Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 Rosyth.....welcome to Alujunied GRC / Serangoon Ward. :) Anyway, I just enrolled my elder kid for the nov/dec 2014 holdiday sttudent care + mon-fri student care from nexy year primary 2 onwards. The centre is Pro Teach. Heard they have a branch within the school itself. Congrats bro, a load off your shoulders finally I rate Pro Teach highly....of the course, hope your kid get the right student care teacher ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 Congrats bro, a load off your shoulders finally I rate Pro Teach highly....of the course, hope your kid get the right student care teacher Thanks , some money really cannot save. Hopefully also means less stress from playing catch up during weekends . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 Thanks , some money really cannot save. Hopefully also means less stress from playing catch up during weekends . It will help cos they will ensure the homework or most of it are completed by the time you pick up your kid. They run interesting holiday programs as well btw. But hor, thanks to our edu sys, the onus is on us parents to help our kids understand and revise on what they are taught in class. Parenting at this stage is so shiok man ..... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 It will help cos they will ensure the homework or most of it are completed by the time you pick up your kid. They run interesting holiday programs as well btw. But hor, thanks to our edu sys, the onus is on us parents to help our kids understand and revise on what they are taught in class. Parenting at this stage is so shiok man ..... Yep i oso sign for the nov dec hol program...else evertime school hol, take leave take leave...work pile up...sigh. they say if sch work finish they will give tuition papers, then 530 onwards free easy, eatch tv..etc. yea, parenting these days can bring 1 to the edge of sanity... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 GEP kid no need to compete with MS kids for secondary school. They get in via DSA to HC, RI,ACS, NUS high, etc. MS kid can applt DSA too but different ( can't tell too much). GEP involved with community program alot more than MS, they are more connected socially than MS kid. One important thing about GEP is allow your child to mix with the best and make friend for life that can help him to be successful. True, its the circle. Also will b earmarked for a great positions... but dunno how the stress is like. But i think j888's initial suggestion is also viable... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 If $ not concern,should send kids to IB instead of our local system I seen the differences how the students learn before from these 2 systems Overall i feel IB will be better..in term of overall development etc 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 (edited) Anyways, it's just primary school... The extra knowledge and skills taught in the GEP will eventually be learnt even by other mainstream kids, albeit at an older age.Success in life or career is a totally different ballgame. Read in sunday times today abt a software engr from india, arriving jobless 14 yr ago, started 2k per month in small software company, now part-owner in the company and millionaire. I recall abt 14 yr ago I started working life in a brand name company, MNC, thanks to good paper certs, but today barely risen above level of 'footsoldier' So, yes, scholarly capability and intellect is good for personal development, but that's about it. Edited November 2, 2014 by Sosaria 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 25 year ago, my brother hit gep jackpot Go acs, then ri, NTU bio mech He tell me everything so easy No need study Really is genius if your brother studied hard, he could end up with a scholarship with Oxford or Stanford Liao.. think u misread. Gift program is top 1%. Mensa top 2% nia. So the gifted chaps are smrter than 1/2 of mensa. Lol just curious. Is ah loong or any of the minister. From gifted program ? gep is top 1% simply bec they took the 1% of all the primary 3 students test score.. And that's provided these P3 student are relatively proficient in their English to understand what the questions are talking about. Mensa can join as long as your IQ is top 2 % of population.. Got some score one.. Think it's 120 & above Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 if your brother studied hard, he could end up with a scholarship with Oxford or Stanford Liao.. gep is top 1% simply bec they took the 1% of all the primary 3 students test score.. And that's provided these P3 student are relatively proficient in their English to understand what the questions are talking about. Mensa can join as long as your IQ is top 2 % of population.. Got some score one.. Think it's 120 & above mensa test go.by percentile. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 mensa test go.by percentile.yes you are right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 2, 2014 Share November 2, 2014 The GEP schools are also the brand-name ones... Majority of students come from high income households where there's maid and mum is tai-tai. Tai-tai don't need to work and free to send the child here and there even during working hours. I really find that some of their activities scheduled do not take into account working parents' timings. And no transport arranged. My dad was a really poor guy My mum was housewife I cannot exactly remember but my bro had to stay in school throughout the weekdays I think Something like boarding school? Where got money to transport him around? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondaes8 2nd Gear November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 Hello folks.. Don't know if its good news or something more siong ahead... my kid actually got selected into GEP.. We never prepared him for this at all... we didn't even know he gone for Round 1 until he told us he needed to take Round 2 in another school. Any feedback/recommendations if this is actually beneficial for a kid? If it does, which are the recommended schools in NE area? Catholic High... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 my gep maths teacher look like alyssa milano. my gep chinese teacher has c cup :) Proof yet again that life is not always fair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged November 3, 2014 Author Share November 3, 2014 Donno got tuition grant or transport grant for poor guy's kid who hit gep jackpot Poor guy may be living in ulu marsiling and really needs money to transport the kid to the nearest gep school this one quite true... from around 15 minutes travel now, it's going to be around 30 minutes in peak hour traffic...nearest school. next nearest one in catholic high.. even more shiok.. around 1 hour now i understand why certain parents relocate for their kids... go lah.. my gep maths teacher look like alyssa milano. my gep chinese teacher has c cup :) how can u deprive your child?? no leh... last time my geography teacher then didn't look like any celeb, but always got longkang to see one 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 this one quite true... from around 15 minutes travel now, it's going to be around 30 minutes in peak hour traffic...nearest school. next nearest one in catholic high.. even more shiok.. around 1 hour now i understand why certain parents relocate for their kids... no leh... last time my geography teacher then didn't look like any celeb, but always got longkang to see one take school bus but they might have to wake up even earlier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheepo 3rd Gear November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 If $ not concern,should send kids to IB instead of our local system I seen the differences how the students learn before from these 2 systems Overall i feel IB will be better..in term of overall development etc For IB programme, you can also go to either SJI or ACS(I). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheepo 3rd Gear November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 GEP kid no need to compete with MS kids for secondary school. They get in via DSA to HC, RI,ACS, NUS high, etc. MS kid can applt DSA too but different ( can't tell too much). GEP involved with community program alot more than MS, they are more connected socially than MS kid. One important thing about GEP is allow your child to mix with the best and make friend for life that can help him to be successful. Correct. At P6, GEP kids automatically qualify for DSA to secondary schools simply because they are in GEP. But because of supply and demand, the top secondary schools will take in the best of the best. So they will look at the P6 Prelim results, eg. Raffles Institution and RGS. For RI, it's best to make sure your prelim grades are all above 80% to be safe. NUS High is slightly different from the rest. They put you through a camp and a test to select those they think will do well into the research / postgrad levels. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 3, 2014 Share November 3, 2014 Correct. At P6, GEP kids automatically qualify for DSA to secondary schools simply because they are in GEP. But because of supply and demand, the top secondary schools will take in the best of the best. So they will look at the P6 Prelim results, eg. Raffles Institution and RGS. For RI, it's best to make sure your prelim grades are all above 80% to be safe. NUS High is slightly different from the rest. They put you through a camp and a test to select those they think will do well into the research / postgrad levels. for RI usually need at least 2A2A* about 260 to be safe. even for gifted program DSA, i think you should target at least average 85% each bah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...