Should men be the sole $$ contributor despite both working?

Icebrush79

bless you! hang in there be strong!

that mean dun you dare fall sick! [laugh]

can die cannot fall sick.... [bigcry] at least die got insurance payout....

wah 12k/month income is low?

how come i can have car, hdb flat and raise 3 kids on much less?

[sweatdrop]

You must be badly in debt, slap your own face swollen to look rich.

[sweatdrop]

Because you have tax concessions? [laugh]

Maybe he 12k x 13 months, you 10k x 24 months?

Edited by Mason016

You must be badly in debt, slap your own face swollen to look rich.

You forgot he got 700K cash, from where this I don't know. [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

Actually my bad - a clearer topic title should be - Are men expected to be the sole financial contributor despite both spouse working. 

title changed, that is the best i can summarised to the limited wording.

[sweatdrop]

12k household combined income is low, not individual income

Do not have time to run through the 19 pages of replies, but here are my thought upon seeing the revised title.

I believe in co-sharing financial burden of the family to some extent, while more or less (% of sharing) is not important. A family is owned by both husband and wife, so both have the responsibility to maintain it. For my case, I don't expect my wife to pay anything associating to the house, car, child education, but she will chip in for daily expenses, and co-share for our family trips overseas. In this manner, she can also help to save up for rainy days and our retirement.

End of the day, as long as husband and wife happy with their financial arrangement, it is ok liao. Don't need to be too calculative. [flowerface] [flowerface]

low to do what?

to live the high life...yeah

to raise a family no

Subjective - raise a family

- staying in private vs public housing

- going to good schools vs normal schools

- having quality food vs hawker food

And the list goes on?

Are private housing , good schools and quality food high life ? No they ain't, it's just what kind of lifestyle you wanna provide for your loved ones - everyone has their own defination.

It is fair to say 12k household income is low for PMET standards .

And the list goes on?

Are private housing , good schools and quality food high life ? No they ain't, it's just what kind of lifestyle you wanna provide for your loved ones - everyone has their own defination.

except maybe good schools.... the rest are more of wants than needs

And the list goes on?

You must know a lot of rich technicians  [laugh]

except maybe good schools.... the rest are more of wants than needs

Again, wrong.

The housing type defines the environment kids grow up in. I'm sure many will agree. Esp latchkey kids, those staying in those ah beng infested estates may grow up looking up to them.

Food wise, half right - it's a want yes, but then again which parent doesn't want goodness for their kids- exposure to better quality type of food .

It's a never ending argument la, some parents don't mind bringing up multiple kids not being able to afford certain QOL for them, others mind.

So let's not get so sensitive over a mere figure and move on shall we?