Mason016 Supersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 You come down from Bukit Timah liao ah ? Or Mt Ophir ?No wonder got loud explosion sound. Sounded like some stone covering a cave got blown away. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 You come down from Bukit Timah liao ah ? Or Mt Ophir ? I came back from Mt MO!!! Bukit Demon!!! 魔山!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 No wonder got loud explosion sound. Sounded like some stone covering a cave got blown away. HAHAHA that's freaking hilarious this post deserves more than 5 points Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 (edited) No wonder got loud explosion sound. Sounded like some stone covering a cave got blown away. Edited May 31, 2018 by Tianmo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 And so here it goes. lets talk about fats and carbs, who is worse than the other? I have been on a low carb diet ( but not as high a fat intake as LCHF would like) for a few years. But have now switched over to a High carbs no fat diet for 2 months. I try out IF with HCNF (High Carbs No Fats) after some reading and study. And now after 2 months, the result is weight came now by 2kg back to 65kg, but pant size somehow reduce to even smaller than when I was 63kg on LCHF. When I was on LCHF, my lowest was 63kg and in between pant size 30 and 31. Weight went up to 66kg, IF took it down to 63kg again and finally stable at 65kg. Pant size drop back to between size 30 and 31. I decided to try this approach after my weight went up to 67kg, and pants tighten till almost cannot button during the CNY period. CNY mess everything up, including IF on OMAD, so I am on 16-18 hrs fasting and feeding of 6-8 hrs weekdays, where I eat high complex carbs and almost no fat. Weekends I eat anything on OMAD, somewhere ard midday. As of today, my weight is 65kg, and pant size dropped to between 29 and 30. Size 31 has gone so loose that tightening the belt is making it look untidy. Quite a surprise actually. How is a high carb diet on IF able to do this? Yes, both diet works, but mixing them will kill you sooner than later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 (edited) Here is what I found out. Protein, fats and carbs, we can drop one grp but we can hardly drop protein. So as long as we are taking in enough protein, we can live with either fats or carbs. The questions is what type of fats and what type of carbs. Not all fats and carbs are made the same. But there are a few things we want to look at. The body is born to store fat at any given opportunity, consumed fats get stored first while carbs and protein will be converted and store as body fats only when there is excess. Although everyone is talking about carbs rising insulin, the thing is as long as we eat ( anything), we rise insulin, the question is how high? The higher insulin raises, the more powerful its storage ability. But if we eat no fat with carbs, the carbs will rise insulin, but there is no fat to store . If there is no excess carbs or protein in that meal, there is nothing to store. While there is nothing to store after meal, IF keeps insulin so low that the body has to unlock body fat for energy while waiting for the next meal. The other thing is, 1g of carbs/protein create 4 kcal, 1g of fat provides 9 kcal. The same amount of food in carbs/protein is not the same as fats. Yes we want to be insulin sensitive and not resistance, but we also don’t want to become insulin over sensitive. I can write a wall of text, but in short, on a high complex carbs diet, we can eat a lot more food over a high fats diet, just be sure to keep fat as low as possible when carbs is high. However, if anyone is already insulin resistant, high fats mayb the better option. Edited May 31, 2018 by Tianmo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 Here is what I found out. Protein, fats and carbs, we can drop one grp but we can hardly drop protein. So as long as we are taking in enough protein, we can live with either fats or carbs. The questions is what type of fats and what type of carbs. Not all fats and carbs are made the same. But there are a few things we want to look at. The body is born to store fat at any given opportunity, consumed fats get stored first while carbs and protein will be converted and store as body fats only when there is excess. Although everyone is talking about carbs rising insulin, the thing is as long as we eat ( anything), we rise insulin, the question is how high? The higher insulin raises, the more powerful its storage ability. But if we eat no fat with carbs, the carbs will rise insulin, but there is no fat to store . If there is no excess carbs or protein in that meal, there is nothing to store. While there is nothing to store after meal, IF keeps insulin so low that the body has to unlock body fat for energy while waiting for the next meal. The other thing is, 1g of carbs/protein create 4 kcal, 1g of fat provides 9 kcal. The same amount of food in carbs/protein is not the same as fats. Yes we want to be insulin sensitive and not resistance, but we also donât want to become insulin over sensitive. I can write a wall of text, but in short, on a high complex carbs diet, we can eat a lot more food over a high fats diet, just be sure to keep fat as low as possible when carbs is high. However, if anyone is already insulin resistant, high fats mayb the better option. Please let me digest your wall of cheem text over a plate of ckt. Reply you after I have burped. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 No wonder got loud explosion sound. Sounded like some stone covering a cave got blown away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 Here is what I found out. Protein, fats and carbs, we can drop one grp but we can hardly drop protein. So as long as we are taking in enough protein, we can live with either fats or carbs. The questions is what type of fats and what type of carbs. Not all fats and carbs are made the same. But there are a few things we want to look at. The body is born to store fat at any given opportunity, consumed fats get stored first while carbs and protein will be converted and store as body fats only when there is excess. Although everyone is talking about carbs rising insulin, the thing is as long as we eat ( anything), we rise insulin, the question is how high? The higher insulin raises, the more powerful its storage ability. But if we eat no fat with carbs, the carbs will rise insulin, but there is no fat to store . If there is no excess carbs or protein in that meal, there is nothing to store. While there is nothing to store after meal, IF keeps insulin so low that the body has to unlock body fat for energy while waiting for the next meal. The other thing is, 1g of carbs/protein create 4 kcal, 1g of fat provides 9 kcal. The same amount of food in carbs/protein is not the same as fats. Yes we want to be insulin sensitive and not resistance, but we also don’t want to become insulin over sensitive. I can write a wall of text, but in short, on a high complex carbs diet, we can eat a lot more food over a high fats diet, just be sure to keep fat as low as possible when carbs is high. However, if anyone is already insulin resistant, high fats mayb the better option. Bro, can share the high carb foods that you eat during this period and the quantity per meal that resulted in weight loss? Do you take high carb 3 meals a day? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 But have now switched over to a High carbs no fat diet for 2 months. I decided to try this approach after my weight went up to 67kg, and pants tighten till almost cannot button during the CNY period. CNY mess everything up, including IF on OMAD, so I am on 16-18 hrs fasting and feeding of 6-8 hrs weekdays, where I eat high complex carbs and almost no fat. Weekends I eat anything on OMAD, somewhere ard midday. As of today, my weight is 65kg, and pant size dropped to between 29 and 30. Size 31 has gone so loose that tightening the belt is making it look untidy. Quite a surprise actually. How is a high carb diet on IF able to do this? I agreed with you and it's really something that some people have pointed out before. In particular those into bodybuilding have always maintained that just eat protein ++ and some complex carbs and minimal fat is the best. vs the LCHF vs the HCLF diet usually made up by strict whole foods vegetarians who eat lots of carbs everyday. Somewhere in all these, IF can fit all these diets except the last, cos it's hard to eat your fill in 2 meals if u eat large amount of complex carbs cos of all the fibre. Anyway do share your typical day's diet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 Here is what I found out. Protein, fats and carbs, we can drop one grp but we can hardly drop protein. So as long as we are taking in enough protein, we can live with either fats or carbs. The questions is what type of fats and what type of carbs. Not all fats and carbs are made the same. But there are a few things we want to look at. The body is born to store fat at any given opportunity, consumed fats get stored first while carbs and protein will be converted and store as body fats only when there is excess. Although everyone is talking about carbs rising insulin, the thing is as long as we eat ( anything), we rise insulin, the question is how high? The higher insulin raises, the more powerful its storage ability. But if we eat no fat with carbs, the carbs will rise insulin, but there is no fat to store . If there is no excess carbs or protein in that meal, there is nothing to store. While there is nothing to store after meal, IF keeps insulin so low that the body has to unlock body fat for energy while waiting for the next meal. The other thing is, 1g of carbs/protein create 4 kcal, 1g of fat provides 9 kcal. The same amount of food in carbs/protein is not the same as fats. Yes we want to be insulin sensitive and not resistance, but we also don’t want to become insulin over sensitive. I can write a wall of text, but in short, on a high complex carbs diet, we can eat a lot more food over a high fats diet, just be sure to keep fat as low as possible when carbs is high. However, if anyone is already insulin resistant, high fats mayb the better option. I don't really agree with this statement. But agreed on what you said, that it's more for what diet maybe better for you. If you're already not too overweight, high protein + low fat and good carbs will be good. if you started overweight like me, then fats really do help a lot. I find without my fresh milk or my avocados, i do still tend to crave some carbs after my lunch or dinner. Often i heck care and still eat the carbs or snacks, but i'm trying to be bit more controlled to lose an additional 1 kg i've gained over the last 1-2 months. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 Bro, can share the high carb foods that you eat during this period and the quantity per meal that resulted in weight loss? Do you take high carb 3 meals a day? Bro, for the past 2 months, my main food are eggs, (roll oat, mung bean and red bean), broccoli, cauliflower, bananas, purple sweet potatoes. And No, I dont take 3 meals a day. On weekdays ( mon to fri) I take 1 main meal in the afternoon and the rest is depending on how i feel. Morning 7am -one kopi O kosong from the coffee machine. Afternoon between 2pm to 3pm, Main meal. -3 x 55g eggs (hard boiled or soft boiled with soya sauce and pepper only), i am using chews omega 3 eggs. -abt 100g of roll oats or mung bean or red bean, cook with wolf berries. -1 head of broccoli or 1/3 head of cauliflower, steam and season with soya sauce only. (sometimes I add one small eggplant or a few ladyfingers). -1 large banana -1 purple sweet potato - sometimes i reduce the main and add a can of tuna in water. Afternoon up to 6pm, these are the max i will eat, some days I skip, depending on how I feel. - 2 apples ( sometimes an extra green color pear) - 1 large banana - 2-4 small pac of wangwang rice crackers, or pickle cucumbers. evening between 8pm to 10pm. Not fix, some days I just skip totally. - 1 scoop whey with pan salt, or 1 small bowl of cornflakes with milk. There is almost no oil added, and the only animal product is the tuna in water. The other food after the main meal are not fix, but if I do eat will be those listed. I rotate the main dish every week, like one week oats, next week mung beans, follow by red beans and back to oats. Being lazy, I would cook them for a week supply. Oats will be 400g for a week supply, while the beans are 500g each week. I pack them into 5 containers for 5 days and just add water or milk for cold dish or heat up for a warm one. Weekend i go out and loot whatever OC and the kids want to eat, but that would be the only meal of the day. Usually between 1-3pm. No food after 5pm on weekends. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 you're really damn disciplined with your diet dunno how u eat so much rolled oats/beans with just wolf berries. To me, rolled oats must eat with milk haha Bro, for the past 2 months, my main food are eggs, (roll oat, mung bean and red bean), broccoli, cauliflower, bananas, purple sweet potatoes. And No, I dont take 3 meals a day. On weekdays ( mon to fri) I take 1 main meal in the afternoon and the rest is depending on how i feel. Morning 7am -one kopi O kosong from the coffee machine. Afternoon between 2pm to 3pm, Main meal. -3 x 55g eggs (hard boiled or soft boiled with soya sauce and pepper only), i am using chews omega 3 eggs. -abt 100g of roll oats or mung bean or red bean, cook with wolf berries. -1 head of broccoli or 1/3 head of cauliflower, steam and season with soya sauce only. (sometimes I add one small eggplant or a few ladyfingers). -1 large banana -1 purple sweet potato - sometimes i reduce the main and add a can of tuna in water. Afternoon up to 6pm, these are the max i will eat, some days I skip, depending on how I feel. - 2 apples ( sometimes an extra green color pear) - 1 large banana - 2-4 small pac of wangwang rice crackers, or pickle cucumbers. evening between 8pm to 10pm. Not fix, some days I just skip totally. - 1 scoop whey with pan salt, or 1 small bowl of cornflakes with milk. There is almost no oil added, and the only animal product is the tuna in water. The other food after the main meal are not fix, but if I do eat will be those listed. I rotate the main dish every week, like one week oats, next week mung beans, follow by red beans and back to oats. Being lazy, I would cook them for a week supply. Oats will be 400g for a week supply, while the beans are 500g each week. I pack them into 5 containers for 5 days and just add water or milk for cold dish or heat up for a warm one. Weekend i go out and loot whatever OC and the kids want to eat, but that would be the only meal of the day. Usually between 1-3pm. No food after 5pm on weekends. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 Bro, for the past 2 months, my main food are eggs, (roll oat, mung bean and red bean), broccoli, cauliflower, bananas, purple sweet potatoes. And No, I dont take 3 meals a day. On weekdays ( mon to fri) I take 1 main meal in the afternoon and the rest is depending on how i feel. Morning 7am -one kopi O kosong from the coffee machine. Afternoon between 2pm to 3pm, Main meal. -3 x 55g eggs (hard boiled or soft boiled with soya sauce and pepper only), i am using chews omega 3 eggs. -abt 100g of roll oats or mung bean or red bean, cook with wolf berries. -1 head of broccoli or 1/3 head of cauliflower, steam and season with soya sauce only. (sometimes I add one small eggplant or a few ladyfingers). -1 large banana -1 purple sweet potato - sometimes i reduce the main and add a can of tuna in water. Afternoon up to 6pm, these are the max i will eat, some days I skip, depending on how I feel. - 2 apples ( sometimes an extra green color pear) - 1 large banana - 2-4 small pac of wangwang rice crackers, or pickle cucumbers. evening between 8pm to 10pm. Not fix, some days I just skip totally. - 1 scoop whey with pan salt, or 1 small bowl of cornflakes with milk. There is almost no oil added, and the only animal product is the tuna in water. The other food after the main meal are not fix, but if I do eat will be those listed. I rotate the main dish every week, like one week oats, next week mung beans, follow by red beans and back to oats. Being lazy, I would cook them for a week supply. Oats will be 400g for a week supply, while the beans are 500g each week. I pack them into 5 containers for 5 days and just add water or milk for cold dish or heat up for a warm one. Weekend i go out and loot whatever OC and the kids want to eat, but that would be the only meal of the day. Usually between 1-3pm. No food after 5pm on weekends. Thanks bro. Great discipline! But this is not high carb leh. To me high carb is lots of rice, breast, noodles, potatoes, etc 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 (edited) Thanks bro. Great discipline! But this is not high carb leh. To me high carb is lots of rice, breast, noodles, potatoes, etc Edited May 31, 2018 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 I agreed with you and it's really something that some people have pointed out before. In particular those into bodybuilding have always maintained that just eat protein ++ and some complex carbs and minimal fat is the best. vs the LCHF vs the HCLF diet usually made up by strict whole foods vegetarians who eat lots of carbs everyday. Somewhere in all these, IF can fit all these diets except the last, cos it's hard to eat your fill in 2 meals if u eat large amount of complex carbs cos of all the fibre. Anyway do share your typical day's diet. Actually yes, someone did mentioned this before, and it has always been on my mind. I have been thinking over this for a while before I finally decided to try it out myself. After all it is a total opposite of LCHF. I am keeping to this until next week, then i will be off to Korea to let it go wild for a week. When I come back, I will be adding tuna in water or chicken beast to my main dish for the protein. Mayb my body is well adjusted to not eating, so my main meal full of complex carbs can actually last me until the next main meal. In fact I can go 36-48 hrs not eating without advance notice. Anyway, my experience is usually not main stream, so what benefits me or suits me may not be suitable for others. But still I feel that if it works for me, I can share share. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 I don't really agree with this statement. But agreed on what you said, that it's more for what diet maybe better for you. If you're already not too overweight, high protein + low fat and good carbs will be good. if you started overweight like me, then fats really do help a lot. I find without my fresh milk or my avocados, i do still tend to crave some carbs after my lunch or dinner. Often i heck care and still eat the carbs or snacks, but i'm trying to be bit more controlled to lose an additional 1 kg i've gained over the last 1-2 months. I used to defence my POV strongly if I believe in it, esp if I have gone through it myself. But looking back now, I think there are many things that works, some just work better for some ppl while others work the opposite way. But i have learn to look at each strength and how they actually work, combine them and see if they can work for me. LCHF basically remove excess water weight, so weight will drop. As long as protein intake has no excess, the body will have to burn consumed fats follow by stored fats. However, the body can get insulin over sensitive over time, and become carbs sensitive as well. HCNF with whole food will intake lesser kcal with same amount of food. But Carbs store water, so the weight will drop slower. I suspect thats why my pant size drop faster than my weight. Carbs also rise insulin, so keeping to complex carbs is key. Since IF keeps insulin low, using IF with high complex carbs may help in controlling the movement of insulin so that we are still very much insulin sensitive and yet not over sensitive to carbs. So after I come back from my trip, I am going to rotate HC and LC every 2 weeks. The HCNF will help me with energy and training, and loosing my pants size. LC with higher protein will deplete the stored water and bring the total weight down. something like that, see if it will work for me even better. For you, to cut that 1kg sld not be difficult lah, its just you want or dont want only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 31, 2018 Share May 31, 2018 you're really damn disciplined with your diet dunno how u eat so much rolled oats/beans with just wolf berries. To me, rolled oats must eat with milk haha mayb my taste buds hong kan liao. mayb I am easy with food helps. But if you see my food presentation, you also no mood to eat. I think thats why, these days weekend any food also looks tasty to me man!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...