Kusje Supersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 I just went for my company GP for Flu last week. 7 types of med. Big chain clinic. Carrot big time. Just informed by my accounts, bloody $175.00 for flu. My previous company had full reimbursement (with a yearly cap) and they also had a contract with Raffles Medical. Raffles Medical always charged extremely high (50-70 bucks for normal flu) and the best part is that they refuse to tell you how much it costs at the counter. They always claim we should check back with the company since the company is paying and they had instructions not to disclose anything. I checked with my HR and they said Raffles SHOULD inform me the price and no such instructions from them.... Anyway, the reason why we still visited Raffles is because there was a client right at our company block (semi-industrial area) and there would be no need for payment in advance then reimbursement by the company. Another reason is because the company came up with some stupid rule that said they'd only accept Raffles MC (+polyclinic/govt hospital...). Anyway, if I am ill, I would rather go to the polyclinic than let Raffle Medical earn.... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 I just went for my company GP for Flu last week. 7 types of med. Big chain clinic. Carrot big time. Just informed by my accounts, bloody $175.00 for flu. Probably prescribed Tamiflu or one of the branded antibiotics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 Your company should just do away with such a system. It's not the clinic making off with the money like most think. It's the agent who liais your company and the clinic who is earning the commission. Some companies practice giving their employees a lump sum per year as medical claims to cover such expenses. The sum can be quite generous. For a sick chicken I think also claim buay liao. The employers would rather benefit their employees than giving it away to third party agents. Actually - there might be no agent (this depends on how big the company is). Some companies deal direct (I know because I was the one who negotiated the contract). Probably prescribed Tamiflu or one of the branded antibiotics. Maybe. I mean, I don't think they dare to rip him off outright by charging him 170 bucks for some cheapo medicine but no telling if they overprescribed and gave him expensive meds with a larger profit margin that the generic meds. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 Actually - there might be no agent (this depends on how big the company is). Some companies deal direct (I know because I was the one who negotiated the contract). Maybe. I mean, I don't think they dare to rip him off outright by charging him 170 bucks for some cheapo medicine but no telling if they overprescribed and gave him expensive meds with a larger profit margin that the generic meds. I don't really deal with contracts. But the contract amount should be billed yearly and the company and the contract provider (either the chain itself or the managed healthcare provider dealing on behalf of the company) will sit down and discuss the numbers. If overcharging is so prevalent, then they can always terminate the contract. RMG is mostly a corporate clientele business. If they survived so long, there must be someplace where costs are also saved for the client's company bah. From my perspective. For the majority of the contract patients, the consultation fee is very low. It's just a volume game. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 My previous company had full reimbursement (with a yearly cap) and they also had a contract with Raffles Medical. Raffles Medical always charged extremely high (50-70 bucks for normal flu) and the best part is that they refuse to tell you how much it costs at the counter. They always claim we should check back with the company since the company is paying and they had instructions not to disclose anything. I checked with my HR and they said Raffles SHOULD inform me the price and no such instructions from them.... Anyway, the reason why we still visited Raffles is because there was a client right at our company block (semi-industrial area) and there would be no need for payment in advance then reimbursement by the company. Another reason is because the company came up with some stupid rule that said they'd only accept Raffles MC (+polyclinic/govt hospital...). Anyway, if I am ill, I would rather go to the polyclinic than let Raffle Medical earn.... same modus operandi - im with parkway shenton. at first I used card to register then aft see doc I rem I had burst the limit so told cashier I wil pay w cash. and the bill $125 for flu. questioned the bill and they replaced the antibiotics to a no brand one - final bill 70. and same, they wil never tell u the amount if you pay by medical card. last time pple say wan to b doc is to help the pple save lives. now ask again prob they wil say so can drive Ferrari. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 my family will usually go to 3 places if anyone fall sick 1. Family GP that cost $20-$25 including medicine. 2. Polyclinic if need x-ray, blood test or injury (sprain) that cost not more than $50. 3. NUH A&E if after hour or with referral. I can tell u your old timer GP owns the unit he's operating from. That answers everything. He doesn't pay rent. He already attributed the rent as a fixed expense that was paid off last time. Most old timers don't even charge that little nowadays. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 Child care centre is low risk and profitable business; highly profitable I don't know. But, for premium and branded child care, it's definitely highly profitable. Nowadays something happen to children parents Kpkb liao wor. Not so easy business. If premium one, better do a better job, if not 1 year dunno will recieve how many lawyer letters. With rising medical fees, Dr Google is now my doctor. Key in the symptom, the cause, treatment all there. For not serious case that is. WebMD is my one stop medical advise website. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 seems the medical profession now lost their heart... This sentence does not apply to our resident doctors in MCF and a few out there like TCB types. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 Lol the less u deal with modern parents, the better. Say these childcare business easy or what. Go do lor... Even teachers prefer to teach sec school or JC than be primary school teachers. All the teachers i know say this. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 (edited) http://yoursdp.org/publ/your_letter/exorbitant_fees_for_visiting_a_gp_at_new_hdb_estates/17-1-0-1471 Do people staying in new estates pay much more for seeing doctors for simple cough cold vomiting diarrhoea? Paying $71 dollars for a food poisoning episode seems high. In that case, better to travel a bit to older estates to see illnesses, unless really so sick then bo pian. Yes, I went to see for cough & flu, $50+ My toddler went to see for fever $70+ Back at my mum's place family doctor, still see the same ailments for $18! Younger GP need to earn more at a faster rate Edited February 9, 2015 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 seems the medical profession now lost their heart... This sentence does not apply to our resident doctors in MCF and a few out there like TCB types. That's a very sweeping statement. Like i said before, just imagine your average singaporean. Your doctor is no different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 yes, learn to self medicate for common illness. The medication given for common illnesses are very standard one. Take note of the medication names that GP give you, then next time when you have the same illness, just go to pharmacist and buy. just show IC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 yes, learn to self medicate for common illness. The medication given for common illnesses are very standard one. Take note of the medication names that GP give you, then next time when you have the same illness, just go to pharmacist and buy. just show IC. Prevention is better than cure. Leading a healthy lifestyle means less downtime due to common ailment. How many people in our office do that we know, who keep on falling sick, but lead unhealthy lifestyle (snacks, overeating, sugary drinks etc)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 That's a very sweeping statement. Like i said before, just imagine your average singaporean. Your doctor is no different. Actually I hope there are many good hearted ones out there but from my experience with my kid's medical condition last 2 years, I find all the private specialists I came in contact with, are all very knowledgeable to get big money from going around the system. After this eye opener, its all about money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 (edited) I don't really deal with contracts. But the contract amount should be billed yearly and the company and the contract provider (either the chain itself or the managed healthcare provider dealing on behalf of the company) will sit down and discuss the numbers. If overcharging is so prevalent, then they can always terminate the contract. RMG is mostly a corporate clientele business. If they survived so long, there must be someplace where costs are also saved for the client's company bah. From my perspective. For the majority of the contract patients, the consultation fee is very low. It's just a volume game. I think you put too much faith into the HR administrators of those MNCs. Contracts are usually negotiated by the procurement department but administered by the HR department. For RMG, they do not give the HR department an itemised bill - this means the HR department only receives the date, name of patient and the total billed amount (consultation, medicine, tests are all amalgamated). I don't know about most companies but I am 100% sure that there is no effort to reconcile the billed amount with the employee/patient. Remembering that the clinic refused to give me the billed amount when I was at the clinic, how can any company be sure they are not being overcharged whether through overmedication or "accidental billings"? Accidental bills would be like the one I received when I was at Raffles Hospital. The doctor initially prescribed 6 months worth of medical but I insisted I would try it for 3 weeks first before coming back if it was effective. I took home 3 weeks worth of medication but was the company was billed for 6 months worth. I found out because I was exceeded my yearly cap and the company wanted to deduct the money from my salary. The problem is, most employees will not bother to verify unless they exceed their cap (which is very seldom) and even when they do verify, they only do it for the larger sums. I would say that for most companies, there is no cost saved for the company. What is saved is that the HR department can do less work (because they have effectively outsourced a part of the administration to RMG). HR department saves a little work at high cost but the top management doesn't care because they have already budgeted this amount as "employee welfare" and their risk is limited due to the individual cap. Also, there are 2 types of contracts: One is what they call an "insurance" whereby the company pays a lumpsum for each employee and they are entitled to go to any doctor under a panel for an unlimited number of times in a year. For such a contract, the doctor usually prescribed cheap medicine because the insurance company will pressure them to limit their costs and they risk being kicked off the panel if they overcharge. This is usually billed on a yearly lump sum basis to the company based on their number of employees Another is based of reimbursement of actual billed amount (subject to a cap by the company). In such a case, the clinic will usually try to prescribe expensive medicine and charge for anything they can as long as the patient doesn't complain. (Usually people don't complain as it isn't their money). This will be billed on a monthly basis. Edited February 9, 2015 by Kusje 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 When they are green n just open a clinic, they are very kind but lack experience, when they gain the experience, some lack the care. Private clinic have seen bills 380 by cross selling. For influenza like illnesses, 140. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 Actually I hope there are many good hearted ones out there but from my experience with my kid's medical condition last 2 years, I find all the private specialists I came in contact with, are all very knowledgeable to get big money from going around the system. After this eye opener, its all about money. Like he said. Just like an average Singaporean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic February 9, 2015 Share February 9, 2015 I think you put too much faith into the HR administrators of those MNCs. Contracts are usually negotiated by the procurement department but administered by the HR department. For RMG, they do not give the HR department an itemised bill - this means the HR department only receives the date, name of patient and the total billed amount (consultation, medicine, tests are all amalgamated). I don't know about most companies but I am 100% sure that there is no effort to reconcile the billed amount with the employee/patient. Remembering that the clinic refused to give me the billed amount when I was at the clinic, how can any company be sure they are not being overcharged whether through overmedication or "accidental billings"? Accidental bills would be like the one I received when I was at Raffles Hospital. The doctor initially prescribed 6 months worth of medical but I insisted I would try it for 3 weeks first before coming back if it was effective. I took home 3 weeks worth of medication but was the company was billed for 6 months worth. I found out because I was exceeded my yearly cap and the company wanted to deduct the money from my salary. The problem is, most employees will not bother to verify unless they exceed their cap (which is very seldom) and even when they do verify, they only do it for the larger sums. I would say that for most companies, there is no cost saved for the company. What is saved is that the HR department can do less work (because they have effectively outsourced a part of the administration to RMG). HR department saves a little work at high cost but the top management doesn't care because they have already budgeted this amount as "employee welfare" and their risk is limited due to the individual cap. Also, there are 2 types of contracts: One is what they call an "insurance" whereby the company pays a lumpsum for each employee and they are entitled to go to any doctor under a panel for an unlimited number of times in a year. For such a contract, the doctor usually prescribed cheap medicine because the insurance company will pressure them to limit their costs and they risk being kicked off the panel if they overcharge. This is usually billed on a yearly lump sum basis to the company based on their number of employees Another is based of reimbursement of actual billed amount (subject to a cap by the company). In such a case, the clinic will usually try to prescribe expensive medicine and charge for anything they can as long as the patient doesn't complain. (Usually people don't complain as it isn't their money). This will be billed on a monthly basis. Most corporate claims must put down diagnosis and medications prescribed. If company not doing their own due dilligence, then it's their own pasar. At the high levels, it is a decent business for the managed healthcare providers or the big chains (only about 4 to maybe 5 are of that size to sign their own contracts for more than a few companies) At the lower end, the managed healthcare providers usually shortchange the individual clinics. So hence your 1st scenario. It's like outsourcing IT to another company. No different bah... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...