Kianbeng Clutched July 1, 2002 Share July 1, 2002 Hi guys, I need some advice on amplifier and tweeters. I have a spare amplifier which is lying around after I savaged it from my previous car. I'm intending on install it on my current new car which doesn't have one. My question is: What is the actual difference with the amplifier? Does it simply just amplifies the sound volume so that I do not have to turn the volume dial too much to hear the increase in volume? If it's just simply amplifiying the volume only, wouldn't it be quite useless? But I think it should do more than that coz if not, why would so many ppl install amps? Basically, I would like to justify the reasons for having the amp before I go ahead to install it. Another question I have is: If I were to install a new pair of tweeters, where should I install it to? Front? or Front and rear? And what is the price for a pair of reasonable quality tweeters? regards kianbeng ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie July 1, 2002 Share July 1, 2002 Kian Beng, An amplifier is a must 4 ur system to play music. Even in Ur car without the use of an external amplifier U are using an amplifier. ie the one in-built to Ur HU player. There are some hi-end HU's like the Nak CD700 and the MacIntosh both ard $2K mark don't have in-built amp and cannot attach spkrs direct, these only pick up and process the signal from the software in a more refined manner than other HU's. OK the thing abt HU's even though they claim 40Watts and 75Watts etc, the long and short of it is that HU amplifier power has to be limited by the tiny size of the HU which the in-built amp also has to share space with the player mechanism as well as the signal pick-up and processing circuitory. So external amp at the most fundamental level is to amplify this signal W/ much more power than the HU in-built amp. More powerful amp either to decent, good or to excellent speakers will allow the speakers to perform and sing better and clearer. BTW once external amp attached all the amp function in-built to HU becomes meaningless. Once amp attached, only be interested in the signal quality produced. So in Ur case the question is ... is Ur amp of a quality worth using? Cuz there are some amps so lousy they are even worse and less powerful than the one in-built to the HU. So the next questipons are ... which amp have U got? .... what are the specs? Only from this can we determine if U*r amp worth using. Remembering the minute an amp is to be installed properly got a lot of job involved in the install and tuning also required. Be prepared to pay to get it done cuz cut Px install from the many aircon & accessory shops ard not gonna make it. Will sound worse than someone who merely change a good pair of spkrs without amp. Unless U are an expert and can DIY. Which U are not otherwise U wouldn't be asking this type of questions. Putting x'tra tweeter makes the sound quality worse and more rojak. If U want better sound the first thing is to change the whole front speaker to a better one including mid and tweet. This should consider even B4 considering amp install. Cuz for most OEM spkrs not even decent, the addition of an amp will even make them sound worse cuz cannot take the x'tra power. My suggestion to U, since U are a Newbie. The single RULE to always follow - Everything and anything U considering to add to Ur system, better to know exactly what this thing supposed to do and exactly what improvement in Sound Quality U'r gonna get. Logically if got no improvement or becum worse then why even waste the time and money? Hope this helps a little? AutoS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 Hi Kianbeng, By tweeters, I suppose u r referring to those which are hooked on to a High-Passed channel from the amp. This is a very common practice by the run-of-the-mill installers in SG. For optimal SQ, it is always better to get component speakers with dedicated cross-overs. In car audio, the rear speakers are used as rear fill. It will be more prudent to install better speakers at the front to improve your sound stage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 Bro, I also got a 2nd hand set of Sony Amp XM-222 (2ch) plus a Bazooka 8" tube which I'm keen to install in my trunk. One day when I free U take a look for me ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 2, 2002 Author Share July 2, 2002 AutoS, thanks for the great info! I'll get back on the model/brand of my amplifier soon. Maybe I'll check out my model for speakers and maybe you guys can advise further. Cheers! kianbeng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched July 2, 2002 Author Share July 2, 2002 Hmm......seems like changing my speakers would be the idea way to go if I want to improve the Sound Quality. But I've just purchased this car from the distributor not too long ago and changing the perfectly working speakers seems to be a waste. That's why I contemplated of adding rather than changing. Sigh....... But anyway, thanks. I'll get back again on the model/brand as mentioned earlier. kianbeng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 Hmm......seems like changing my speakers would be the idea way to go if I want to improve the Sound Quality. But I've just purchased this car from the distributor not too long ago and changing the perfectly working speakers seems to be a waste. That's why I contemplated of adding rather than changing. Sigh....... But anyway, thanks. I'll get back again on the model/brand as mentioned earlier. kianbeng Actually, I seriously think stock speakers are crap, working or not! Just by changing a pair of front speakers does wonders to the SQ. My $0.02. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 Gav, the 222 might be underpower for the bass tude.... just my thoughts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 Bring your Bazooka on Friday... can test on my car !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 Hi D, the XM-222 can bridge to mono 150w, that should do right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 2, 2002 Share July 2, 2002 Bring your Bazooka on Friday... can test on my car !! Okie! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie July 4, 2002 Share July 4, 2002 If bridgeable then should be okay, I only use the 222 for a short period of time only. Try it out first lah, if not happy then change lor... frankly I think the 222 is a good and cheap amp for the rear speakers, as long as you are not the Tow Kay type who sit behind mostly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 4, 2002 Share July 4, 2002 Try try lor, see what AutoS can do for me. If I drive the stock rears with the amp, make them work as mid-range fills? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie July 4, 2002 Share July 4, 2002 Dun know your setup so cannot comment lah.... go get an install to look at your system lah... me just talk cxxk only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 4, 2002 Share July 4, 2002 Thanks D, time for AutoS to perform his magic....probably seeing him Sat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie July 4, 2002 Share July 4, 2002 Thanks D, time for AutoS to perform his magic....probably seeing him Sat Night time at Reservoir ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie July 5, 2002 Share July 5, 2002 Hi D, the XM-222 can bridge to mono 150w, that should do right? TB, 150W for XM-222 RMS or PMPO??? I strongly encourage you to try out before buying..... I had tried with a 10" bazooka tube feeding it with about 150W (RMS) but still cannot hear the bass..... I am assuming that your brick will have a better insulation and louder exhaust note , so you may not be able to hear bass at all.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 5, 2002 Share July 5, 2002 I think it's 75W per ch RMS bridgeable to 2x75W. See how lor, I'll visit Geof tomorrow and get his opinion. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...