Friendstar Supercharged June 5, 2016 Share June 5, 2016 I always admire the legacy. One hell of a car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear June 5, 2016 Share June 5, 2016 I'm going to try to revive this thread and see if it brings Legacy BN9 (2015/2016) MCFers out of the jungle. I saw all those demo units sold off so I know you're out there. Then again, the current model appeals to a very different crowd than previous Legacy generations - uncles like me, looking for a value-for-money and safe family sedan, and as surprised as everyone else to find themselves buying their first Subaru. People who don't have energy to hang out on MCF. But nevermind, I try, okay? Let's start by updating the info that's changed since this thread's first post: - Legacy OMV is now almost $22k - 2016 model got Siri Eyes Free, BSD (blind-spot detection), LCA (lane-change assist) and RCTA (rear cross-traffic alert) Siri Eyes Free is essentially Carplay without any visual interface. It's voice-only, and is an official Apple implementation for HUs that can't handle full-blown Carplay. But it's as good as we'll get without Subaru upgrading the HU to the one in the new Impreza, and it's pretty awesome. Lets me stream Apple Music, and the voice tools complement the HU's built-in abilities nicely. BSD, LCA and RCTA are pretty much all different aspects of the same core abilities. BSD warns you if a car is lingering in your blind spot. LCA senses even further back than your blind spot to warn you if a vehicle is moving fast enough to enter your blind spot soon. And RCTA senses moving vehicles when you're reversing. They may not be Subaru's Eyesight suite, but they are very handy and thoughtfully implemented. Eg, only RCTA beeps. BSD and LCA just flash to warn you without getting in your face. Oh yah, I also reviewed the Legacy BN9 on sgCarMart: http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_reviews.php?CarCode=11640 Hi Bro, just to check if the 2015 Legacy could be upgraded with the SIRI eyes free, BSD, LCA and RCTA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear June 5, 2016 Share June 5, 2016 Just came back from a Cameron Highlands trip organised by Subaru and Nissan. It is a wonderful trip that allow me to know my Legacy better and learnt a few tips from the pro. For those that are worried about power, I agree that Legacy is not the most powerful car but there are more than sufficient power to comfortably go up Cameron Highlands and keep pace with the convoy. Overtaking on the NS highway is also a breeze when the traffic condition permits. Coming from a 1.6L Turbo-Charged Car, I would say that Legacy is able to match the power. The AWD is awesome. Driving on the winding roads is easy with the AWD. It gives the driver confident when negotiating the bends. The paddle shift is very responsive and useful when going down-hill. It provide better control of the car with engine brake, minimise the use of foot brake which will result in "cooked" brake for long descend. Overall, I agree that it is a nice car and value for $$. I had wanted to go on this field trip but have to miss it due to work assignments. How was the fuel consumption efficiency on the NS highway (if on full tank)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weixiang80 1st Gear June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 Driving a 2015 Legacy, about 9 months now and recently i am using the " S " mode.... FC seems only a bit lesser than the " I " mode, but the feeling is so much greater... :D 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LegacyM 1st Gear June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 Hi Bro, just to check if the 2015 Legacy could be upgraded with the SIRI eyes free, BSD, LCA and RCTA? I am not sure if 2015 Legacy could be upgraded with SIRI eyes free, BSD, LCA and RCTA. As for the fuel consumption, I avg about 9.5-10.5 litres/100km for the whole trip which is higher than my normal driving. I am pretty impressed with the fuel consumption, taking into consideration all the uphill climb. I did not use the 'S" mode as the "I" mode is sufficient for me to keep up with the rest! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 Yes! You guys do exist! Hello, fellow Legacy drivers. Thanks for bringing this thread back to life. Coming from a 1.6L Turbo-Charged Car, I would say that Legacy is able to match the power. The AWD is awesome. Driving on the winding roads is easy with the AWD. It gives the driver confident when negotiating the bends. The paddle shift is very responsive and useful when going down-hill. It provide better control of the car with engine brake, minimise the use of foot brake which will result in "cooked" brake for long descend. Overall, I agree that it is a nice car and value for $$. Thanks for sharing a review of what it's like to take the Legacy touring up North. So your experience is that you don't have to lose traction in order to appreciate the benefits of AWD? That's been my own experience, but I'm glad to hear it from someone's who's been through the winding roads up and down from Cameron Highlands. Yup, I love the paddle shifters far more than I thought I would. A huge part of it is being able to use them in D without having to go to manual mode. Value for $$ for sure. Hi Bro, just to check if the 2015 Legacy could be upgraded with the SIRI eyes free, BSD, LCA and RCTA? I don't know, but it probably wouldn't be easy because SRVD (Subaru Rear Vehicle Detection, which is the umbrella term for BSD, LCA and RCTA) relies on radar sensors (according to page 7-53 of our manuals, which is also available online), so at the very least you'd have to install those. But seeing as you can install front parking sensors in our cars, and our rear sensors were installed by MI and didn't come from the Subaru factory in Japan, it might be possible. In fact, I hope such mods are do-able because I'm still dreaming of adding front driver seat memory, which is a factory option for our 2.5 i-S model, and therefore means the original Subaru parts exist, even if MI didn't opt to import them. Just remember that if you want to keep your warranty, you'll have to ask MI to do these mods for you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 Just came back from a Cameron Highlands trip organised by Subaru and Nissan. It is a wonderful trip that allow me to know my Legacy better and learnt a few tips from the pro. For those that are worried about power, I agree that Legacy is not the most powerful car but there are more than sufficient power to comfortably go up Cameron Highlands and keep pace with the convoy. Overtaking on the NS highway is also a breeze when the traffic condition permits. Coming from a 1.6L Turbo-Charged Car, I would say that Legacy is able to match the power. The AWD is awesome. Driving on the winding roads is easy with the AWD. It gives the driver confident when negotiating the bends. The paddle shift is very responsive and useful when going down-hill. It provide better control of the car with engine brake, minimise the use of foot brake which will result in "cooked" brake for long descend. Overall, I agree that it is a nice car and value for $$. bo jio anyway, just curious, which route did the convoy use? Tapah or Simpang Pulai? I'm guessing the latter? Also, did u guys drive up to Mount Brinchang? I found the longer wheel based Legacy not as nimble when going up via Tapah, compared to a lightly modded forester (same underpinnings as a wrx). Simpang Pulai has long sweeping corners, much nicer to drive. Btw my profile pic is the forester, taken somewhere in CH. btw there's a thread on CH - wld be great if you post a review of your trip there http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2672763-malaysia-road-trip-to-cameron-highlands/page-61 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 I always admire the legacy. One hell of a car. When people say "always", they're usually referring to turbo-charged Legacy GTs rather than the current NAs. It was the other way around for me. I've always had a healthy admiration and respect for Legacies (and Rexes), but never saw myself owning one until the current gen, when size and trim finally reached levels that made sense for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 Driving a 2015 Legacy, about 9 months now and recently i am using the " S " mode.... FC seems only a bit lesser than the " I " mode, but the feeling is so much greater... :D I don't think S mode is necessarily less efficient than I mode. It just takes a lot more self control to keep your right foot in check. If you drive in S mode but are much lighter on the throttle than in I mode, then you'll probably be able to achieve similar FC. But how many of us can do that? I'm not that strong, lol. I usually need to rely on I mode to control me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weixiang80 1st Gear June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 I don't think S mode is necessarily less efficient than I mode. It just takes a lot more self control to keep your right foot in check. If you drive in S mode but are much lighter on the throttle than in I mode, then you'll probably be able to achieve similar FC. But how many of us can do that? I'm not that strong, lol. I usually need to rely on I mode to control me.Haaaaaa but really v shiok....And I think its faster to reach cruising speed thus saves fuel too, just that traffic jams n traffic lights consumes more 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 Haaaaaa but really v shiok.... And I think its faster to reach cruising speed thus saves fuel too, just that traffic jams n traffic lights consumes more The faster you reach cruising speed in Singapore, the sooner you have to brake, then start the cycle all over again. And the more cycles of acceleration and braking you have, the more fuel you burn. Unless you sayang the throttle until you take as long to reach cruising speed as you do in I mode. Very hard lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weixiang80 1st Gear June 6, 2016 Share June 6, 2016 The faster you reach cruising speed in Singapore, the sooner you have to brake, then start the cycle all over again. And the more cycles of acceleration and braking you have, the more fuel you burn. Unless you sayang the throttle until you take as long to reach cruising speed as you do in I mode. Very hard lah. Might be my traveling pattern, 70%HW thats why the difference between I and S not that great. Anyone changed the stock horn to other horns? i thinking of changing to something more significant... the current Beeeeeeeep horn a bit soft Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 Might be my traveling pattern, 70%HW thats why the difference between I and S not that great. Anyone changed the stock horn to other horns? i thinking of changing to something more significant... the current Beeeeeeeep horn a bit soft 70% HW would definitely narrow the difference between I and S modes. No wonder. It's the other way around for me. Usually 70% city, so if my foot starts getting heavy in S mode, I can see the FC diff. Nope, haven't changed horn yet and probably won't, though I admit I'd prefer one that sounded a bit different (less beep and more honk). I seem to remember reading in one of the other Subaru MCF threads about XV (iirc) being upgradeable to a Forester (again, iirc) horn. Anyone knows if we have the same horn as the Forester? I also assume a horn upgrade would, officially, void our warranties unless we get MI to do it for us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
weixiang80 1st Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 i read about the MI warranty somewhere in MCF... seems like if you mod the horn circuit (or that part), the warranty is void only for that part. Let's say we mod the horn, if the engine got issues, the warranty is still valid. Not v sure though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 i read about the MI warranty somewhere in MCF... seems like if you mod the horn circuit (or that part), the warranty is void only for that part. Let's say we mod the horn, if the engine got issues, the warranty is still valid. Not v sure though. I was indeed told by MI that voiding one part of your warranty doesn't void the other parts, so you're right. But seeing how high-tech ours cars are, with so many electronic components (and therefore things that can go wrong), an electrical warranty is handy. And it's good for three years. Might be worth it to buy the horn (or order through MI), then get MI to install, just to keep warranty. Just something to consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civicblade 2nd Gear June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 Hi Fellow Legacy Owners, Just bought a brand new 2016 Legacy 2.5i base model (Liberty as it is called in Australia) for AUD$30k. All Legacy across the range comes with Eyesight driver assistance here in Australia. The base model does not come with rear cross traffic alert, Blind spot detection and lane change assist. I was looking to place an order for the 3.6r but was concerned about the fuel economy as I drive 110+km per day to work and the petrol bills does stack up if I went with the 3.6r. I trade in the Prius V for the Legacy 2.5i and I am sure that I am going to miss not spending money at the fuel pumps. I might still go for the 3.6r, it is a good idea to get it for the family to replace the Honda Jazz. The 3.6r comes with all of Subaru's safety feature and wait for it... it is only $42k on the road brand new. All Subaru cars (bought new in May and June 2016) comes with 5 years unlimited KM factory warranty. I'm sorry guys, can't help myself. I just have to compare the prices between here and Singapore having spent so much money on cars in Singapore and not getting much in return. The base model Legacy is only USD22k in the US (Eyesight is a USD1800 option there). Let's all enjoy our Legacies... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 Haaaaaa but really v shiok.... And I think its faster to reach cruising speed thus saves fuel too, just that traffic jams n traffic lights consumes more When in traffic jams use I mode Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged June 7, 2016 Share June 7, 2016 (edited) Hi Fellow Legacy Owners, Just bought a brand new 2016 Legacy 2.5i base model (Liberty as it is called in Australia) for AUD$30k. All Legacy across the range comes with Eyesight driver assistance here in Australia. The base model does not come with rear cross traffic alert, Blind spot detection and lane change assist. I was looking to place an order for the 3.6r but was concerned about the fuel economy as I drive 110+km per day to work and the petrol bills does stack up if I went with the 3.6r. I trade in the Prius V for the Legacy 2.5i and I am sure that I am going to miss not spending money at the fuel pumps. I might still go for the 3.6r, it is a good idea to get it for the family to replace the Honda Jazz. The 3.6r comes with all of Subaru's safety feature and wait for it... it is only $42k on the road brand new. All Subaru cars (bought new in May and June 2016) comes with 5 years unlimited KM factory warranty. I'm sorry guys, can't help myself. I just have to compare the prices between here and Singapore having spent so much money on cars in Singapore and not getting much in return. The base model Legacy is only USD22k in the US (Eyesight is a USD1800 option there). Let's all enjoy our Legacies... LTA COE Dept misses you though...actually most of the folks I know who migrated to Oz usually drives a BMW, Audi, Porsche, Lexus.. You the first i hear drive a legacy.. Good to know there are still pragmatic ppl around.. Edited June 7, 2016 by BenTong ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...