Gifted Education Programme

Solar

think u misread.

Gift program is top 1%. Mensa top 2% nia.

So the gifted chaps are smrter than 1/2 of mensa. Lol

just curious. Is ah loong or any of the minister. From gifted program ?

Yes...... "kee chiew" .... [lipsrsealed]

You & me 'kee chiew' boh parkai ...... [:p]

TS, there's good and bad about it... and this is from own experience.

If your child is truly gifted, then would surely benefit from GEP as the curriculum will really stretch them.

Another benefit is that your child will be able to mix with peers of the same interests and maturity level (gifted kids are often more mature for their age, and have tendency to love/pursue interests that would 'bore' or be a chore to other normal kids, e.g. music)

Really gifted kids in normal school curriculum will quickly be bored with the conventional pace, or unable to mix with their more normal peers - and this is recipe for trouble from an early age.

Now for the bad part, the gifted workload is typically very high, and sometimes the school even requires parents' commitment to support the work. There are many, many activities beyond the syllabus, and in fact, they only concentrate on PSLE stuff in P6. The kid must have a lot of self-discipline and motivation.

Mixing around with gifted kids and constantly being seen as 'special' may also lead to some children to develop quite a level of conceit - hey, their parents are not gifted - so this too is something that parents need to handle.

Having said that, GEP is not a ticket to successful high-level, high-paying job. I think many would agree that ex-GEP kids eventually lead perfectly ordinary careers, no different from others.

Edited by Sosaria

I believe and hope Kharma also goes along with the GEP/Mensa. Neightbour said GEP stressful for her daughter.

I find it utterly distasteful that a mature adult human (I am assuming that you are at least one of them) to even suggest karma for children because of their academic inclination.

think u misread.

Well i don't really feel all of them are MENSA level. Haha... [lipsrsealed]

Another benefit is that your child will be able to mix with peers of the same interests and maturity level (gifted kids are often more mature for their age, and have tendency to love/pursue interests that would 'bore' or be a chore to other normal kids, e.g. music)

erm mature. Not really lah. They are not mature. They just have interest in things that extend beyond the spectrum of a normal child.

They are as childish and immature as any other child. lol.

Hello folks..

Don't know if its good news or something more siong ahead... my kid actually got selected into GEP..

We never prepared him for this at all... we didn't even know he gone for Round 1 until he told us he needed to take Round 2 in another school.

Any feedback/recommendations if this is actually beneficial for a kid?

If it does, which are the recommended schools in NE area?

well done, the fact that your kid didn't prepare for it very likely means he's naturally gifted.

the good thing is your kid can still slack for psle (230ish) and still get to the sec school of his choice through direct admission.

(i read up a bit as my kids sat for round 2 test but didn't make the cut. Didn't do any preps neither)

a note to kiasu parents: my younger bro teaches GEP classes and the saddest thing he sees are those whose parents prepare them intensively for GEP tests, made it through effort and not natural talent, only to see out the most miserable final 3 years of primary school as they struggle DAILY, while the natural ones breeze through.

Gifted program takes the top 1% of the cohort vs Mensa which takes it the top 2% of the population.

it is more difficult to get into the gifted program vs Mensa.

so can we say that all the Gifted program participants are geniuses but not all mensa geniuses are gifted? lol

Err bro......I think there is a big difference in the brainpower needed when trying to be top 1% among kids of a certain age, and trying to be the top 2% of the entire population of all ages.

The percentages itself is not an apple to apple comparison.

Well, the GEP is only from P4 to P6 nowadays.

Once they reach Sec school, they are no longer in GEP.

So if they can qualify, let them benefit from the special training they get during P4 to P6.

ya.. got the letter today.. i've not seen it yet cos i'm in office.. but wifey let him call my phone and break the news

now not sure... he's like the bochap kind.. actually need to remind him this/that. one thing, he do love to read.

another issue is his sibling.. dunno if the new school takes a transfer... and dunno if my other kid can adapt..

thanks bro...

dunno.. i think henry park is another one.

ai tong is quite far away.. we're in sengkang/punggol area..

Solar, bochap is fine because the test identified certain innate strengths in his mind. No need to panic. No need to worry whether he can cope. The GEP teachers are all well aware of the many different types of kids who make it to the programme and are actually more accommodating to the wierdness in many of them. With regards to selecting a school, you might want to consider if you prefer him to go to one that has a feeder secondary school. Logistics nightmare for 3 years if necessary, then from Sec 1 onwards he can take care of his own travelling. : )

Well, the GEP is only from P4 to P6 nowadays.

Once they reach Sec school, they are no longer in GEP.

So if they can qualify, let them benefit from the special training they get during P4 to P6.

Officially no more GEP but certain schools still secretly or not so secretly group the GEP kids into the same class. : )

oh yah, I did hear of that. lol.

My brother after hit gep jackpot go to acs primary school or something like that

He told me what difficult

Everything is damm easy

I read his stuff, Donno anything

Too chim Liao

Then I went back to reading my 龙虎报 [grin]

Solar, bochap is fine because the test identified certain innate strengths in his mind. No need to panic. No need to worry whether he can cope. The GEP teachers are all well aware of the many different types of kids who make it to the programme and are actually more accommodating to the wierdness in many of them. With regards to selecting a school, you might want to consider if you prefer him to go to one that has a feeder secondary school. Logistics nightmare for 3 years if necessary, then from Sec 1 onwards he can take care of his own travelling. : )

Quite true about GEP Classes and their teachers.

Went to one of their classes, quite different from my own (in Sec school)

Donno got tuition grant or transport grant for poor guy's kid who hit gep jackpot

Poor guy may be living in ulu marsiling and really needs money to transport the kid to the nearest gep school

Last Saturday Straits Times have a GEP section.

There is a Grace Quek who used to be from GEP programme, and later gets into elite schools for further education. Turn out that Grace Quek is actually Annabelle Chong, the Singapore most famous porn star. Amazing what these people are thinking, and they are beyond me.

Donno got tuition grant or transport grant for poor guy's kid who hit gep jackpot

Poor guy may be living in ulu marsiling and really needs money to transport the kid to the nearest gep school

The GEP schools are also the brand-name ones... Majority of students come from high income households where there's maid and mum is tai-tai. Tai-tai don't need to work and free to send the child here and there even during working hours.

I really find that some of their activities scheduled do not take into account working parents' timings. And no transport arranged.

GEP, go for it ...

Can postpone NS again & again & again until more 12 years till graduate with Master ........ [lipsrsealed]

get scholarship and proceed with Doctorate Degree by then too old for NS.... got someone did it ... :ph34r:

Sure or not ah bro... like that also can? I need to support him till I 70yr old is it...

Read the information package... inside got some explanation this is about, indeed theexpectation is so much higher and frankly speaking from my on-the-street kind of brain's pov, amazing a 10yr old can do these?

Then there is this form.. both parent AND child need to sign to agree to join... machiam like sign 生死状..

think u misread.

My boy did tell me there were a number of IQ like questions.

I read somewhere lky kids studied in Nanyang primary.

This is one of the GEP schools listed in the selections though I don't think they had GEP then.

Even my time didn't have it.. but of course, doesn't matter cos I'm quite jialat in my academics.