Sarion 4th Gear October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 Bro, please share your plate number here so when us NA bros see you in our (auto-dimming) rear mirror, we can siam one side and guai guai give away, lol. Dun wanna accidentally make you subconsciously tailgate, hurhur. FNA has auto-dimming mirror??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 I see, if it's more a matter of being prudent to save that extra 10% then makes sense. But of course must try to reduce the bank's profits by paying up the loan early as well lah! Don't really have lobang lah, just take some time to look at as many options as possible. I find it better to buy from direct owners. A lot of dealers out there are out to cheat people! Ya agree on the bank loan part... damn what happen to those 1.88% to 2.18% type of loan.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 Ya agree on the bank loan part... damn what happen to those 1.88% to 2.18% type of loan.... Wind back about 2 years, super low interest, and you have to pay 90k for a COE... sometimes we only remember the nice things.. As the others have said, sticking to a budget is important, it's good discipline. But if you can look at the BMW 216, the B class and more, then the FXT is certainly within your budget. Which means for the extra 10k or so, you get more power, better sound, automated tailgate, slightly more OMV and more... not bad for 10k. Some folks spend a lot more on go-slower parts, add ons and more, and still don't get such a sweet ride. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 FNA has auto-dimming mirror??? No, it doesn't. But my NA Legacy BN9 does. And so does the Outback BS9, iirc. And I'd like to think that we're all NA Subie bros. Sorry if I was confusing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 No, it doesn't. But my NA Legacy BN9 does. And so does the Outback BS9, iirc. And I'd like to think that we're all NA Subie bros. Sorry if I was confusing.I drive mainly when the sun is out.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 17, 2016 Share October 17, 2016 I find it quite alarming <snip> a bit more financial planning and prioritisation. :) This. This is what I am referring to when I meant marginal. The words financial prudence isn't far behind in my message. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pari2005 1st Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 Just signed for FNA today. Yeah... Upgrading from a 130bhp car, dun want to upgrade straight to a 240bhp FXT. If not what car can I buy next? Also my wife will be sharing the car, she drive almost 50% of the time, have some concern over her safety if give her FXT. She tends to be heavy footed and a bit reckless. FNA should be just nice for us. Looking at accessories to buy... hmm... I had the same thought process Bro When I choose FNA over FXT. So we are not alone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
danbai96 1st Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 Congrats!! They gave you last Thursday price cos I understand that they increase 2 time, $2K since then Doubt will affect a lot cos those who wanna get a new ride, already done so after they announce the reduction of COE quota, which was last week. Thanks! My price had the 1st 1k increase cos I booked after the weekend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 (edited) Anybody got fxt and reduced rim size? Will it improve ride comfort,btr fuel consumption and cheaper tyre replacements? In the chat group everyone is talking about rim upgrades, tyre size upgrades, ecu upgrades and brakes stuff. The only talk about FC is whether RON98 or 95 better. Comfort on stock tires are never a problem and I don't think you can find a cheaper tire than stock (which kinda sucks already) But if your main concern is fuel consumption and maintenance cost, perhaps you may be over stretching yourself financially to even think about it. Stop there! Time to rethink if this car is too expensive for you. Economy already no good better think twice.... Edited October 18, 2016 by Pocus 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
danbai96 1st Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 I had the same thought process Bro When I choose FNA over FXT. So we are not alone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pari2005 1st Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 Everyone have their own POV, dun expect everyone to understand though. Thanks Bro, we are definitely not alone. Must be a reason why Motor image sells FNA, it has its own market. Not everyone goes for FXT. But I can understand why so many bros go for FXT, it's really value for money for the bhp it offers. I loved Forester since more than 10 years ago, finally getting one. I liked it because of the roomy interior, height and great driving visibility. I also need the boot for delivery, and my kids' bicycles etc, very practical car. Performance wise not too particular. What colour u booked? I booked black and the SE says coming shipment has stock, reaching end Oct. Yes agree. I booked blue that's y the wait i guess!! But never realised I would get so impatient like a 3 year old for his new toy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 If Finance is an issue... please also consider when replacing those huge truck tires... they're super expensive... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 If Finance is an issue... please also consider when replacing those huge truck tires... they're super expensive... Somehow i feel the downside of the FXT is the weird tyre size configuration and the limited tyre choices available. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cmdsea 3rd Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 Everyone have their own POV, dun expect everyone to understand though. Thanks Bro, we are definitely not alone. Must be a reason why Motor image sells FNA, it has its own market. Not everyone goes for FXT. But I can understand why so many bros go for FXT, it's really value for money for the bhp it offers. I loved Forester since more than 10 years ago, finally getting one. I liked it because of the roomy interior, height and great driving visibility. I also need the boot for delivery, and my kids' bicycles etc, very practical car. Performance wise not too particular. What colour u booked? I booked black and the SE says coming shipment has stock, reaching end Oct. FNA driver here. No budget constraints (took the minimum $30k loan for 1 year as I calculated the discount outweighed the interest). My wife has her Subaru 9 years+ already and its proven very reliable. I test drove the XV, Forester NA and XT. Didnt like the XV (Felt sluggish and the hatchback opening rather than full tailgate would not be good for my work) Drove the XT and liked it, drove the NA and liked it too. Simple answer is on Singapore roads the NA performance is more than good enough. You are correct "FXT, its really good value for money for the bhp it offers" but the reality is you dont need that much BHP for everyday driving... As my habit is to keep cars for at least 10 years and sometimes even longer, I would rather go with the cheaper purchase price, cheaper insurance, better fuel consumption and better reliability of not having a turbo to fail during year 5-7.... but to each their own :-) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 Simple answer is on Singapore roads the NA performance is more than good enough. You are correct "FXT, its really good value for money for the bhp it offers" but the reality is you dont need that much BHP for everyday driving... Think you hit the point there Bro.... FXT is confirm more desirable.... but if I not going up north, for Singapore daily driving, think NA is sufficient.... but then again, wish things are so simple..... you see.... our head and heart at diff places, they something don't agree on certain things one. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DioPian 3rd Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 Think you hit the point there Bro.... FXT is confirm more desirable.... but if I not going up north, for Singapore daily driving, think NA is sufficient.... but then again, wish things are so simple..... you see.... our head and heart at diff places, they something don't agree on certain things one. it's actually very simple. if u buy FNA, u could regret not buying FXT. So just buy the FXT! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 it's actually very simple. if u buy FNA, u could regret not buying FXT. So just buy the FXT! No lar... then your head will scream why buy FXT.... to satisfy both.... buy both lor.... but then there is an even bigger problem call Wife... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DioPian 3rd Gear October 18, 2016 Share October 18, 2016 No lar... then your head will scream why buy FXT.... to satisfy both.... buy both lor.... but then there is an even bigger problem call Wife... if u have the budget to buy both, & your heart is itching for XT, then u should just go for Discovery! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...