Nio Firefly

Sdf4786k

On 1/14/2026 at 5:15 PM, Ake109 said:

Our infra need to catch up. The shell station near me only DC 50kW... lame.

Gahmen of course, leave it to 'free market' and lizard.

Within 1km radius from my home, there are a few DC120kw.

There is also 1 DC200kw within 1km radius.

Edited by inlinesix

On 1/15/2026 at 11:24 AM, Ake109 said:

@inlinesix u lucky. My tiong bahru area no have any. Only the lame 50kw shell

I just search.  Got la.

SGH, Tiong Bahru Plaza & Red Hill Hawker got DC100kw.

In leng Kee, got Vantage & Borneo.

On 1/15/2026 at 9:01 AM, inlinesix said:

Within 1km radius from my home, there are a few DC120kw.

There is also 1 DC200kw within 1km radius.

I know where you live now 🤭

On 1/15/2026 at 8:55 AM, Rickster said:

Actually, while a 50kw DC is a very slow DC charger, I think it’s sufficiently good enough for local context.

A quick 10 mins charge at Shell should be able to give most EVs additional range of 45-50km (or a days’s worth of total mileage for the average singaporean driver). Good enough for a quick top up while on the go.

I believe most singaporean EV owners uses residential AC slow chargers for the bulk of their charging needs due to the obvious cost factor and uses DC chargers mainly for on the quick top ups.

DC charger is an area that battery mfg could do better as it’s not that friendly to the health of the LFP battery.

On a separate note, I saw the ST stating of Volvo EX 30 recall..

sounds like another lost years for EV car sales as the doubters will have a reinforce mindset that EV is unsafe at any time

On 1/16/2026 at 1:37 PM, Sdf4786k said:

DC charger is an area that battery mfg could do better as it’s not that friendly to the health of the LFP battery.

On a separate note, I saw the ST stating of Volvo EX 30 recall..

sounds like another lost years for EV car sales as the doubters will have a reinforce mindset that EV is unsafe at any time

I observed similar reasons from doubters also. They have the impression that EVs are a huge safety risks due to fire, door cannot open during emergencies and the EM radiation that’ll fry our balls and cause hair loss and cancer…

Good thing that comes from this is that the fight for charging infrastructure will probably not happen anytime soon.

Edited by Rickster

On 1/15/2026 at 11:35 AM, inlinesix said:

I just search.  Got la.

SGH, Tiong Bahru Plaza & Red Hill Hawker got DC100kw.

In leng Kee, got Vantage & Borneo.

I should have been more clear. My scare is normally at night when I come home on very low charge and have long trip tmr. I need something like a hawker center carpark or petrol station at least I can have some distraction instead of squatting inside mall basement when shops all closed or juump around feed mozzie at SGD open air carpark.

Red Hill Hawker I gotta go check out. A bit further than I would have liked but emergency no choice.

On 1/16/2026 at 5:38 PM, Ake109 said:

I should have been more clear. My scare is normally at night when I come home on very low charge and have long trip tmr. I need something like a hawker center carpark or petrol station at least I can have some distraction instead of squatting inside mall basement when shops all closed or juump around feed mozzie at SGD open air carpark.

Red Hill Hawker I gotta go check out. A bit further than I would have liked but emergency no choice.

You don't charge at end of the day when the battery is like less than 20% lah.

You charge when you going about your daily business. Like shopping or makan or going appointment etc.

Edited by Benarsenal

On 1/16/2026 at 9:07 PM, Benarsenal said:

You don't charge at end of the day when the battery is like less than 20% lah.

You charge when you going about your daily business. Like shopping or makan or going appointment etc.

You assume I go to a mall or appt where there is a charger at least once a week.

On 1/17/2026 at 2:33 AM, Ake109 said:

You assume I go to a mall or appt where there is a charger at least once a week.

I mean, if that's not your regular routine, then EV is not really for you (yet).

quite positive review. Although the 8.1 sec seems a tad slow and the 200nm isn't really that much. 

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 2/3/2026 at 4:46 PM, Sdf4786k said:

quite positive review. Although the 8.1 sec seems a tad slow and the 200nm isn't really that much. 

8.1 secs. Good enough to beat the Golf Gti..... Mk 1.

https://cnevpost.com/2026/02/01/nio-firefly-begins-deliveries-in-singapore/

First set of early adoptors who did not find the car ugly or had a super good offer on the car .. either way... I am sure the car will sell either based on price or based on novelty . Ora Cat din do that well, and the revised model base on the improved head unit is not in yet for the Ora Cat. The GT platform seems nice but the weakness is the HU for the Cat.

image.thumb.png.6e576cf7b50698799db6c34f3298bdfe.png

On 2/4/2026 at 3:52 PM, Sdf4786k said:

https://cnevpost.com/2026/02/01/nio-firefly-begins-deliveries-in-singapore/

First set of early adoptors who did not find the car ugly or had a super good offer on the car .. either way... I am sure the car will sell either based on price or based on novelty . Ora Cat din do that well, and the revised model base on the improved head unit is not in yet for the Ora Cat. The GT platform seems nice but the weakness is the HU for the Cat.

image.thumb.png.6e576cf7b50698799db6c34f3298bdfe.png

Those 8 there, maybe 1 unit is test drive car. 3 Units for boss/mgmt use. 4 is boss rich friends help sapok sapok.

perhaps now is a good time to see if there are CNY offers.

The Proton EMAS 5 seems quite attractively price. Being rear wheel drive and has rear aircon vents... good 8 yr warranty and 10yrs battery + 10 year free servicing. 5 year software subscriptions

NIO Firefly open house today. Anyone going .. the 6K discount seems gimmiky 

Nio's Firefly Chief Says Early 2026 Sales Fell 'Considerably,' Keeps Expansion Goals | EV

Looks like not doing well . If only they had taken into consideration on the asia weather environment like rear aircon vent and sun blinds and standard expectation like electric tailgates and wireless 50 watt charger with cooling vent, it would have help improve the take up rate. Having a stiff price did not help improve the image of premium-ness in the build. LOL

China’s Nio Group plans to launch its cheapest sub-brand Firefly in between 20 and 30 countries this year, the brand chief Daniel Jin said on Tuesday while admitting a tough start to the year in the domestic market.

Speaking with the media outlet Nikkei at the Bangkok Motor Show, Jin admitted that sales in the domestic market have fallen “considerably” as the brand continues its global expansion in Asia and Europe while preparing the South American debut.

Nio‘s co-founder and President Qin Lihong said earlier this month that the company expects to deliver “several thousand units” outside China this year while laying the foundation for a “larger-scale expansion overseas in the next two to three years.”

Up to 30 Markets

Firefly currently operates in roughly ten overseas markets.

Thailand became the brand’s second right-hand drive market after Singapore, which received its first deliveries in January.

The brand entered Europe last August, starting with Norway and the Netherlands, and has since expanded to Belgium, Denmark, Greece, Austria, and Portugal.

Founder and CEO William Li wrote in a January 2 internal letter that Nio Group plans to “cumulatively enter 40 countries and regions” by the end of 2026 across its three brands — the premium Nio, the family-oriented Onvo, and the urban-focused Firefly.

Li first pledged to enter “over 25 countries and regions” at Nio Day 2021 — a goal the company fell short of, ending 2025 with approximately 20 markets including China.

At Auto Shanghai in April 2025, he outlined a 16-country Firefly expansion plan.

By November, speaking at a European showroom, he raised the target to 20 new markets in 2026. The January letter pushed it to 40 across the group.

Firefly’s Upcoming Markets

In Europe, the brand plans to enter the Czech Republic, Romania, Luxembourg, and Poland later this year.

The appearance of Poland’s country profile in Nio’s international app, first spotted last month by EV, signals that expansion is imminent.

The UK, Australia, and New Zealand are among the confirmed right-hand drive markets for 2026. Nio began mass-producing right-hand drive Firefly vehicles in November, with the first units destined for Singapore.