2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Think you hit the point there Bro.... FXT is confirm more desirable.... but if I not going up north, for Singapore daily driving, think NA is sufficient.... but then again, wish things are so simple..... you see.... our head and heart at diff places, they something don't agree on certain things one. [laugh][:p]

80% of the time, I probably drive my fxt like an fna. Only 20% of the time I drove it like a fxt, that's when I need to exit to exp way, overtake slow pokes, and fend off some buggers who try to disturb me.

So, in reality my fxt will probably be living like a fna more than half its lifespan.

My fren drives his 320 f30 in eco pro mode almost half the time and still get less than 10km/L fc. In fact it hovers around 8-9km/L at best....

if u have the budget to buy both, & your heart is itching for XT, then u should just go for Discovery!

Land Rover servicing and repair no joke. Some faults are very complicated and cannot go any workshop repair. Edited by mrhan1982

No, it doesn't. But my NA Legacy BN9 does. And so does the Outback BS9, iirc. And I'd like to think that we're all NA Subie bros. Sorry if I was confusing.

that's the funny part of MI... the most technologically advanced car from Subaru right now is outfitted with shitty stuff through MI...

A lot about the locally-available trims doesn't make sense. The most luxurious sedan from Subaru right now (Legacy) doesn't come with memory seats because MI didn't import it with that option. But the FXT does. Though to be fair, the Legacy and Outback do come packed with most of the other available "luxury" options, while the Legacy is still the cheapest current-model Subaru excluding the XV.

I find it quite alarming that there are a few folks here who are choosing the FNA over the FXT. The choice itself is not the scary part to me, as some rightfully pointed out that the FNA better suits their needs. But there are others who clearly prefer the FXT but are financially limited by a mere 10% of the cost of the entire car. (I know it's still a hefty 10k+.)

I'm no stranger to this unfortunate situation. But what I did back then was to go for a second hand car instead, so that I could comfortably foot the down payment and repay the remaining loan as quickly as possible. We all know how the motor loan interest is ridiculously expensive.

Are we all too enthralled by the idea of owning a swanky new car that we lose both the financial sense and cents?

Don't mean to flame or target anyone, but just can't help feeling that we all can do with a bit more financial planning and prioritisation. :)

Buy buy buy. Add to GDP growth.

Sun roof is definitely right for you then ... ð

Car is one of very few things in life where heart wins head most of the time. Ie : Imagine I drive a more pricey conti 'kena jiat' by FXT ð­

But unfortunately the FXT brand not that appealing to most members of the opposite sex..so one may have the power but not used..and for those who read this I am referring to the members of the opposite sex.. so all depends what sex u are before liking or disliking..

Well I believe its not as simple as the price difference between the FNA and the FXT. The two models straddle either sides of the 20k OMV cap which carries with it different loan conditions.

Latest October price list:

FNA - $115,800, maximum loan 70% hence downpayment = $34,740

FXT - $128,800, maximum loan 60% hence downpayment = $51,520

For a price difference of $13,000 you are paying $16,780 more in cash and that represents a 50% larger upfront cash outlay. Hence my previous comment about financially marginal owners. 

Well I believe its not as simple as the price difference between the FNA and the FXT. The two models straddle either sides of the 20k OMV cap which carries with it different loan conditions.

Latest October price list:

FNA - $115,800, maximum loan 70% hence downpayment = $34,740

FXT - $128,800, maximum loan 60% hence downpayment = $51,520

For a price difference of $13,000 you are paying $16,780 more in cash and that represents a 50% larger upfront cash outlay. Hence my previous comment about financially marginal owners. 

Can pay more down payment is always good.

So paid less interest to the bank..

But unfortunately the FXT brand not that appealing to most members of the opposite sex..so one may have the power but not used..and for those who read this I am referring to the members of the opposite sex.. so all depends what sex u are before liking or disliking..ðððð

I saw the same key word appeared 3 times... Got power don't how to use, need to learn skill, is it what you mean ? Some don't know what they don't know yet lah...

err. ok with me leh. I drive the OB..so far happy with it..if you are referring to the eyesight.. no need la I already have eyesight.. [drivingcar]

Can pay more down payment is always good.

So paid less interest to the bank..

The interesting thing is, all else equal, you will pay less monthly for the FXT than with the FNA as a result. But I guess people just can't wait and save up, and just self-justify why they don't need/want the FXT. The irony is that they would probably seek to upgrade the performance or looks of the FNA to FXT and end up spending more and getting less.

Now then I know there is a small % of FNA owners were affected by 40% DP thus goes for FNA. But a bigger %, went for FNA bcos its a class of its own and value for money. 

To the owner..each and every car is a class of its own and value for money..like the saying goes wool grows sheep..

The interesting thing is, all else equal, you will pay less monthly for the FXT than with the FNA as a result. But I guess people just can't wait and save up, and just self-justify why they don't need/want the FXT. The irony is that they would probably seek to upgrade the performance or looks of the FNA to FXT and end up spending more and getting less.

Can afford a car can dy la. If want buy FNA buy la if can by FXT buy la..can afford macan buy la. can afford land rover buy la.. point is.. if cannot afford and barefy afford.. don't buy la

no need suan or compare which is better la..

point is enjoy your ride..

Can tell that to the qq group. Some are doing quite extensive mods costing over 10k.... but it become exclusive to them. Maybe we dun appreciate the joy of modding a lesser powered car?? Hmmm.

Actually I also notice a lot of fxt driving leisurely. Seldom encounter any fxt driving fast or reckless.. fna should be suitable for most if coming from 1.6L b&b cars.

Edited by mrhan1982

Ya agreed. Another bro here bought FNA with 30k 1 year loan. I bought FNA with 50k 3 year loan. Some are affected by 40% dp some are not. FNA simply have its own market that's all. 

Why dwell on this? Would like to remind this is a Forester forum, not a FXT forum or FNA forum. We are all Forester lovers, isn't it? 

Can tell that to the qq group. Some are doing quite extensive mods costing over 10k.... but it become exclusive to them. Maybe we dun appreciate the joy of modding a lesser powered car?? Hmmm.

Actually I also notice a lot of fxt driving leisurely. Seldom encounter any fxt driving fast or reckless.. fna should be suitable for most if coming from 1.6L b&b cars.

Owner a more powerful car does not mean need to drive recklessly. The addition power is good for overtaking heavy vehicle or slower traffic, lane change..etc.....

240bhp look high among the japanese car, but if you look at the conti brand. There are many 2.0L turbo car all having much more bhp. The new Volvo XC90 T6 already more than 300bhp....

So please don't always talk so loud here that FXT are having very high power.

Owner a more powerful car does not mean need to drive recklessly. The addition power is good for overtaking heavy vehicle or slower traffic, lane change..etc.....

240bhp look high among the japanese car, but if you look at the conti brand. There are many 2.0L turbo car all having much more bhp. The new Volvo XC90 T6 already more than 300bhp....

So please don't always talk so loud here that FXT are having very high power.

But the Volvo bro.. poorer than you by $200k