Questions on Toyota Altis dashboard

Hocus

Neutral Newbie

Hi. I am a newbie here. So I am unable to post new topic in this forum. I wonder if anyone can help to advise if I need to deactivate my airbag before replacing dashboard. I am looking to replace my cracked dashboard of my Toyota Altis 2008. Contemplating whether to do it myself or to get a workshop to do it. Replacing the dashboard is complicated but is not really a impossible job if I have the time. My only concern is activating the airbag while replacing. I am thinking to just disconnect my battery before doing so. But not sure if it is the right procedure.  Also not sure if it is better to repair or change the dashboard. The cracked area is at the driver side. Will be happy if anyone is able to recommend a suitable workshop to repair or replace the dashboard.

Thank you in advance!

↡ Advertisement
  • Praise 1

Internal Moderator

Hi, your repair is quite rare. Maybe you can call into a few workshops to get some quotation first. At least you have a ballpark figure how much the repair cost.

You definitely need to deactivate your airbag. Usually you just disconnect the battery and you are good to go. But I won't advise you to do it yourself if you are a novice DIY-er. Leave this job to professionals. 🙂

Neutral Newbie

Thanks guys! Yes. I am indeed worried more about the airbags. I asked around for the cost of a dashboard and understand that it can cost about $600-$700. With installation, it could cost $1k+? Will try to call a couple of workshops to ask for a quote.  🙂

Neutral Newbie

Actually, besides price point, I am also trying to look for a reliable workshop or installer. I have come across workshops who either charge exorbitantly or did a poor job that results in subsequent problems

downstream. 

(edited)

I think there should only be 2 air bags 1 on passenger side (in dash board) and one on steering wheel.