MPS 1st Gear April 27, 2019 Share April 27, 2019 Suggest you give BMS woodlands a call and find out the details as I noticed BMS didn’t disclose his price on his Facebook It takes about 30mins Ok, will give them a buzz! Thanks! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 27, 2019 Share April 27, 2019 I was looking at 4pots..seemed to cost in the region of 3k+.Was asking around my friends regarding rear bbk usefulness. One of them sent me this:https://www.cquence.net/blog/big-brake-kits-do-they-work/ And this: https://www.brakes-shop.com/brakepedia/bbk/rear-brake-upgrades Some interesting article. Ive mentioned before bbk does not significantly improves braking after trying on another fxt. The improvement i felt are probably from the aftermarket brake pads. That being said, im still planning to go for the upgrade just for looks. Lol. But its just on the lower end of my list now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear April 28, 2019 Share April 28, 2019 (edited) Hi bro with wrx sti driver seat, Paiseh but cannot remember who contacted me but there is rare electric passenger one to match yours that is available and cheap: https://www.croooober.com/en/item/10106436/Reclining-Seats-Others/Passenger-Side-Genuine-SUBARU-Sheet Cheers. Richard Edited April 28, 2019 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear April 28, 2019 Share April 28, 2019 Was asking around my friends regarding rear bbk usefulness. One of them sent me this: https://www.cquence.net/blog/big-brake-kits-do-they-work/ And this: https://www.brakes-shop.com/brakepedia/bbk/rear-brake-upgrades Some interesting article. Ive mentioned before bbk does not significantly improves braking after trying on another fxt. The improvement i felt are probably from the aftermarket brake pads. That being said, im still planning to go for the upgrade just for looks. Lol. But its just on the lower end of my list now. Hi Strato, Basic mechanics applies ... Indeed cooling with bigger rotor is one factor especially ventilated and single pc construction and after market pad helps but certainly less so with just after market pads. Bbk will be bigger caliper with bigger contact area will provide for more frictional force and ever tried stopping a bigger vs smaller bicycle wheel ? The bigger rotors in addition to better cooling especially if ventilated will allow gripping at greater ease and hence more effective and betta modulation. Go aftermarket sport pads, aftermarket rotor and throw in ssbh but without bigger calipers, you spend a lot or almost same at piece buys but still miss the boat of best possible braking performance. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear April 28, 2019 Share April 28, 2019 Hi James, Good for driver but mine even with softer pink and not rsr did not pass 19 by CO due to "abruptness" aka hard .. keke ! I am now back to 14/14 but indeed subjective except that it is far from compliance and not satisfactory still to me .. the mazda 6 reminds me constantly :( Cheers. Richard Hi James, Not balanced and jittery at 14/14 front/rear on the cusco dampers with pink ... now 12/14 and betta with less busy car and less road noise. However, ymmv since I have about additional 15 kg front and 80kg rear due to soundproofing, bars, body dampers and ICE especially after adding 2 odyssey reserve batteries on amp rack built behind rear seats to avoid fulcrum but loaded directly on top of suspension. I learnt my lesson of having nice blink blink display that I see 2-3 a dsy with ICE all in rear boots which eats up 1 set of trd sport dampers EVERY year due to fulcrum-ed weight that I hope ICE bros will avoid. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 28, 2019 Share April 28, 2019 Hi Strato, Basic mechanics applies ... Indeed cooling with bigger rotor is one factor especially ventilated and single pc construction and after market pad helps but certainly less so with just after market pads. Bbk will be bigger caliper with bigger contact area will provide for more frictional force and ever tried stopping a bigger vs smaller bicycle wheel ? The bigger rotors in addition to better cooling especially if ventilated will allow gripping at greater ease and hence more effective and betta modulation. Go aftermarket sport pads, aftermarket rotor and throw in ssbh but without bigger calipers, you spend a lot or almost same at piece buys but still miss the boat of best possible braking performance. Cheers. Richard Hi Richard, You can read the article I sent about the details. There are 2 ways to improve braking efficiency. One is materials, which is ur brake pads with a higher coefficent of friction. Another is to change to a higher rating brake pump. Frictional Force has nothing to do with surface area. I used to think the same as you until people point this out to me. Bbk is for better cooling. But this is more applicable on track where there is a high frequency of hard braking. For normal daily drive, I don't think better cooling is needed unless u drive like a mad man on public road. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darrenkhu 1st Gear April 28, 2019 Share April 28, 2019 Hi bro with wrx sti driver seat, Paiseh but cannot remember who contacted me but there is rare electric passenger one to match yours that is available and cheap: https://www.croooober.com/en/item/10106436/Reclining-Seats-Others/Passenger-Side-Genuine-SUBARU-Sheet Cheers. Richard Hi Richard! Think it’s me! Lol! But sadly.. this is manual. Hahaha! Thanks for the lookout!! Cheers Darren 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear April 28, 2019 Share April 28, 2019 (edited) Hi Richard, You can read the article I sent about the details. There are 2 ways to improve braking efficiency. One is materials, which is ur brake pads with a higher coefficent of friction. Another is to change to a higher rating brake pump. Frictional Force has nothing to do with surface area. I used to think the same as you until people point this out to me. Bbk is for better cooling. But this is more applicable on track where there is a high frequency of hard braking. For normal daily drive, I don't think better cooling is needed unless u drive like a mad man on public road. Hi Strato, Guess my 4 yrs in NUS for my BSc Physics with honours makes me question a bit more and I try to get back to basic logic when in doubt. I believe I stand corrected this time though wrong often as you WILL increase your force until your brake pump maxes out: https://www.physlink.com/education/askexperts/ae140.cfm "If you were to increase the force as you increased the area to keep PRESSURE the same, then increasing the area WOULD increase the frictional force between the two surfaces." Also remember the bicycle wheels story since you end up with bigger rotors typically with bbk upgrade. Cheers. Richard Edited April 28, 2019 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear April 28, 2019 Share April 28, 2019 Hi Richard! Think itâs me! Lol! But sadly.. this is manual. Hahaha! Thanks for the lookout!! Cheers Darren Hi Darren, Paiseh paiseh ... yes, I must remember it is you and this post will remind me. Indeed manual but I was thinking quite low price and it will match your driver side ... passenger side electric is not too much of a concern since no memory function. Will continue to watch out and advise if other passenger side electric one then. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 29, 2019 Share April 29, 2019 Hi Strato, Guess my 4 yrs in NUS for my BSc Physics with honours makes me question a bit more and I try to get back to basic logic when in doubt. I believe I stand corrected this time though wrong often as you WILL increase your force until your brake pump maxes out: https://www.physlink.com/education/askexperts/ae140.cfm "If you were to increase the force as you increased the area to keep PRESSURE the same, then increasing the area WOULD increase the frictional force between the two surfaces." Also remember the bicycle wheels story since you end up with bigger rotors typically with bbk upgrade. Cheers. Richard When you depress the brake pedal, the brake cylinder generates a hydraulic force, which then applies pressure onto the rotors. Your force is always constant as it is limited to the vehicles brake cylinder rating. That is why i mention changing to a higher rated brake pump. This of coz will upset the factory brake balance but that is another story. In fact,changing to a bbk, you are reducing pressure on the rotor due to a bigger surface since ur force is always constant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear April 29, 2019 Share April 29, 2019 (edited) When you depress the brake pedal, the brake cylinder generates a hydraulic force, which then applies pressure onto the rotors. Your force is always constant as it is limited to the vehicles brake cylinder rating. That is why i mention changing to a higher rated brake pump. This of coz will upset the factory brake balance but that is another story. In fact,changing to a bbk, you are reducing pressure on the rotor due to a bigger surface since ur force is always constant.Hi Strato, You increase your braking force until your master brake pump maxed out .. hope you dun try to brake by maintaining same pressure throughout ... lol ! Enough said other than do spend more $ to get your bbk to try after your sport pads, stock caliper, ssbh etc. but fine if you are ok with them .. ymmv. Been there and done it which is the test of the pudding but still hope bros stop wishful thinking like I did with only sport pads etc. with stock caliper and rotors but only to spend more later if found wanting. Btw, cooling braking system indeed critical when tracking but even single emergency introduces vast heat that stock cannot be better in getting rid off with just sports pads when compared to my 356mm rotors and larger caliper with greater surface area (with increasing force applied) biting at bigger diameter with less effort aka force aka heat generated in the shorter time compared to whatever material with god sent coefficient of friction. Cheers. Richard Edited April 29, 2019 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear April 30, 2019 Share April 30, 2019 (edited) 1 more benefit of BBK is it’s usually easier to modulate the braking compared to stock brakes due to the BBK callipers having more pistons. The stock FXT brakes are actually quite good but a bit abrupt as it bites quite hard even if you gently tap on the brake pedal I agree with what Strato shared in his posts. If I can add 1 more point, it’s impt to upgrade our tyres. No point having a wonderful BBK if your tyres suck. A big determinant of the stopping distance is the tyre Edited April 30, 2019 by Jamesgetz 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darrenkhu 1st Gear April 30, 2019 Share April 30, 2019 Hi Darren, Paiseh paiseh ... yes, I must remember it is you and this post will remind me. Indeed manual but I was thinking quite low price and it will match your driver side ... passenger side electric is not too much of a concern since no memory function. Will continue to watch out and advise if other passenger side electric one then. Cheers. Richard Hi Richard No Paiseh! Thank u so much for helping me to keep a look out! Appreciated! If got meetup, would buy u kopi! Wife would prefer the electric function as she tends to shift here shift there from time to time.. lol Cheers Darren 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 30, 2019 Share April 30, 2019 Hi Strato, You increase your braking force until your master brake pump maxed out .. hope you dun try to brake by maintaining same pressure throughout ... lol ! Enough said other than do spend more $ to get your bbk to try after your sport pads, stock caliper, ssbh etc. but fine if you are ok with them .. ymmv. Been there and done it which is the test of the pudding but still hope bros stop wishful thinking like I did with only sport pads etc. with stock caliper and rotors but only to spend more later if found wanting. Btw, cooling braking system indeed critical when tracking but even single emergency introduces vast heat that stock cannot be better in getting rid off with just sports pads when compared to my 356mm rotors and larger caliper with greater surface area (with increasing force applied) biting at bigger diameter with less effort aka force aka heat generated in the shorter time compared to whatever material with god sent coefficient of friction. Cheers. Richard Yes. U increase the pressure as you step down the pedal but this is independent of the caliper size. The force u exert is always the same for the same stroke. Force comes from the brake cylinder which transfer to the caliper then acts onto the rotors. I did tried a few fxt with bbk and find no significant increase in brake efficiency and i drove pretty fast. They are slightly better because of the pads, not calipers. Im not trying to convince you but merely stating the facts based on the formula: Fs ≤ μs η. If your butt feel thinks force increases with caliper size than good for you. Peace out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 30, 2019 Share April 30, 2019 1 more benefit of BBK is itâs usually easier to modulate the braking compared to stock brakes due to the BBK callipers having more pistons. The stock FXT brakes are actually quite good but a bit abrupt as it bites quite hard even if you gently tap on the brake pedal I agree with what Strato shared in his posts. If I can add 1 more point, itâs impt to upgrade our tyres. No point having a wonderful BBK if your tyres suck. A big determinant of the stopping distance is the tyre Yup. Changed out my stocks to re003 and i can go alot more on my fxt now with the new tyres and yellowstuff pads. The stock tyres are really crap. I recommend anyone changing tyres to consider re003. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear April 30, 2019 Share April 30, 2019 (edited) Yup. Changed out my stocks to re003 and i can go alot more on my fxt now with the new tyres and yellowstuff pads. The stock tyres are really crap. I recommend anyone changing tyres to consider re003. Hi Strato, Of course you increases applied force during the course of braking during which the increased surface area of better pad from bigger caliper helps in addition to better modulation .. else, why depress further ... before master pump maxes out. Put simply, do you depress your brakes and hold it there ?? Why depress further ? You do so to increase the applied force and hence surface area feom bigger calipers and associated pad size matters. The simplistic friction force=u need to taken in right context. Cheers. Richard Edited April 30, 2019 by richard_crl032 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear April 30, 2019 Share April 30, 2019 1 more benefit of BBK is itâs usually easier to modulate the braking compared to stock brakes due to the BBK callipers having more pistons. The stock FXT brakes are actually quite good but a bit abrupt as it bites quite hard even if you gently tap on the brake pedal I agree with what Strato shared in his posts. If I can add 1 more point, itâs impt to upgrade our tyres. No point having a wonderful BBK if your tyres suck. A big determinant of the stopping distance is the tyre Hi James, Indeed tyres are key to braking diatance and sporty grippy ones makes a big difference but the trade off is noise. You will know that bbk is max out when your tyres locks up very often which you will know when abs gets activated very often which is not the case even with comfort based tyres like michelin primacy 3 ST. When it rains, it is a different story with high speed braking and this is when sporty grippy ones will shows its worth by stopping well enuff without abs being activated. In summary, fix your brake system first and then know how far you are willing to trade off between quieter comfort based and more noisy sporty based ones. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear April 30, 2019 Share April 30, 2019 Yes. U increase the pressure as you step down the pedal but this is independent of the caliper size. The force u exert is always the same for the same stroke. Force comes from the brake cylinder which transfer to the caliper then acts onto the rotors. I did tried a few fxt with bbk and find no significant increase in brake efficiency and i drove pretty fast. They are slightly better because of the pads, not calipers. Im not trying to convince you but merely stating the facts based on the formula: Fs ⤠μs η. If your butt feel thinks force increases with caliper size than good for you. Peace out. Anyone had changed to sport brake pad or steel braided hose or both? What’s the improvement by percentage? Just curious.... No pun intended ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...