Solar Turbocharged November 5, 2017 Author Share November 5, 2017 Bro, your kids will be happier if you please your wife She'll tell me to go away ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cook123 Supercharged November 5, 2017 Share November 5, 2017 Depends on who’s more domineering and who says things which makes more sense If don’t listen to wife and she’s the domineering type, the u will have chaos at home and how can the kids study in such environment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nuttyprofessor 3rd Gear November 5, 2017 Share November 5, 2017 By GEPthrowaway To this day I still have no idea how I got in. I was never an exceptional student. I had gotten into a 'branded' school because I live extremely close to one but I had always gotten slightly above for everything, except Math which was the only subject I was good in. I had a discipline record, having fought someone in P2 (f***er wouldn't stop annoying me).I didn't get a CCA until Secondary School, because no one chased me. I had won no awards, acomplished nothing, I was just an ordinary boy. When the initial sense of happiness wore-off, I thought about the hundreds of more deserving students whose place I had taken. The next 3 years were absolutely shit. Being in a different league all together with my class mates, I consistently got last in class. I couldn't even get a 75 for math whereas everybody else got 90s without even trying. In the GEP, you were required to take an extra subject, Social Studies, which was examinable, and get at least 70% to be promoted to the next year. Being 10, 5 subjects was ALOT. In addition to that, there were numerous other projects. I really tried my hardest, but I was stressed out of my f***ing mine trying to keep pace. Frankly, they were complete and utter wastes of time. I'm no saying they weren't interesting, but I learnt skills that will never help me get a job, never help me buy a house or car, never help me in life. i remember in P6, 2 months before Prelims, when the mainstream classes were doing revision papers and stuff that would help me pass we started advertising in English. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 6, 2017 Author Share November 6, 2017 (edited) By GEPthrowaway To this day I still have no idea how I got in. I was never an exceptional student. I had gotten into a 'branded' school because I live extremely close to one but I had always gotten slightly above for everything, except Math which was the only subject I was good in. I had a discipline record, having fought someone in P2 (f***er wouldn't stop annoying me).I didn't get a CCA until Secondary School, because no one chased me. I had won no awards, acomplished nothing, I was just an ordinary boy. When the initial sense of happiness wore-off, I thought about the hundreds of more deserving students whose place I had taken. The next 3 years were absolutely shit. Being in a different league all together with my class mates, I consistently got last in class. I couldn't even get a 75 for math whereas everybody else got 90s without even trying. In the GEP, you were required to take an extra subject, Social Studies, which was examinable, and get at least 70% to be promoted to the next year. Being 10, 5 subjects was ALOT. In addition to that, there were numerous other projects. I really tried my hardest, but I was stressed out of my f***ing mine trying to keep pace. Frankly, they were complete and utter wastes of time. I'm no saying they weren't interesting, but I learnt skills that will never help me get a job, never help me buy a house or car, never help me in life. i remember in P6, 2 months before Prelims, when the mainstream classes were doing revision papers and stuff that would help me pass we started advertising in English. Weird.. . "I had no idea what 95% of the questions were asking, so I filled in the OAS randomly and hoped for the best. I did this for all the tests, which were if I remember correctly, English, Chinese, Math and a General Paper." Either this is a bluff article or he probably got too lucky with his tikam tikam. Maybe that was why he suffered in there? My boy knew what he was doing in the GEP tests and the questions asked. Edited November 7, 2017 by pChou 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Author Share November 7, 2017 (edited) Weird.. . "I had no idea what 95% of the questions were asking, so I filled in the OAS randomly and hoped for the best. I did this for all the tests, which were if I remember correctly, English, Chinese, Math and a General Paper." Either this is a bluff article or he probably got too lucky with his tikam tikam. Maybe that was why he suffered in there? My boy knew what he was doing in the GEP tests and the questions asked. Seems like the anonymous author gave me dislikes Edited November 7, 2017 by Solar 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
korosensei 2nd Gear November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 (edited) Weird.. . "I had no idea what 95% of the questions were asking, so I filled in the OAS randomly and hoped for the best. I did this for all the tests, which were if I remember correctly, English, Chinese, Math and a General Paper." Either this is a bluff article or he probably got too lucky with his tikam tikam. Maybe that was why he suffered in there? My boy knew what he was doing in the GEP tests and the questions asked. I believe this is a bluff article. There is no chinese in the GEP selection test. Also the workload of the social studies is not more than the rest, its a bit like history. My son quite enjoy it I think the author is trying to discourage others to take up GEP, maybe jelly. In addition, I think MOE stated that "training" and "tuition" cannot get a child into GEP. I believe it is also difficult unless the child is already in the borderline case, ie smart enough to just qualified for GEP. but then they might struggle a bit in GEP, as it requires the child to be mentally flexible and self motivated to learn. Edited November 7, 2017 by korosensei 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Author Share November 7, 2017 I believe this is a bluff article. There is no chinese in the GEP selection test. Also the workload of the social studies is not more than the rest, its a bit like history. My son quite enjoy it I think the author is trying to discourage others to take up GEP, maybe jelly. In addition, I think MOE stated that "training" and "tuition" cannot get a child into GEP. I believe it is also difficult unless the child is already in the borderline case, ie smart enough to just qualified for GEP. but then they might struggle a bit in GEP, as it requires the child to be mentally flexible and self motivated to learn. Exactly. What's the odds at getting the correct answers for all the papers by filling them randomly, and get into GEP? I've known people prep their kids for GEP and gotten in.. so training route is possible. Just go do a search at those parenting forums. But for what, and at what costs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Exactly. What's the odds at getting the correct answers for all the papers by filling them randomly, and get into GEP? I've known people prep their kids for GEP and gotten in.. so training route is possible. Just go do a search at those parenting forums. But for what, and at what costs? Couple of reasons: DSA into atas school; bragging rights; need to live vicariously through their children; cannot lose face to brother, sister, aunty, granny, friends etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Couple of reasons: DSA into atas school; bragging rights; need to live vicariously through their children; cannot lose face to brother, sister, aunty, granny, friends etc. guess that’s about summed it up for gep in primary schools. without a separate educational path for these gifted students all the way to tertiary levels, you really have to wonder what is the objective of a 3 year course from age 10 to 12 flame suit on... just in case i get blasted as a jealous parent 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 guess thatâs about summed it up for gep in primary schools. without a separate educational path for these gifted students all the way to tertiary levels, you really have to wonder what is the objective of a 3 year course from age 10 to 12 flame suit on... just in case i get blasted as a jealous parent ð¬ð Peasant intelligence is HDB. GEP is condo. Atas ang mo chu is Exceptionally Gifted Children Programme. That one got path. https://www.moe.gov.sg/faq/education/gifted-education-programme/exceptionally-gifted-children And since condos are so prevalent, they are now the new HDBs, so gep is path to nowhere lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Author Share November 7, 2017 guess thatâs about summed it up for gep in primary schools. without a separate educational path for these gifted students all the way to tertiary levels, you really have to wonder what is the objective of a 3 year course from age 10 to 12 flame suit on... just in case i get blasted as a jealous parent ð¬ð Agree with u.It stops at PSLE and everyone is at the same level again. One may argue IB, but non GEP kids get to attend as well. Unless they meant the kids that get on becomes gifted? And it doesn't prep for upcoming secondary work. IMO.. It's either they go all the way and develop these kids to uni and breed the cream of the crop, or stop creating this unnecessary segregation of no purpose other than some ego stroking way at the expense of the kids, especially those made to qualify artificially. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 7, 2017 Author Share November 7, 2017 Peasant intelligence is HDB. GEP is condo. Atas ang mo chu is Exceptionally Gifted Children Programme. That one got path. https://www.moe.gov.sg/faq/education/gifted-education-programme/exceptionally-gifted-children And since condos are so prevalent, they are now the new HDBs, so gep is path to nowhere lor. Out of 100,000.. now u shared this out, kiasu parents now got a new target for their kids leow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelee2507 3rd Gear November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 in my time, there were only 3 GEP sec schools. RI, ACS and RGS. It then got a little ridiculous, because other schools were not happy. Because frankly, how many gifted kids do you think there are? What really is defined as gifted? Gifted has iq in the range of 130 and above. my son has been tested at age 5 to be gifted and accepted in Mensa, he will begin his primary 1 next year in a neighbourhood school. We did asked around on the GEP and felt in singapore, context very academic..... in oversea, which i read up, once the kid has been tested to be gifted, they will be enrolled into a gifted school where they will be taught differently a gifted kid also has many issues different from a normal kid. easily excited, easily emo , overly worried things etc etc. a special trained teacher is impt. Just to share My Son got in nyps after passing his Gep test in 2014. Yeah, spent 30kpa on tuition fees and prep courses for my children, damn ex. Only 2 in his whole school passed the gep part 2. The other child went to taonan At first he felt stressed. Cos in his old school every yr he would be TOP 5 or so and without much effort like that When he went into nyps gep class every one seem expert. A few of his class mates parents are Doctors and Lawyers and one of his classmates is a senior minister Son The lessons are also not the same as before. Lots of projects and presentations. so do you think you son is naturally gifted or trained / prep to be gifted? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelee2507 3rd Gear November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 I believe this is a bluff article. There is no chinese in the GEP selection test. Also the workload of the social studies is not more than the rest, its a bit like history. My son quite enjoy it I think the author is trying to discourage others to take up GEP, maybe jelly. In addition, I think MOE stated that "training" and "tuition" cannot get a child into GEP. I believe it is also difficult unless the child is already in the borderline case, ie smart enough to just qualified for GEP. but then they might struggle a bit in GEP, as it requires the child to be mentally flexible and self motivated to learn. its in the news recently, it can be drilled. Learning lab will prequalify the students. those high acheiver for them will be drilled. there is pre qualify test or something for learning lab i think. so if a normal IQ is between 80 to 100, and if you are high achiever at say iq 120, u r not classify as gifted , but you can still be drilled to pass the test and get into GEP. whether you can do well anot later, that depends........ Agree with u. It stops at PSLE and everyone is at the same level again. One may argue IB, but non GEP kids get to attend as well. Unless they meant the kids that get on becomes gifted? And it doesn't prep for upcoming secondary work. IMO.. It's either they go all the way and develop these kids to uni and breed the cream of the crop, or stop creating this unnecessary segregation of no purpose other than some ego stroking way at the expense of the kids, especially those made to qualify artificially. Ultimately for a kid to succeed, beside being gifted which is in born, true grit , motivation, compassion and EQ are other skills which are essential in life. these need to be taught from everyday life and not from textbook. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Gifted has iq in the range of 130 and above. my son has been tested at age 5 to be gifted and accepted in Mensa, he will begin his primary 1 next year in a neighbourhood school. We did asked around on the GEP and felt in singapore, context very academic..... in oversea, which i read up, once the kid has been tested to be gifted, they will be enrolled into a gifted school where they will be taught differently a gifted kid also has many issues different from a normal kid. easily excited, easily emo , overly worried things etc etc. a special trained teacher is impt. so do you think you son is naturally gifted or trained / prep to be gifted? Go attend the mensa meetings. After talking to them, you will find out that "gifted" is not gifted after all 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelee2507 3rd Gear November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 Go attend the mensa meetings. After talking to them, you will find out that "gifted" is not gifted after all ya just enroled. just wanted to find out more and see how to help my son. :) me n my wife are no gifted anyway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 ya just enroled. just wanted to find out more and see how to help my son. :) me n my wife are no gifted anyway How old is your son? They have limited activities for young children la. I would say it is a waste of time and the membership fee so just sign on 1 year for the bragging rights only Even for adults, it is mostly just a monthly board game session, a monthly drinking session and a monthly kopi session. Anyway, average IQ is 100 under most tests but whether 130 is "gifted" or not depends on which IQ test you are taking. Different tests have different standard deviations. Under a test with a s.d. of 15, 130 is 2 s.d. above the mean so you will be classified as being in the top 2%. But if the test has a higher s.d. (i've heard some can be up to 24), then 130 is only top 10%. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joelee2507 3rd Gear November 7, 2017 Share November 7, 2017 How old is your son? They have limited activities for young children la. I would say it is a waste of time and the membership fee so just sign on 1 year for the bragging rights only Even for adults, it is mostly just a monthly board game session, a monthly drinking session and a monthly kopi session. Anyway, average IQ is 100 under most tests but whether 130 is "gifted" or not depends on which IQ test you are taking. Different tests have different standard deviations. Under a test with a s.d. of 15, 130 is 2 s.d. above the mean so you will be classified as being in the top 2%. But if the test has a higher s.d. (i've heard some can be up to 24), then 130 is only top 10%. Alamak,... waste time then. Wanted to see what activities for him to attend..... thanks for the info tested using The standford - Binet Intelligence scale. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...