Octavia hazard light switch component

Perry

wah... today very suai.... our last and final 'original' power window failed and dropped down when we were abt to go home after work!

coz already 6pm, so no choice, drove to servotronics to try our luck, almost all the workers left already, but philip was still around, so he manage to jam it back up for us first.... says will call us when the part arrives...

1st power window failed = right passenger side (JTA no stock, so jam up for us)

2nd power window failed = left passendger side (JTA no longer around, went to CA get both replaced...)

3rd power window failed = driver side (replaced at CA)

4th power window failed = front passenger side (waiting for replacement at servo)

.... [dizzy]

anyway, this not the purpose of my post... [:p]

as i was at servo, i asked philip if the hazard light switch stock has arrived and got him to replace it for me.

cost of replacement = $69, no labour

saw him do it, quite simple.

1. use flat tip screw drive to slowly and gently ply the 4 sides of black frame surrounding the hazard light switch.

2. take it out first (just like one flat piece of rectangular plastic with a triangle cut out in the middle.

3. plug out the whole component (refer to diagram). remove the triangular hazard light plastic

4. fix the triangular harzard light plastic on the new switch.

5. plug whole thing back in.

6. cover back with the black frame.

everything took abt 1 minute

beano and skodaman, if u want, i think can go servo to change lor.

philip was about to throw the faulty part away, but i took it back to scan... hahaha

the text on the part already very blurred out, some letters missing, think due to time...

i try to type what i can see out, hopefully, u can get xin chong to indent it for u.

black text above white sticker:

"SAE OC 89 PNT 60. DOT"

text on white sticker:

(skoda logo) PNT

Germany

??? 953 235 B

WBS + DI

FA6 6 GF30?

i might be wrong in guessing the actual text.... hehehe

post-52-1059570327_thumb.gif

Edited by Perry

Ever since I had my fair share of window problem, I've stopped lowering my windows up and down except for carparking.

How often do you lower yours?

Damn just replace it today, yet to pay yet, think it is about 60 or 70 dollars.

My power window also just die on me last week, now jam it up waiting for the part to come in. Part cost is 145, labour not known yet.

wah 145 compared to CA charging at 270!!!My other friend bought it there!

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] Still very ex la [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Y the window bound to fail after couple of years??? [sweatdrop][shakehead][thumbsdown]

drive side no choice, go in come out carpark always must use:)

the rest we do cut down, in fact, very seldom use also.

i guess the signs was already there very very early when we got the car from JTA, just that it never really drop or failed yet.

example of some signs we have noticed so far:

- the front power sides only need to press once and it will go up/down all the way, but sometimes it will reverse back at some points e.g. go up halfway come down again

- hear some funny clicks/cranks sounds coming when u use the power window (the more often u hear it happen, means going to drop/fail very soon)

Skoder

Is yours a Classic or Ambiente ?? Ambiente's factory fitted, but Classic is not. They come without the power window assembly from factory. The Power Window is fitted locally....hence the poor quality...trust CA ya ???

[pirate][cool]

The factory fitted window simply sucks. Change all 4 of them over the past 2 yrs. Regarding the signal unit. I'll use mine temporary until its spoilt then go back and change for a new one. I think i need to do wheel alignment also. Standard cost around 60 bux right. No where else can find cheaper?

raptor brought me to somewhere in amk (near seagate) to do the alignment after i changed to his rims. cost us only $30 for each car:)

No lah, not my power windows lah! It's my friend's one lah... His is an

Amby, but in JTA times. If my one crush and they still charge me, I will

[rifle][furious][whip] till the next CA wannabe will feel the pain.

[laugh][sweatdrop][;)][laugh][laugh][laugh]

I did my wheel alignment a few months back. Everything is fine except for a bit of toe-in. but cannot adjust leh, so forget it liao since cannot adjust.

Hi Perry! You got replaced cheap already! I changed mine at CA after my indicators went crazy and paid $90 for the part and $20 for labour - total $110 compared to your $69!

Anyway, this seems to be one of the problematic components for Octys. But you're right very easy to DIY if you ahve the part.

yar, ca suck our blood [shakehead]

my power window replacement at servo cost $180 (front left part) + $30 labour last saturday....

last time (almost 1 yr plus back) i replaced at ca was abt $170 (back left/right part) + $84 labour...

i dunno if front is suppose to be more ex than back? or maybe ca parts are cheaper? but their labour abit too much lar [crazy]

btw, philip was the one who billed us for the work on saturday... i have heard that dennis usually will charge cheaper... hehehehe.... but he is always so busy and occupied, coz everybody also looking for him... hahahaha, so i dun mind approaching philip lar, since already save quite abit by going there instead of ca...

Well, his is the driver window... [sweatdrop] Told him to check out Servo,

but he couldn't wait... sigh !!should have intro him to the pros here. All

my fault~!! [furious][whip]

Guys.. coming up to my 75k servicing already. Going to do a routine oil change. So far have been doing my servicing at Servo. Seen them do it, its usually jus drain the oil out, change oil filter and topping up with new oil. Other then that, just topping up of brake fluid and those misc stuff. So a standard servicing just takes less then an hour. I was wondering is that all for a normal servicing?

yup, that's all for an standard service. what else you want? [:p]

think it is also about time for you to change the belts already.