2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Thanks for the info. I've signed on the dotted line for the NA at $100.8k with 6 bids NG COE. Cannot wait liao cos my existing car COE expires in Aprilð

Any freebies for this 100.8k 6bids NG coe package?

After owning the Forester XT for 6 mths and honeymoon period over, here are some of my opinions about the car.

• Fuel Economy is as per any 2.0 Turbo car, nothing great, nothing too bad either.
  • So far none of the Forester owners in the fraternity managed to engage X-mode effectively, simply cos we don't have such challenging roads in Singapore, or even the usual route in Malaysia.
  • Auto tailgate is slow in opening, sometimes if I'm rushing I just bypass the automation to open immediately, but still engage auto close when I enter the cabin to start my engine.
  • After take other friend's/colleague's ride, I still feel the forester soundproofing is quite superior.
  • Sound system not bad after I got used to it
  • Cannot change the FC readout to Km/l, it's permanently l/100km
  • Tire profile rare due to the weird 18"x7"rim size (18"x7.5" is more common) which practically makes it only allow SUV/ pickup tires to be fitted.
  • The solar film provided by MI sucks. Do yourself a favor is opt out the solar film for 50 buck rebate and go outside and do a better quality (and darker) film.
  • The color option sucks, no young color options. Silver is meh, the blue is too uncle and red is too aunty, in the end most folk choose white. They should have a WRX blue!
  • Due to it's popularity, it's no longer a "rare car" status and quite common on streets. It's becoming as common as the X-trail or Qhasqai, but Vezel still wins in popularity. Now everytime I look at the streets and saw a FXT I will say "yucks"....lol..
  • The exhaust note is non-existent. few days ago during CNY, I was irritate by a Honda Jazz who kept revving his illegal loud exhaust at the junction. I think he wants to "haolian" cos who revs exhaust this way at idling. I line up beside him and rev, no sound!! only the usual hiss...lol.
  • So far no car dare to makan my FXT, I can keep up with most fast cars.
  • take caution when you clean the piano black trims in the interior, they are vulnerable to scratches, don't peel off the protective plastic if you haven't done so.

Hope these will help on your decision to go ahead.

You can read my review on the FXT here:

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_reviews.php?CarCode=11321&RID=3729#comments3729

Edited by Pocus
  • Praise 11

After owning the Forester XT for 6 mths and honeymoon period over, here are some of my opinions about the car.

• Fuel Economy is as per any 2.0 Turbo car, nothing great, nothing too bad either.
  • So far none of the Forester owners in the fraternity managed to engage X-mode effectively, simply cos we don't have such challenging roads in Singapore, or even the usual route in Malaysia.
  • Auto tailgate is slow in opening, sometimes if I'm rushing I just bypass the automation to open immediately, but still engage auto close when I enter the cabin to start my engine.
  • After take other friend's/colleague's ride, I still feel the forester soundproofing is quite superior.
  • Tire profile rare due to the weird 18"x7"rim size (18"x7.5" is more common) which practically makes it only allow SUV/ pickup tires to be fitted.
  • The solar film provided by MI sucks. Do yourself a favor is opt out the solar film for 50 buck rebate and go outside and do a better quality (and darker) film.
  • The color option sucks, no young color options. Silver is meh, the blue is too uncle and red is too aunty, in the end most folk choose white. They should have a WRX blue!
  • Due to it's popularity, it's no longer a "rare car" status and quite common on streets. It's becoming as common as the X-trail or Qhasqai, but Vezel still wins in popularity. Now everytime I look at the streets and saw a FXT I will say "yucks"....lol..
  • The exhaust note is non-existent. few days ago during CNY, I was irritate by a Honda Jazz who kept revving his illegal loud exhaust at the junction. I think he wants to "haolian" cos who revs exhaust this way at idling. I line up beside him and rev, no sound!! only the usual hiss...lol.
  • take caution when you clean the piano black trims in the interior, they are vulnerable to scratches, don't peel off the protective plastic if you haven't done so.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_reviews.php?CarCode=11321&RID=3729#comments3729

You gonna change tire profile/rims?

Couldn't agree more with your review.

Definately a car you drive in, not one that you ride in. If u know what i mean.

You gonna change tire profile/rims?

nope, at the moment I choose FC over tire choices... meddling with rims will affect FC.

Couldn't agree more with your review.

Definately a car you drive in, not one that you ride in. If u know what i mean.

True, it's a driver's car that's what it is.

The true reason why you will choose the Subaru SUV over others is bcos you love to drive.

If you want to be perceive as a smart and practical yuppy, better get the Vezel.

If you have a big family and want a nice A to B car, better get X-trail.

If you want to impress your aunties/uncles during CNY, better stick to the conti brand.

If you love to drive and want a SUV, don't need to look at other threads. This is the one.

Edited by Pocus

What I learned during CNY from older relatives who know nut about cars:

"Wah you buy Honda(vezel), resale value very good and good quality, good choice!"

"Wah a Volvo! You must be doing so well at work. Banker pay very good hor?"

"What is a Forester? Subaru? Isn't it Ah beng car? I see, not bad lah..." (notice the lack of interest)

In the end, all looking that number plate to buy 4D.

Edited by Pocus

Good review Bro Pocus.... if only I read it few months earlier... haaa.... talking to MI SE see can sell a few weeks old ride and get the XT ... but waste time only..... will lost until underwear also gone....haaa Edited by Nlatio

Good review Bro Pocus.... if only I read it few months earlier... haaa.... talking to MI SE see can sell a few weeks old ride and get the XT ... but waste time only..... will lost until underwear also gone....haaa

What car you got now? Can't be that bad right?

No lar it's ok.... just that once test drive a ride like the Subaru XV and Forester, like u say if one really want to drive, Forester is the one... haaaa.... tio Subaru poison... haaaa

You drive Vezel is it? Not too bad lah.

The only complain I have, after sitting my uncle's Vezel is the cabin soundproofing and "rough" engine noise, maybe too pamper by my forester. Otherwise it's quite a peppy car, the power is there.

If I were to choose XV and Vezel, I'd go for the latter, the power of the XV is not acceptable to for me.

You drive Vezel is it? Not too bad lah.

The only complain I have, after sitting my uncle's Vezel is the cabin soundproofing and "rough" engine noise, maybe too pamper by my forester. Otherwise it's quite a peppy car, the power is there.

If I were to choose XV and Vezel, I'd go for the latter, the power of the XV is not acceptable to for me.

Agree on the power part, but the more stable and quieter is the xv advantage.... OK lar, cannot complain already, got new ride to drive... haaaa.... next round bah...

Old news le. Asked SE and he says SG do not have any cars from Msia. All will be from Japan.

I believe Msia's production is for Msia market.

Edited by evo171

Old news le. Asked SE and he says SG do not have any cars from Msia. All will be from Japan.

Maybe oem to proton brand. Like the mit lancer ex. That's why cover the logo.

Into the third month of ownership, my forester NA has achieved 640km with 50L of petrol. 90% highway without much jam. Imagine I am driving the facelift NA that rated 16Km/l FC....

Actually you can import from Subaru Japan CKD and assemble it yourself.

Malaysia already had a Subaru plant since years back and even produced previous models. Its for regional markets excluding Singapore which still import from Japan.

Last time there was even a small plant in Singapore assembling WRXs. A joint project with local ITE or Poly. They say they may assemble Subarus locally for Singapore market...unfortunately didn't materialize.