Retaining old car number

Shouyi

11 minutes ago, Soya said:

The plate may be worth more than this particular car......lol

This S11T plate currently registered to a Lexus LS500 siah.

On 9/22/2020 at 9:59 AM, Mockngbrd said:

Can extend. Pay extra 1k per 6 months

Sorry to dig up an old post.

To extend beyond 12 months, we will have to pay $1k for every 6 months to renew or it is a one time payment?

30 minutes ago, Silver_blade said:

Sorry to dig up an old post.

To extend beyond 12 months, we will have to pay $1k for every 6 months to renew or it is a one time payment?

No more extension after 1st 6 months...

2 hours ago, Hoseyboh said:

No more extension after 1st 6 months...

Thanks so much. 👍

So for now, the max is 1.5 yrs.... have to reconsider if it is worth keeping car just to retain the licence plate while we are away. 

6 hours ago, Silver_blade said:

Thanks so much. 👍

So for now, the max is 1.5 yrs.... have to reconsider if it is worth keeping car just to retain the licence plate while we are away. 

Got work around.. find a slave car to hang plate then retain on paper again..

Just spend kopi or so call admin fee then $1300 again for a fresh 1 year.

importantly this plate must worth the $$ and effort loh.. do it if the value is perceived by others.

2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said:

Got work around.. find a slave car to hang plate then retain on paper again..

Just spend kopi or so call admin fee then $1300 again for a fresh 1 year.

importantly this plate must worth the $$ and effort loh.. do it if the value is perceived by others.

Only for sentimental value ...fact that we have it for over 2 decades and it is easier to remember cos it has fewer digits. Guess I may just give it up if we do sell the car when we relocate. 

8 hours ago, Silver_blade said:

Only for sentimental value ...fact that we have it for over 2 decades and it is easier to remember cos it has fewer digits. Guess I may just give it up if we do sell the car when we relocate. 

Wondering whether my sentimental value is worth 1300 dollars when my current car is up also. Cos likely I won't change to new car unless coe is more reasonable then. Then have to spend that money to retain. But I think I will. My kids nickname for me is my car plate lol. 

8 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Wondering whether my sentimental value is worth 1300 dollars when my current car is up also. Cos likely I won't change to new car unless coe is more reasonable then. Then have to spend that money to retain. But I think I will. My kids nickname for me is my car plate lol. 

Number is very subjective de.. as long you and family happy ok loh.. those who take it as investment they need to be realistic loh.. example attached i saw in Carousel.

i got similar number just last 4 digit jumped for my son since he 10 years old. Will not let go unless i really need the $$. 

Car plate wise i got 2.. 41 years old plates got one retained few times and give ah gong $$ few rounds liao.. hope to pass to my children oso.

6970E200-37EA-46B9-9554-000BF4E98F8F.jpeg

8 hours ago, Silver_blade said:

This is why sometimes can get old car number if buy 2nd hand car when owner give it up due to unforeseen circumstance. But if your number is nice, maybe can consider to sell the car plate to dealer. 

1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said:

Number is very subjective de.. as long you and family happy ok loh.. those who take it as investment they need to be realistic loh.. example attached i saw in Carousel.

i got similar number just last 4 digit jumped for my son since he 10 years old. Will not let go unless i really need the $$. 

Car plate wise i got 2.. 41 years old plates got one retained few times and give ah gong $$ few rounds liao.. hope to pass to my children oso.

6970E200-37EA-46B9-9554-000BF4E98F8F.jpeg

My number got 2 x 8. Say good not very good. Say bad not very bad. Haha. 

23 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

My number got 2 x 8. Say good not very good. Say bad not very bad. Haha. 

Got 2 x 8 not bad liao. Actually car plate if got at least 2 repeated number consider ok.

13 minutes ago, SiLangKia said:

My randomly assigned number is 7x77, 3 7s hahaha, gonna keep 

Got 3 repeated number, this one sure must retain. Number 7 is a good number, lucky 7 le.

Edited by 13177

4 hours ago, 13177 said:

Got 2 x 8 not bad liao. Actually car plate if got at least 2 repeated number consider ok.

Haha my wife one is double 4... Lol the SE said she was scared we will be angry with the alloted number. 

I bought no. 1414 for my MIL car.

I transfer her car to the agent and he transferred the new no.

Then he transferred the car back to me.

Only paid 1300 for the transfer.