Retirement in Malaysia - how much RM a month for living?

You are the 70% ? ð³

I cannot reire in singapore because the coe will end and you need to renew coe and it will take a large % of retirement income.

Over there i paid for the car and can use as long as the car is good.

I am a normal worker in spore.

I cannot reire in singapore because the coe will end and you need to renew coe and it will take a large % of retirement income.

Over there i paid for the car and can use as long as the car is good.

I am a normal worker in spore.

Walau eh, I asking whether you voted for papaya lah...

Msia definitely more affordable and reasonable cost of living ... question is which town is better ?

If you need to be back often johore is the choice. If you want cheaper and quieter living there are many smaller town further up.

Melaka kl ipoh penang or cooler gentng cameron fraser hill... ? It depends on yr retirement needs.

In spore election is a show. Pap will rule because theres no chance for opposition to grow.

If everybody thinks like you den Xiao Liao lor.... We all can make a difference lah.....

Just be patient.... Hopefully another GRC up lorry....

If everybody thinks like you den Xiao Liao lor.... We all can make a difference lah.....

Just be patient.... Hopefully another GRC up lorry....

If you need to be back often johore is the choice. If you want cheaper and quieter living there are many smaller town further up.

Melaka kl ipoh penang or cooler gentng cameron fraser hill... ? It depends on yr retirement needs.

if you already have many relative and friends in msia then still ok, if still have to start making friends and adapt to the condition there will be quite hard for some local. Holiday and staying long term is very different.

The average Singaporean probably makes more money than the average American and has a higher networth.

But the average Singaporean cramps in a public apartment and can never afford to own a Porsche or Ferrari. The average American lives in a 3000sft house and usually owns two cars albeit neither a porsche nor ferrari (but possible!)

So its all about standard of living and lifestyle.

Never about the price.

Singapore’s cost is high and standard is low.

Compared to developing countries we are tops

Compared to developed countries, we are like f**k lah.

Wake up!

that is so true, my friends in the states are earning much less than me but living in a bigger house and driving bigger cars.  In terms of quality of life, we are really inferior. I am hoping to remain a Singaporean but living half my time in the states after I fully retire but it is hard to get a green card these days.  Australia also not bad. Many like Malaysia but I rather stay in SG than up north.

all depend to size of the country right? without natural resource, apparently land become the commodity, and all imported goods. 

I am not complaining lah, SG is really constrained by our size/ resources and with the ever rising population (due to our needs to attract talents and money), life here for the average Joe may not be as good as the numbers are suggesting. But to survive here is also not difficult if you are willing to work and have average intellectual.

We need to recognize there are better places with much better quality of life than here. SG is for people like Merc and T2, people like me are just surviving.

Edited by Voodooman

Msia definitely more affordable and reasonable cost of living ... question is which town is better ?

I have gone to explore a few towns. JB and Melaka are out. Current favorites in Malaysia are now Penang and Kuching (East Malaysia). Both are about an hour away by air, with cheap tickets available.

But my heart yearns for a cooler place to retire with scenery to enjoy, and wide open spaces. Maybe even get myself a track only car. New Zealand and Tasmania will take retirees, but the entry cost is prohibitive. While living costs may be lower in SG, the entry criteria to get a visa to NZ is very very high. $3 mio at last check, and will rise even higher.    

Live at Genting quite good bro. Cooling siah.. [:p]

I am not complaining lah, SG is really constrained by our size/ resources and with the ever rising population (due to our needs to attract talents and money), life here for the average Joe may not be as good as the numbers are suggesting. But to survive here is also not difficult if you are willing to work and have average intellectual.

We need to recognize there are better places with much better quality of life than here. SG is for people like Merc and T2, people like me are just surviving.

I have gone to explore a few towns. JB and Melaka are out. Current favorites in Malaysia are now Penang and Kuching (East Malaysia). Both are about an hour away by air, with cheap tickets available.

But my heart yearns for a cooler place to retire with scenery to enjoy, and wide open spaces. Maybe even get myself a track only car. New Zealand and Tasmania will take retirees, but the entry cost is prohibitive. While living costs may be lower in SG, the entry criteria to get a visa to NZ is very very high. $3 mio at last check, and will rise even higher.    

Ya . I would prefer a more cooling place to settle in. Penang is too 'commercialised' and ponding problem too hahaha. Kuching  not bad , just hot. 

ANZ i think I can forget about it ... too ex .  

Live at Genting quite good bro. Cooling siah.. [:p]

of course bro ... Genting not bad as long as they have less land slide hahaha . 

Near to casino and Cameron . A friend's dad bought a house there and gonna move over. 

You bought any property there ?  

I've property in another country. Not Malaysia bro. No plans to retire in Malaysia. :D

of course bro ... Genting not bad as long as they have less land slide hahaha . 

Near to casino and Cameron . A friend's dad bought a house there and gonna move over. 

You bought any property there ?