痛!

The surgery is definitely worth it. Half a day in hospital until the anesthetic over and you can go home.

2 weeks no solid and spicy food, eat lots of papaya/banana and soft diet. Get a few round swimming float to go around when you sit.

Depends on your tolerance level, my colleague went back to work the next day [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

she said cannot.

the doctor said only the internal pile can staple, external cannot.

that is true... if not seek 2nd opinion lor.

I heard TCM they will burn the piles.... not sure how true.

that is true... if not seek 2nd opinion lor.

I heard TCM they will burn the piles.... not sure how true.

I think my auny is reluctant to go under e knife especially given her age. burn e piles seems like a less painful idea for her. let me go google

长痛不如短痛!

The surgery is definitely worth it. Half a day in hospital until the anesthetic over and you can go home.

2 weeks no solid and spicy food, eat lots of papaya/banana and soft diet. Get a few round swimming float to go around when you sit.

Depends on your tolerance level, my colleague went back to work the next day [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

one of my relatives did it.

I think she almost fainted when she tried to BO the first few times cos of the pain.

she said cannot.

the doctor said only the internal pile can staple, external cannot.

I would think staple is more painful than the external surgery which probably heal in lesser time.

Actually its just an external surgery.

I will go for the surgery anytime.

But then again, its an old lady.

apparently there are side effects and patients can suffer a relapse.

side effects include loss of ability to control bowels and fart. Thats what I saw online but I havent told her this. should I?

apparently there are side effects and patients can suffer a relapse.

side effects include loss of ability to control bowels and fart. Thats what I saw online but I havent told her this. should I?

Just watch her diet and dun stay in the toilet for too long, change the habit the relapse will be less likely.

Control of bowel is more due to aging but not from the surgery.

TS, take a look at how the treatment of haemorrhoids is done at SGH.

https://www.sgh.com.sg/Patient-Services/conditionsandtreatment/Pages/Hemorrhoids(Piles).aspx

I did my Haemorrhoidectomy (Surgical procedure) at SGH many years back. my surgery was performed in the conventional manner under general anaesthesia. when the anaesthetic subsided, the pains was unbearable for me as there was a raw wound. 2 days after I was discharged, I had a severe bleeding and complication, whereby I had to undergo another surgery. I was give one month medical leave following the operation.

Edited by Civic2000

NTUC sell Psyllium husk. This is very high in fibre with no side effects.

Three teaspoons a day in a mug of water and plenty of water intake throughout the day may well help any pain with the piles she has.

In fact it may help so much surgery not required.

Long term then Sultana Bran cerial from Sheng Shiong is great.

I eat now daily because I love the taste.

长痛不如短痛!

i kena 2 times!

First time done in Sgh. Pain like crazy.

2nd time, at MEH, no pain at all. Think doctor put time released pain killer for 2 weeks. Got such thing Bo? No need take pill.