Keithlbc 1st Gear December 3, 2016 Share December 3, 2016 Not sure how long you drive here. Singapore road is definitely very bumpy compared to 15 to 20yrs ago. Dun tink its a fair comparison. Roads r much more bumpy say 50 years old? when trishaws rule? If u drive in msia fair enough, u will appreciate SG roads for the even-ness and brightness. Many uneven SG roads sounds way too exaggerated. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarion 4th Gear December 3, 2016 Share December 3, 2016 MI says they aren't doing in-house brake upgrades anymore. That's a shame, since STI Brembos are great. MI soundproofing starts at $550 for lightweight Clasani, then goes up to $680 for more effective but heavier 3M panels. These prices are for 4 doors only. Stock rotors and calipers truly are damn heavy, especially the cast-iron calipers. Aftermarket calipers are aluminium and a fraction of the weight, and the weight savings on brakes are unsprung (not borne by suspension) vs sprung (borne by suspension). Losing a bit of unsprung weight is the equivalent of losing lots of sprung weight STi Brembos are not that light either, trust me... for current FXT brakes and rotors are big enuf for normal driver, just change pads and sports tyres should be sufficient already. if scared brake fade then change rotors as well when warranty over lor... lightweight calipers are costly, Prodrive not easily available anymore, and anyone who spends on ENDLESS or Project Mu have lots of moolah... it's an SUV, the savings in unsprung weight won't have that significant impact lah... Dun tink its a fair comparison. Roads r much more bumpy say 50 years old? when trishaws rule? If u drive in msia fair enough, u will appreciate SG roads for the even-ness and brightness. Many uneven SG roads sounds way too exaggerated. bumpy becos 50yr ago they don't dig and fill and dig and fill every other bloody day (and dunno how to fill properly). and some road surfaces are really freaking bad, e.g. CTE towards city exit road to Bukit Timah, so bloody noisy and rough... dunno where our road tax go to... (to build more speed cameras and ERP gantries...) 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxi14 1st Gear December 3, 2016 Share December 3, 2016 Not sure how long you drive here. Singapore road is definitely very bumpy compared to 15 to 20yrs ago. Tohto, that is very true. Not such a smooth driving experience as years before. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SJGDKK8 1st Gear December 3, 2016 Share December 3, 2016 Tohto, that is very true. Not such a smooth driving experience as years before.You guys are lucky don't drive in Tuas and Pioneer road. Buy SUV must drive in terrain mah... those who drive there will understand... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SJGDKK8 1st Gear December 3, 2016 Share December 3, 2016 Thanks for the pointers. I am driving Murano now (left 1 y 9 m). Contemplating to change or not. Always hoping to drive a conti AWD. Initially looking at a used X3. Then my CFO says conti not worth it. Say should look at new car instead of old conti. Non-conti and AWD, that is why I am looking at Forester. Test drove XT, the car is very responsive. I think if Forester can give me a daily good driving experience on the road, it should be able to stay with me for a long time. So maybe not selling in the near future. At least finish the loan first then plan again. If you take away the badge... FXT is comparable specs to Q5, X3/X5, Land Rover Evoque and Volvo XC 60... definitely not a fair comparisons given each have their pros and cons... I am mainly referring to 2l turbo AWD with sunroof and autotail gate... decent build I know Evoque is much less thirsty than FXT as my OC drIves a Evoque but space wise FXT feels much bigger... plus the conti have auto start stop and more tech... BMW drive is way more refine... But FXT local fitted speakers on the dash keep popping up... TOP up petrol more frequent... I usually TOP till max until nearly flow out... btw I dun really care abt FC... but for the sake of those who keep asking... 2 l turbo AWD SUV if you care about FC... FXT is thirsty... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yashiro71 1st Gear December 3, 2016 Share December 3, 2016 If you take away the badge... FXT is comparable specs to Q5, X3/X5, Land Rover Evoque and Volvo XC 60... definitely not a fair comparisons given each have their pros and cons... I am mainly referring to 2l turbo AWD with sunroof and autotail gate... decent build I know Evoque is much less thirsty than FXT as my OC drIves a Evoque but space wise FXT feels much bigger... plus the conti have auto start stop and more tech... BMW drive is way more refine... But FXT local fitted speakers on the dash keep popping up... TOP up petrol more frequent... I usually TOP till max until nearly flow out... btw I dun really care abt FC... but for the sake of those who keep asking... 2 l turbo AWD SUV if you care about FC... FXT is thirsty... Prob depends on driving habit. My male friend drives an evoque. He gets about 7km/l at most.FXT need to change to wider rim before install any BBK.I asked MI before. They said they can install Brembo bbk and STi rims (which fit the bbk) for forester. But the cost is a whopping $10k if I remember correctly. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear December 3, 2016 Share December 3, 2016 (edited) I asked MI before. They said they can install Brembo bbk and STi rims (which fit the bbk) for forester. But the cost is a whopping $10k if I remember correctly.Thanks for confirming this. When did you ask MI? This year or before this year? I'm not surprised at the pricing. Doesn't make sense to buy the rims from MI though, just the brakes, though I suspect MI would insist you do the wheels with them too. Interesting that MI Toa Payoh told me a few months ago that they've stopped doing brakes for all models. But I shouldn't be surprised since I've been given wrong answers before. Edited December 3, 2016 by Muser 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Muser 4th Gear December 3, 2016 Share December 3, 2016 (edited) STi Brembos are not that light either, trust me... for current FXT brakes and rotors are big enuf for normal driver, just change pads and sports tyres should be sufficient already. if scared brake fade then change rotors as well when warranty over lor... lightweight calipers are costly, Prodrive not easily available anymore, and anyone who spends on ENDLESS or Project Mu have lots of moolah... it's an SUV, the savings in unsprung weight won't have that significant impact lah... Dunno about Forester but stock Legacy and Outback front calipers are about 10kg. AP CP6600 calipers are 2.5kg, for example. A quarter of the weight. Yes, aftermarket brakes are very costly. But for brake modulation, there's no substitute for a fixed multi-piston setup, and improved brake modulation makes a huge difference in traffic. I agree that unsprung weight savings on a stock SUV probably won't be dramatically noticeable. Leng Kee say can. Actually TP didn't say no. But say owner got to buy the full set meaning front and rear. For OB and Legacy.. rear cannot put coz may interfere E brakes n e brakes void warranty. For FXT and FNA it's possible coz not e brake. Can always try and ask.. You're right, no harm asking. Plus I'm used to asking multiple times and getting multiple different answers, lol. Sigh. And looks like in this case I'm wrong, MI told me more than once that they don't do any brake upgrades anymore but some bros seems to have a gotten a yes from MI for Forester brakes. Interesting. Edited December 3, 2016 by Muser Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
tansn76 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 Hi Bro, need some input from your guys. thanks Collected my sepia broze FNA last weekend, happy and good ride. Yesterday went to install auto central lock module, step on brake pedal then all door lock. But after that, notice that whenever lock unlock doors, there is a tic-tac sound quite loud. any bro here installed auto central lock got this sound? is it normal? Another thing is after turn off the car, door unlock. when open door can here a zzzz sound, not so loud. is it normal? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 You guys are lucky don't drive in Tuas and Pioneer road. Buy SUV must drive in terrain mah... those who drive there will understand... I did drive there occasionally, the road conditions are really bad there. LTA are sleeping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 Dun tink its a fair comparison. Roads r much more bumpy say 50 years old? when trishaws rule? If u drive in msia fair enough, u will appreciate SG roads for the even-ness and brightness. Many uneven SG roads sounds way too exaggerated. sorry to burst your pride for SG roads.. they were good and smooth but over the years they have gotten to be bumpy and uneven.. ESP the expressways. On the other hand MY expressways have definitely improved.. Uncle bones and butt can feel it.. I did drive there occasionally, the road conditions are really bad there. LTA are sleeping. That's why we like to buy SUV in SG.. too many terrains to conquer 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 Dun tink its a fair comparison. Roads r much more bumpy say 50 years old? when trishaws rule? If u drive in msia fair enough, u will appreciate SG roads for the even-ness and brightness. Many uneven SG roads sounds way too exaggerated. We should compared to others developed countryou for the road conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 Dunno about Forester but stock Legacy and Outback front calipers are about 10kg. AP CP6600 calipers are 2.5kg, for example. A quarter of the weight. Yes, aftermarket brakes are very costly. But for brake modulation, there's no substitute for a fixed multi-piston setup, and improved brake modulation makes a huge difference in traffic. I agree that unsprung weight savings on a stock SUV probably won't be dramatically noticeable. You're right, no harm asking. Plus I'm used to asking multiple times and getting multiple different answers, lol. Sigh. And looks like in this case I'm wrong, MI told me more than once that they don't do any brake upgrades anymore but some bros seems to have a gotten a yes from MI for Forester brakes. Interesting. Think MI service staff also as confused..We should compared to others developed countryou for the road conditions.Actually no need to compare to developed countries.. compared to Msia, Thailand and even Indo.. expressways .. we are not there now.. PIE around Toa Payoh n Kallang for example.. boing boing.. damn uneven.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yashiro71 1st Gear December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 Thanks for confirming this. When did you ask MI? This year or before this year? I'm not surprised at the pricing. Doesn't make sense to buy the rims from MI though, just the brakes, though I suspect MI would insist you do the wheels with them too. Interesting that MI Toa Payoh told me a few months ago that they've stopped doing brakes for all models. But I shouldn't be surprised since I've been given wrong answers before. I asked in the middle of this year. The SEs had no idea, and referred me to their technical and sales person. In the end MI told me must buy rims first because the original rims won't fit. Even the SE advised me not to do it as there was too much mark up. Hahah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 You guys are lucky don't drive in Tuas and Pioneer road. Buy SUV must drive in terrain mah... those who drive there will understand... daily affair for me ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wattokkingu 3rd Gear December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 If you take away the badge... FXT is comparable specs to Q5, X3/X5, Land Rover Evoque and Volvo XC 60... definitely not a fair comparisons given each have their pros and cons... I am mainly referring to 2l turbo AWD with sunroof and autotail gate... decent build I know Evoque is much less thirsty than FXT as my OC drIves a Evoque but space wise FXT feels much bigger... plus the conti have auto start stop and more tech... BMW drive is way more refine... But FXT local fitted speakers on the dash keep popping up... TOP up petrol more frequent... I usually TOP till max until nearly flow out... btw I dun really care abt FC... but for the sake of those who keep asking... 2 l turbo AWD SUV if you care about FC... FXT is thirsty... Be careful not to top off more fuel till close to over flow. If you keep doing that, it may stress the fuel filter, and also if the car has some sort of charcoal filter to filter out the fuel vapors, that may cause damage to that filter as well. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dito129 Clutched December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 can latest fxt owner share list of freebies from SE for recent sign up? I have standard solar, f+b cam, auto fold mirror. Firming the deal soon. tia. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yashiro71 1st Gear December 4, 2016 Share December 4, 2016 can latest fxt owner share list of freebies from SE for recent sign up? I have standard solar, f+b cam, auto fold mirror. Firming the deal soon. tia. Can try to ask for window shades and floor mats too. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...