Cruise ship

Sdf4786k

21 minutes ago, Abracadabra said:

Got bowling, got jackpot machines, got wave surfing, quite fun ..... for one day. After that laze around the pool catching the sunshine with a ice cold drink 😎🌞

If kena ah tiong group then better avoid the buffet at all costs ... It would be like WWE Royal Rumble. No holds barred unless you have the physique of Hulk Hogan then join in 😂

1d90f121643bb591dfebc7cdc61e8eca.gif

There were ah Tiong on board but they were well mannered. 

34 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

I booked spectrums of the sea for April departure last month during a 50% promotion. First time after almost 20 years. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Do you have to rent WiFi on board? Can get data roaming signal at sea? 

Got wifi on board. But don't expect much. U can book now already. I paid around 170 for two pax. If I had booked very early would have been around 130. 

Whether u get the higher speed one will benefit you, depends on your room. Some rooms just don't have great reception. But that was on the previous ship I was on. 

No reception once u leave the coast of sg. 

31 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

Don’t have .. some one told me they have semi buffet for afternoon but I found none for Genting . Was the pizza commercial grade or oven wood type.?

the western was not too bad . The trough fish was Gamer taste

U know whats the worst part

i ate at chinese restaurant in genting dream but 吃不饱,want go for second round at buffet restaurant but kena rejected kns

RC u can eat multiple restaurant in one dinner time

29 minutes ago, Sdf4786k said:

There were ah Tiong on board but they were well mannered. 

Tiagong is dont go cruise if u are xenophobic about our subcontinent tourists. They love it. 

3 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

U know whats the worst part

i ate at chinese restaurant in genting dream but 吃不饱,want go for second round at buffet restaurant but kena rejected kns

RC u can eat multiple restaurant in one dinner time

The dining suite at RC. they serve kids the adult sized portions. It's a struggle not to waste food. 

I just went on RC Spectrum of the Sea from 15-19 Dec. TMD, price was 3x c.f. off-peak i think in Feb... si bey sian... but bo bian, cos can only go during sch hols. We also chose cruise so that it's leisurely pace so my parents can OTOT.

For WiFi, book early is indeed cheaper. All charged in USD if i'm not wrong. Wife subscribed a package which has 4 devices can connect. We basically felt it was necessary to at least be able to communicate with my parents and the kids, as we booked total 3 rooms, but quite late such that the rooms are not next to each other. In fact, my parents' room was on another level. We paid about $200 for 4 devices (throughout the trip) when on offer. The price went up to $347.68 after the promo.

Then hor... if weather is bad - as it was when we docked at Penang and there was thunderstorm for about 20 min... solly, WiFi is down... it went back up on weather recovered...

Food: Got 2 big places.

Lvl 4(and 5): Main Dining Hall. This one is sit down and order from menu type. Mostly western food, but got a few Asian choices to choose from. Can keep reordering if super hungry. But they have timing, in order to cater to the huge number of people. Better place reservation beforehand for every meal.

Lvl 11 (or was it 12...): Windjammer. This one is the huge buffet place that is free-for-all. Very difficult to get seat during peak timings, and esp if big group... Got more food choices obviously, but quite a hassle to find seats and queue up for food.

Given that my elderly parents were with us, we decided to bite bullet and booked the junior suites, which are more ex than the staterooms, but allows us to dine at this place called Silver Dining, which is only opened for suites and bigger rooms. Less food choices c.f. Windjammer, but no need to squeeze or find seats. There are bigger rooms and the guests will be able to go to Gold Dining, which will be even better.

Got a few smaller cafes where can get food, even round the clock.

Activities: when previously (we went on Voyager of the Sea 8 yr ago) most activities were FOC on-board, now a number of the popular activities are payable... like the iFly thing, the long extendable arm NorthStar, etc. all need to pay... The more popular FOC thing is the bumper car... 

We watched World Cup 3rd/4th placing and the Final on the big screen by the pool. Quite an experience...

It is generally not a problem at all in terms of motion sickness, but i do feel that it was less of a problem 8 yr ago. Maybe this time round the ship went faster, so could feel a tiny little bit of movement but it's not a lot. My parents were fine. My son and wife though, felt it and wife was worse-hit, on the last day. They both tried the bathtub, and came out feeling unwell. Not 100% sure that's the reason, but can use for reference...

Advice: bring travel adaptors onboard, as their powerpoints are US/Europe standards. Can borrow from them, but limited in number and first-come-first-served. If buying wifi, then can bring laptop with HDMI cable or chrome cast to cast video onto TV to watch when bored...

Oh, when disembarking back in SG, remember to fill up some form online before queuing up. We forgot and were stuck for a short while.

41 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

The dining suite at RC. they serve kids the adult sized portions. It's a struggle not to waste food. 

No leh, if you're referring to the main dining hall. servings all quite small. We ordered multiples... esp my son, got think ate 3 mains...

51 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

No leh, if you're referring to the main dining hall. servings all quite small. We ordered multiples... esp my son, got think ate 3 mains...

I went in March 2022. Only half capacity on board. 

Your boy growing lah. One steak Diane is already enough for any adult liao. I had to help my wife finish also. Still got dessert. 

My BIL family went cruise few times over the last few years. They say SOS is not as good as the previous ship I was on (can't recall the name). 

Still have pizza and hotdogs in between the meals (but not sure if SOS has it). Unless it's for supper. 

Free coffee I can understand. 

other than RPL 

leisure and amusement world were both my free cruise 

last time sibay song always go almost every weekend

everything foc only ATB must pay 

every trip pray hard no titanic  🙊🙉🙈

Edited by Inlinefour

@Tianmo

I think it's 45/46 days before the cruise set off date, you can book your boarding time. Can choose the earliest boarding time. 

Then u can go on board earlier and do some activities on that first day without needing to reserve. Just queue can already. Generally would be the rock wall and the board surfing. 

I used to think that cruises were just gambling ships until I took cruises in the Carribean, Alaska and then more recently back here in Southeast Asia. The experience they serve up is largely determined by the locality, even if the layout of the ship, cabin and dining (literally every ship has a Lido deck) are similar. 

Asian cruise ships tend to have larger casinos. In other places where you have more choices than merely RC and RW, you can choose between kid-friendly (Disney), olds friendly (Holland America) or party ships (Carnival). Literally a ship for every market. If time and budget permits, I encourage you to fly somewhere else and take a cruise. 

I'll skip the American cruises because its unlikely the guys here will fly all the way to Florida to get on a boat but I'll rate the cruise I took in 2019 on Genting Dream where we booked a balcony room. We were offered an upgrade to Palace, given a tour and a complimentary drink, which was a reasonable price for a 7d/6n cruise loitering around the Gulf of Thailand, In return we got a premium meal every day, free WiFi and drinks package. You literally could flash your card at any drinks station and get a beer!

The moniker "cruise within a cruise" is perhaps more aptly described as business class compared to economy in airlines, because you get your own private areas on the ship that other passengers don't get to access - like a private pool where it isn't bustling with dozens of bodies in the water or you'd have to snatch deck chairs or gazebos. For couples without kids, this is really quite relaxing as opposed to the mayhem that you can easily see as you transit on the roof deck between the front and the rear of the ship. The dining you get at the buffet hall in cattle class is replicated in a smaller scale for Palace passengers but of a higher quality and standard. The only beef I have is that they close an eye to passengers using the Palace casino smoking, so there's sometimes smell of cigarette smoke inside the Palace atrium. 

To me it is a sanctuary where you can choose peace, quiet and space, or to interact with the hustle and bustle as you want. For the other passengers, they don't have much of a choice and yes with the previous other cruises I've taken, its all about designated dining times, queuing up for food and all that. The complimentary personalized butler is overrated but its perhaps because we aren't used to having a servant so we didn't really test him out so much but he did book us for dinner every evening at a premium restaurant - teppanyaki, western, etc. which is at no additional cost once you're on the Palace package. 

I personally prefer sea days to having daily shore days on cruises - they are less hectic because daily activities tend to get shifted around docking and disembarkation at then subsequent re-embarkations. Although I could skip getting off the ship but the FOMO is strong if you've not visited San Juan for example...

Anyway, cruises are elderly-parent friendly generally and I think for a multi-generation family, its a good balance between travelling and seeing new things while staying in the same room and being able to do things independently, while staying near each other to help out if needed.

Highly recommended. 

• Praise 10

14 hours ago, Albeniz said:

I have never been on a cruise before, except for the weekly RPL from Changi Jetty to Tekong many, many years back.

I always have 1 question.

For a hyper sensitive person who is very prone to motion sickness, would he be able to take the cruise, especially in choppy waters?

Will the ship be so stable that he feels nothing about it?

This is one of the reason cruise ship dont interest me, due to i have hyper sensitive motion sickness. Although many people tell me you feel nothing about it and the ship is quite stable. But i dont want to take the risk. 😅

5 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Actually book cruise without wifi best

it will form a bonding time with family, without devices only when at dock then use internet

Thought most people cannot survive without wifi, but there are still many people like to go cruise ship. 

26 minutes ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

Actually book cruise without wifi best

it will form a bonding time with family, without devices only when at dock then use internet

Yup, we went on RC cruise without wifi last year.. only when docked in Penang got network.. we downloaded some Netflix videos beforehand before go.. 

Edited by Tkseah

16 hours ago, Albeniz said:

I have never been on a cruise before, except for the weekly RPL from Changi Jetty to Tekong many, many years back.

I always have 1 question.

For a hyper sensitive person who is very prone to motion sickness, would he be able to take the cruise, especially in choppy waters?

Will the ship be so stable that he feels nothing about it?

Overall, it will be quite stable. You will not be able to feel much swaying, if any at all.

But if you are those hyper-sensitive person, I will suggest choosing the cabins near the middle of the ship instead of at both ends. Somehow, when your body takes a complete rest on the bed, you can still feel a little of the waves, especially at both ends of the ship.