How many of us have parents like this?

Jiayong

If won't kill then what risk ?

Broke their legs, girl disfigured etc.

Yes, I believe as parents, you must allow your kids to fall, within controllable limits.

If they don't learn to fall, they will never learn to get up.

And you can't be by their side forever.

Yes, but to what degree, differ from parents to parents.

Ever saw ang mo having Chinese la mian at crystal jade. The toddler is there pulling noodle all around and the parents just left him alone. I don't think I can stomach this.

My son fell also, and ended up 5 days MC for school and many visits to the sinseh. [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

Mine too, but lucky he smashed into a tree. Bruised ego was the end result for him, but its ok lah, he learnt to cycle in a single day. Good job.

Once, I was on a plane and this was exactly what an Aussie mother did when her toddler fell on the aisle.

She told the toddler to be a man and pick himself up.

I would imagine a completely different reaction from an Asian parent.

Two recent cases to think about:

Parent complaining to Mindef for not providing transport to send a recruit home when he was on Attend "C".

A recruit wrote to the Forum on Straits Times asking public transport passengers to give up their seats for recruits.

wrong.. i told my child the same thing...

Ever saw ang mo having Chinese la mian at crystal jade. The toddler is there pulling noodle all around and the parents just left him alone. I don't think I can stomach this.

then how can your child learn to feed himself?

Other than learning to eat, they also need to learn table manners and respect to others. Cannot feed oneself then starve, simple as that. Natural instincts will kick in, and they will learn.

You're right. I wouldn't tell the toddler to be man. It's got nothing to do with being a man. Just let him know that there's nothing special about a small fall, pick yourself up and move on. That's it.

please lah

using hands, playing with utensils, messy tables, soiled clothes, experimenting with food etc are part and parcel of a toddler's process of learning to feed himself

Please do that at home. Not at an inconvenience of other people.

how is a toddler sitting on a baby high chair doing that inconveniencing others?

so toddlers are not supposed to eat out?

Watched this video and was super inspired to be a good parent for my kids...

but then thinking again, asian culture like always want to be safe and don't want pple to fail.

How many of us have parents like this?

http://edumatters.sg/all-parents-you-have-to-take-2-mins-to-watch-this/

i'm such parents, so does my parents. i let my children try things out themselves. it's true that not many can do that, just like some people will be surprised at me when my child fell down and i just stand there and ask them to stand up themselves. you can observed many parents will quickly rushed to their children even for a small trip. certain protection is good enough, got to expose them well. let them be independent but still maintain that close relationship with them. same like in school, i will just let the teachers know that they can just scold or punish my children if they are wrong, need not explain to me much and the teachers will have my full support on it. come back home they will get round 2 from me. but too bad, teachers are too stress up by demanding parents, whether parents is right or wrong. many times parents over reacted to small matters and setting the wrong mindset for their children.

if my parents method works for me, i don't see why i need to change it, unless it is changes to suit modern environment but the basic principles should still be there. sadly many younger generation are not bought up in such ways anymore. lack of fire in them or give up easily, some even lazy to attempt. worst is the lack of respect. basic courtesy like saying thank you is rare now. you can even see children being rude to their parents out in the shopping centres and such incidents are good examples for me to teach my children.

i believe if a child is bought up well in term of behaviour and attitude and not bring up with the main focus on academic results only, which is very common now, all things will fall into place and work out well. just my view on being a parent.

i'm such parents, so does my parents. i let my children try things out themselves. it's true that not many can do that, just like some people will be surprised at me when my child fell down and i just stand there and ask them to stand up themselves. you can observed many parents will quickly rushed to their children even for a small trip. certain protection is good enough, got to expose them well. let them be independent but still maintain that close relationship with them. same like in school, i will just let the teachers know that they can just scold or punish my children if they are wrong, need not explain to me much and the teachers will have my full support on it. come back home they will get round 2 from me. but too bad, teachers are too stress up by demanding parents, whether parents is right or wrong. many times parents over reacted to small matters and setting the wrong mindset for their children.

if my parents method works for me, i don't see why i need to change it, unless it is changes to suit modern environment but the basic principles should still be there. sadly many younger generation are not bought up in such ways anymore. lack of fire in them or give up easily, some even lazy to attempt. worst is the lack of respect. basic courtesy like saying thank you is rare now. you can even see children being rude to their parents out in the shopping centres and such incidents are good examples for me to teach my children.

i believe if a child is bought up well in term of behaviour and attitude and not bring up with the main focus on academic results only, which is very common now, all things will fall into place and work out well. just my view on being a parent.

Actually there is no need to get too extreme when teaching our children. Look, you all almost quarreled when opposing views were shared. Ang mo raise good children, Asian parents also raise good children, it is more of the parents commitment than anything.

Modern intepretations:-

治国 ---- fix the nation

平天下 --- flatten the place

maybe today's kids will do just that when the grow up and grab the power [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

fix e nation = join gang

flatten e place = whack u til u drop

Mine too, but lucky he smashed into a tree. Bruised ego was the end result for him, but its ok lah, he learnt to cycle in a single day. Good job.

My son went into the longkang when he tried to avoid a pedestrian [sweatdrop]

Erm. Everyone trying to out alpha each other by treating their kids like Spartans.

Many psychopaths and serial killers are also brought up in a similar manner.

Angmoh raise up good and bad kids

Asians also raise up good and bad kids.

Imo, your kids may not take your lessons to heart. But it's the way u behave and treat others including them that they will learn from.

This bs about passing judgement on another parent from a one off thing is just bs.

The only ability I want to teach my child is the ability to think for him or herself.

Whether I'm a good role model or not is inmaterial cos you cannot hide your personality or flaws from your kid or your wife.

Concentrate on self reflection to improve your own personality or flaws. Cheers