2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

Hi bros,

1.5 yr late but will watch out for next available rare ones hopefully before I lose driving the forester:

http://buyee.jp/item/yahoo/auction/m181665396

Believe this will nicely complement the wrx sti seats.

Enjoy !

Cheers.

Richard

Hi Dach/Bros,

Made some inquiries to japanese sellers of forester TS parts but looks like not plausible.

Limited 300 units of forester ts in Japan seems to have speedometer  for older versions A and B only as per photo above with 0 rpm/kmhr at 8 o'clock position and not like ours at 9 o'clock position that will not work then.

Seems the remaining 300 units of forester ts in Australia is equipped with versions C and D (mine) with 9 o'clock position but max kmhr is 240 and not 260 like ours which again likely not work ... it is also not as attractive and basically with only STI logo on the rpm meter.

Looks like further venture mod on speedometer to duplicate STI one will need local shop to mod which is not a bad idea as swap of speedometer requires resetting immobiliser which I am not aware of any.

Cheers,

post-149594-0-26041900-1529292208_thumb.jpg

Edited by richard_crl032

Well, if you are really into sti speedometer. I can direct you to a Russian guy who do mod on speedo to your specific car. Check out sti speedo from Canada. It can be mod and program into Forester with your requested mileage into the speedo.

I've asked before and it's close to usd440 shipped with everything mod nicely for you. Once you received just plug and play.

Well, if you are really into sti speedometer. I can direct you to a Russian guy who do mod on speedo to your specific car. Check out sti speedo from Canada. It can be mod and program into Forester with your requested mileage into the speedo.

I've asked before and it's close to usd440 shipped with everything mod nicely for you. Once you received just plug and play.

Hi Kayaroti,

Thanks !!

Please pm me your Russian contact and/or also share this sti speedo in Canada.

I really doubt usd440 is possible inclusive of stock forester speedometer to be modded or if they even know since forester sti aka ts is only limited 300x2 release in Japan and Australia .. but will proceed if possible.

Thanks in advance and cheers.

Richard

PS: I can get the meters' template fabricated by UK supplier as I had done so to correct qashqai's mile/hr to km/hr in its speedometer but not sure if local ws will add the smd leds for required blacklight as they previously did change led colors for my estima.

Edited by richard_crl032

Bro Richard.. don’t get too addicted in aesthetics,. Speedometer don’t make the drive better or make the car faster..

Come come test drive my aesthetically stock looking car with stock monochrome dashboard...

This car can drive much much better with a custom ECU remap from a good tuner than stock than on a generic RS Chip or Racechip or the run of the mill tuner.. I tuned twice with 2 subaru tuners.. master tuner and normal tuner got difference

Edited by Chucky2007

Bro Richard.. donât get too addicted in aesthetics,. Speedometer donât make the drive better or make the car faster..

Come come test drive my aesthetically stock looking car with stock monochrome dashboard...

This car can drive much much better with a custom ECU remap from a good tuner than stock than on a generic RS Chip or Racechip or the run of the mill tuner.. I tuned twice with 2 subaru tuners.. master tuner and normal tuner got difference

Hey Chucky,

No lah .. me not chiongster and fxt is more than enuff for uncle Richard meh .. lol !

Can only try to alleviate what irks me the most aesthetically or missed functionalities especially to have a bit of uniqueness by venturing where it is not tried locally for reference by interested bros ... hence the mods on rear aircon, deblack, derack, wrx sti seats, lexus/forester SP, steering wheel rewrap including srs cover, android headunit with digital output and flawless fm radio programs ... and this hope for modded speedometer which is a bit tricky due to immobiliser together with getting dsd playback in my audio setup.

It is a journey only and makes car ownership and more importantly life engaged and a bit more interesting .. keke !

But ... never say never and perhaps someday on to performance mods and sit down with you again, including mod to 6MT transmission, 600 bhp fxt sjg etc. which is another big can of worms but just not bored enuff yet .. haha !

Cheers.

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

Hi shifus, just got a forester. First time buying new car. So want to protect it. Would like to ask if film or coating is better??

Edited by StBear

Hi shifus, just got a forester. First time buying new car. So want to protect it. Would like to ask if film or coating is better??

Hi StBear,

Congratulation on your new ride !!!

Not sure why you ponder over film and coating ..... film to change the outlook or color if you somehow did not get your choice and wish for film while coating primarily is to keep chosen color hopefully a bit longer.  If you are thinking of transparent film, I had not heard any of equitable quality finish as compared to to the original paint especially with added coating.

For me, I like my car shiny and easy to clean and hence opted for coating especially since I never like the either dull or bling bling film.

Should you decide on film which is certainly much more ex than coating, other bros can perhaps recommend as I had only seen cheap colored film wraps but heard that some installers may spoil your original paint job due to cutting with pen knife when they do the wrapping ... please clarify and ensure that is not your case.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi StBear,

Congratulation on your new ride !!!

Not sure why you ponder over film and coating ..... film to change the outlook or color if you somehow did not get your choice and wish for film while coating primarily is to keep chosen color hopefully a bit longer. If you are thinking of transparent film, I had not heard any of equitable quality finish as compared to to the original paint especially with added coating.

For me, I like my car shiny and easy to clean and hence opted for coating especially since I never like the either dull or bling bling film.

Should you decide on film which is certainly much more ex than coating, other bros can perhaps recommend as I had only seen cheap colored film wraps but heard that some installers may spoil your original paint job due to cutting with pen knife when they do the wrapping ... please clarify and ensure that is not your case.

Cheers,

Richard

Thanks Richard!

Cause my friend said that films are better at protecting against stone chips?? And yes. Very ex, abt 3k for whole car?

Thanks Richard!

Cause my friend said that films are better at protecting against stone chips?? And yes. Very ex, abt 3k for whole car?

Hi StBear,

Indeed film will be better against stone chips but frankly hardly happening on Singapore road and not easy to be noticed even if it happens.  Also not sure on how such 3k transparent film will look but should be good albeit cannot make paint job better than stock.

3k I will get paint shop to clay down stock paint and respray in 3-4 years for near Merc quality paint job ....

I did 9H ceramic glass coating for about sgd400 which simply sealed whatever stock paint quality was for a longer duration and help keep dirts off as much as possible as well as ease maintenance.

Should you proceed, kindly share your experience ... TIA.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi StBear,

Indeed film will be better against stone chips but frankly hardly happening on Singapore road and not easy to be noticed even if it happens.  Also not sure on how such 3k transparent film will look but should be good albeit cannot make paint job better than stock.

3k I will get paint shop to clay down stock paint and respray in 3-4 years for near Merc quality paint job ....

I did 9H ceramic glass coating for about sgd400 which simply sealed whatever stock paint quality was for a longer duration and help keep dirts off as much as possible as well as ease maintenance.

Cheers,

Richard

but film can help against those idiots who will happily bang their car door against your car door mah... most of films at such price range should be self-healing.

and also if suay suay buah the corners of the bumpers against wall, again film better than coating.

even so, i also in the end save money and just went coating and also get cheapo bumper protector for front and rear for <$100 to guard against the walls haha...

Edited by Sarion

but film can help against those idiots who will happily bang their car door against your car door mah... most of films at such price range should be self-healing.

and also if suay suay buah the corners of the bumpers against wall, again film better than coating.

even so, i also in the end save money and just went coating and also get cheapo bumper protector for front and rear for <$100 to guard against the walls haha...

Those idiots that open their door without using their brain, scratch yes i think can help. But dents also bobian. I just ganna one last week -_- Edited by Zpliu

Hi Sarion,

As bro Zpliu mentioned, indeed will protect paint better only but I doubt will prevent dented surface or scratching on car against wall.

Quite sure that there will be shelf life and not sure how gim gim it can be or even last in our nice tropical weather.

At any rate, sgd3k is too much for me to experiment with and ok for occasional typical dent or scratches.

Cheers.

Richard

Hi Sarion,

As bro Zpliu mentioned, indeed will protect paint better only but I doubt will prevent dented surface or scratching on car against wall.

Quite sure that there will be shelf life and not sure how gim gim it can be or even last in our nice tropical weather.

At any rate, sgd3k is too much for me to experiment with and ok for occasional typical dent or scratches.

Cheers.

Richard

given at 3k, I think can repray the car every 3 years. IMHO can spray twice even.  [:p]

Hi StBear,

Indeed film will be better against stone chips but frankly hardly happening on Singapore road and not easy to be noticed even if it happens. Also not sure on how such 3k transparent film will look but should be good albeit cannot make paint job better than stock.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Richard,

Haha. Doubt I will do film. Unless tonight i am one of the winners of the 4mil toto. Haha

Bumper protector? Those black rubber strips?? Edited by StBear

Hi Richard,

Haha. Doubt I will do film. Unless tonight i am one of the winners of the 4mil toto. Haha

Bumper protector? Those black rubber strips??

Hi StBear,

Lol ... if I am one of winners of 4mil toto draw, you can take my forester foc.

However, dun keep your hope too high since I dun punt ... at my age, I dun need good luck as long as I dun have bad ones :(

Cheers.

Richard

Hi StBear,

Lol ... if I am one of winners of 4mil toto draw, you can take my forester foc.

However, dun keep your hope too high since I dun punt ... at my age, I dun need good luck as long as I dun have bad ones :(

Cheers.

Richard

Hahaha. Make me song for a while. Haha. True. No bad luck is good luck liao

Hi Bros,

Glad to see this forum is very active. I am a fairly new owner of FXT (got mine in end Nov 17), and have been trying to read up all 700+ pages of this forum. Initially, I tried to read from pg 1, but realize it will take me ages to catch up, hence I decided to read backwards from the most recent pages. Haha  

Sorry, for using short cut method, but I need advice on the following :

1) I have been trying to fix the wheel alignment, car keeps steer left. After bring to MI 3 times and most recent on 9th June during my 10k servicing, but still no success even after rotating the tyres. I have tried asking Kenny wheel alignment, but he said no guarantee. Any bros have any solution to this? 

2) I have read up some posts mentioned by you guys on installing front strut and ARB. Is anti-roll bar same as anti-sway bar? Is it ok if I just install ARB without front strut bar?

Thankssss guys!

Hi Bros,

Glad to see this forum is very active. I am a fairly new owner of FXT (got mine in end Nov 17), and have been trying to read up all 700+ pages of this forum. Initially, I tried to read from pg 1, but realize it will take me ages to catch up, hence I decided to read backwards from the most recent pages. Haha

Sorry, for using short cut method, but I need advice on the following :

1) I have been trying to fix the wheel alignment, car keeps steer left. After bring to MI 3 times and most recent on 9th June during my 10k servicing, but still no success even after rotating the tyres. I have tried asking Kenny wheel alignment, but he said no guarantee. Any bros have any solution to this?

2) I have read up some posts mentioned by you guys on installing front strut and ARB. Is anti-roll bar same as anti-sway bar? Is it ok if I just install ARB without front strut bar?

Thankssss guys!

Hi Busytiger,

1. Since MI and even Kenny had looked into this issue, I can only recommend trying the sti front flexible stiffener since it is strangely on right side only due to presence of the exhaust I think which led to me selling off mine since not noticable misalignment (kenny's test showed only 0.4% max when I did my alignment after installation of the magic collars). Not cheap and experimental ...

https://www.sti.jp/en/parts/forester_sj/chassis/ST20118SF000/

2. Anti roll ARB is same as anti sway per usual setup of most cars aka stabilising bars. Sure, upgrade your front ARB without front strut but think betta to upgrade also stock already installed rear ARB first or get complete front+rear cusco ARB ... front strut to some is a bit redundant due to already stiff and heavy front of our fxt and rear ARB more important unlike front with minimal roll and front steering. In summary, rear arb-> front arb->front strut->rear strut or just get sti pink spring 1st to see if your are happy with stock front/rear ARB without front strut ... think forester ts only added primarily the single front sti stiffener, pair of rear stiffener, flexible subframe, sti lowered suspension etc. but think no change to the ARBs for a reason.

https://www.citysubaru.com.au/blog/subaru-forester/an-advance-review-of-the-new-subaru-forester-ts/

Cheers.

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032