mersaylee Hypersonic September 8, 2021 Share September 8, 2021 On 9/7/2021 at 1:54 PM, Didu said: Some years ago, my ex-colleague told me he brought his family on a trip to Tokyo. While taking the train, his young son stood on the seat to look out the window. This is a big no-no in Japan as shoes are considered dirty. (That's also why one takes off the shoes before entering the house in Japan) A couple of elderly in the train told them off, and left a deep impression on their trip there. Elderly couple...? Old enuf to witness the ww2? I'd tell them that it's also rude and cruel to enter people's house to kill, steal, rob, rape, mock, search etc...im sure those imperial jippun ghosts didn't take off their shoes when they enter houses in various countries they were in...😒 Of course, when in Rome do as Romans do...I'd tell the elderly couple off with a smile in a civic and polite manner like some hypocritic Japanese would...😁 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 8, 2021 Share September 8, 2021 2 hours ago, Arogab said: Well, the society issues within there is more than any place outside. I can see the youngsters getting into more strawberry than our strawberry. But there will be no plae to compare as they have a huge economy. Let's not talk about ten years man, 2 years ago, we cannot even see what we are today due to Covid. Actually for me, I also never thought I will encounter so much. Now I value myself much more than I do due to Covid. people around me are valued by me more than before too As for China. Now they are the big no. 2, we also really donno what they will do. Just wait and see man China school are more competitive than us especially in large city. It is shocking that their youngsters are more strawberry. Maybe it has more to do with lying flat movement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 15 hours ago, inlinesix said: China school are more competitive than us especially in large city. It is shocking that their youngsters are more strawberry. Maybe it has more to do with lying flat movement. The problem is that they are so competitive that the parents do just everything for them to only concentrate on study. You will be surprise on this problem. The child without the parent becomes nothing except on the book. One example is my friend, his wife is full time with the kid. The kid is a top student, but no manners, temperamental and does not know how to survive without the mum to cook. At most go out to buy rubbish food or toys. This is bad 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 26 minutes ago, Arogab said: The problem is that they are so competitive that the parents do just everything for them to only concentrate on study. You will be surprise on this problem. The child without the parent becomes nothing except on the book. One example is my friend, his wife is full time with the kid. The kid is a top student, but no manners, temperamental and does not know how to survive without the mum to cook. At most go out to buy rubbish food or toys. This is bad generally do u feel kids from poorer country are generally better behave then those from rich country? i dun really travel alot. but i got this feeling😅 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 3 minutes ago, Beregond said: generally do u feel kids from poorer country are generally better behave then those from rich country? i dun really travel alot. but i got this feeling😅 Ok, generally yes. But there are mixtures. I do meet people in China, like my design manager, from the poor village, get into Hunan University and very good. There are also others with the old village mentality. Also no means old village mentality is no good. Bad behavior comes from the character. There are also a lot of people from poor region that thinks they should exploit the society. As for Rich, I have also seen my 2 nephews with a rich father (the father is rich but boasting but fails in all the business) behaves very well. So, the conclusion is agree but not fully. It is a mixture 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 1 hour ago, Beregond said: generally do u feel kids from poorer country are generally better behave then those from rich country? i dun really travel alot. but i got this feeling😅 You cannot develop children to be adults who are able to speak up with confidence and assert themselves, if they are meek and obedient as kids. It becomes their default mode. While we want our kids not to be spoilt, there is a balance that needs to be struck. Lower SES kids are generally more compliant, even in singapore. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 7 minutes ago, Lala81 said: You cannot develop children to be adults who are able to speak up with confidence and assert themselves, if they are meek and obedient as kids. It becomes their default mode. While we want our kids not to be spoilt, there is a balance that needs to be struck. Lower SES kids are generally more compliant, even in singapore. I remember 5years + back i go a secondary school to run some errant. Its after school. I was waiting outside the office. Alot of students and a few teachers are sitting on the bench and table discussing some stuff. Then out of sudden 2 girls chatting use foul language out very loud. Its not those minor . But stuff like cb cb knnbccb non stop. I cannot believe my ears. Really really shock. And worst the teacher is just a few meters away. If i am their teacher i scare i will slap them on the spot. But that teacher act like nothing happen (its my old secondary school) ...... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 (edited) 2 hours ago, Arogab said: The problem is that they are so competitive that the parents do just everything for them to only concentrate on study. You will be surprise on this problem. The child without the parent becomes nothing except on the book. One example is my friend, his wife is full time with the kid. The kid is a top student, but no manners, temperamental and does not know how to survive without the mum to cook. At most go out to buy rubbish food or toys. This is bad When you fill up all the kids time with just non stop school work. Or say those province/state athletes from young, just whole day non stop training. Is it any wonder, outside of the field/stage/school, they don't know what to do? If u remove intrinsic motivation, then all this external motivation ++, it becomes a problem. Even knowing how to relieve your own boredom is a skill. As educators/parents, need to understand yin/yang balance. When the system forces u to be liddat, then a bit bopian. But some pple think that filling up all the youngsters times with activities is good. I think in singaporeans, people are more aware of how to navigate this balance. I think in the North asian countries, it's fundamentally too skewed. That's why XJP come down with this Emperor's Edict. Heavy handed, and dunno if still work in the end. Edited September 9, 2021 by Lala81 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Beregond said: I remember 5years + back i go a secondary school to run some errant. Its after school. I was waiting outside the office. Alot of students and a few teachers are sitting on the bench and table discussing some stuff. Then out of sudden 2 girls chatting use foul language out very loud. Its not those minor . But stuff like cb cb knnbccb non stop. I cannot believe my ears. Really really shock. And worst the teacher is just a few meters away. If i am their teacher i scare i will slap them on the spot. But that teacher act like nothing happen (its my old secondary school) ...... Kids or youngsters rebellious. Trying to establish an identity. The teacher will need to explain why they shouldn't liberally use foul language. At that age, need to reason. U can't stop them, u can only encourage them to see your POV. Or else the lesson is only superficial. Edited September 9, 2021 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 6 minutes ago, Lala81 said: When you fill up all the kids time with just non stop school work. Or say those province/state athletes from young, just whole day non stop training. Is it any wonder, outside of the field/stage/school, they don't know what to do? If u remove intrinsic motivation, then all this external motivation ++, it becomes a problem. Even knowing how to relieve your own boredom is a skill. As educators/parents, need to understand yin/yang balance. When the system forces u to be liddat, then a bit bopian. But some pple think that filling up all the youngsters times with activities is good. I think in singaporeans, people are more aware of how to navigate this balance. I think in the North asian countries, it's fundamentally too skewed. That's why XJP come down with this Emperor's Edict. Heavy handed, and dunno if still work in the end. Well, that's the thing and the real life In fact my daughter always goes to China and she knows my friend's kids, when they were young. They paly together. When all grows up. My daughter walks away using the words "He should be better mannered, if not to others, at least to the parents" No doubt, my daughter is not good at studies. But we are a fun pair and I think she good so long as she is adaptable and well like in the society. I used to think she need to do better in studies. But I got over it 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 5 minutes ago, happy_man said: An Interesting read of how a topic about China's politics turn into parental discussion. HA! 😝 paternalistic society. we are in denial but parenting and politics is different sides of the same coin. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 10 minutes ago, happy_man said: An Interesting read of how a topic about China's politics turn into parental discussion. HA! 😝 Because it's a cultural issue that forces the govt hand (ignoring some other political aims involved). And these are deep seated cultural issues with Asian culture. Just to a lesser degree here. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 6 minutes ago, Nolicense said: paternalistic society. we are in denial but parenting and politics is different sides of the same coin. In Asia, yes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 50 minutes ago, Lala81 said: You cannot develop children to be adults who are able to speak up with confidence and assert themselves, if they are meek and obedient as kids. It becomes their default mode. Isn't that basically the bloody problem here that resulted in why ang mos and FTs are valued more in the work place? The whole bloody system and society is tuned to produce meek individuals that can neither speak up nor speak properly. Castration from the beginning. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 13 minutes ago, Nolicense said: paternalistic society. we are in denial but parenting and politics is different sides of the same coin. Macam driver and co-driver...same car...slap the buggar when needed 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 37 minutes ago, mersaylee said: Macam driver and co-driver...same car...slap the buggar when needed 😁 im but a 3rd class passenger.. maybe im the guy who shovels coal into the furnace in titanic. i never get to go on the rescue boat. lol 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 1 hour ago, happy_man said: An Interesting read of how a topic about China's politics turn into parental discussion. HA! 😝 its link. if china kids are growing up to become spoil brat without manner that we see now in many first world country including ourself. ( look at the number of sex offender in school and their culture there ) i am sure their leader will be anxious to fix it before the root grow too deep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 9, 2021 Share September 9, 2021 38 minutes ago, Nolicense said: im but a 3rd class passenger.. maybe im the guy who shovels coal into the furnace in titanic. i never get to go on the rescue boat. lol Be Jack of all trades...still sink liked the unfortunate rests tho 🙊 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...