Engine died after start up

Beanoyip

I got this problem recently. Usually its after a long drive. Whenever i try to start the car, it gets started then revs will drop very low. And the engine just died like that. I wonder whats the problem to this. I haven't changed my spark plugs for about 40k already. Could it be the problem?

I have a problem for engine died before it ignite totally and engine died when acc during very slow rolling.

Fuel filter change already, next check is fuel pump or vacuum hose. no idea what cause it.

same prob as yours?

Think is different problem. Mine is crank once, then died. Btw, u got any lobang for iridium spark plugs? i need to change mine soon.

i dunno if u all having the same problem as me last time.

our engine used to behave abit wierdly (almost half yr back), sometimes accelerate fast, sometimes will die after starting in the beginning of the day.

brought to servo a few times, finally philip helped us solved the problem. turns out the temperature sensor was faulty. he says the temperature sensor plays a part in controlling how much fuel is sent to the engine (or something like that), so the problem only occurs if the car starts at beginning of day (when it is still too cold), or after long journey (when it is too hot), then it cannot function properly. hence the weird behavior.

think only $70 to change the sensor, abt 30 minutes can liao. u might wanna try this first:)

philip mentioned that temperature sensor is another quite common problem amongst vw cars?

sound just like my problem!!!! okay will do that first. at least save on the fuel pump!!! But I like a bigger fuel pump leh... :P

Maybe will get my friend to send it down for me.

BTW, which temp sensor? i.e. temp sensor for which purpose?

er, got so many temp sensor in car ar?

i also dunno, according to servo, its the one controlling/directing the amount of fuel into the engine? its located very near the engine portion. saw the mechanics just remove the cover and then take out the old one and put in the new one.