Rusty disc brake

Teckheng

My car onli 1 mth ++ but mi disc brake has small patches of rust on it... I walked ard the mscp and realised alot of SD_cars also have tis problem...

Any suggestions? :)

i think it's normal. my car park in the open..if rain , a few hours later will have rust already. but drive abt a bit, and it'll be gone. no worries...and i think it's definitely not advisable to oil u'r brake disc like how we did to our rifles in NS!! [;)]

it's normal as all disc rotor are made of steel, in one form or other nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif as long as the surface that's comes in contact with the brake pads are shinny, it's ok.thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

However, if you park for a few hours after washing the car & wheels, you'll find that some minor rust will form on the rotor but it's ok, just drive off & slowly tapped on the brakes & it'll go off.wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

Hi Teckheng,

It is normal. This usually happens after washing one's car and being in the rain...esp the rims/tyres area.... rust will form there after a while. It will normally go off after driving around for a while and gently use the brakes initially to clean off the rust from the rotors/discs. nod.gif

"[Teckheng] Re: Rusty disc brake [in reply to] Reply

it's normal as all disc rotor are made of steel, in one form or other as long as the surface that's comes in contact with the brake pads are shinny, it's ok. "

I thought once that surface (is that called the rotor?) become shiny, it is THE PROBLEM, indicating that there is less grip?

My car onli 1 mth ++ but mi disc brake has small patches of rust on it... I walked ard the mscp and realised alot of SD_cars also have tis problem...

Just check your disc after a drive and viola! the disc becomes clean again! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Normal lah bro...... More rust after you wash your car or after rain.

I thought once that surface (is that called the rotor?) become shiny, it is THE PROBLEM, indicating that there is less grip?

Look at the discs/rotors of cars that has just stopped/parked and you'll find that the rotors are all shiny. Then your problem will be a non issue... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Not really, less grip is when the rotor are wear thin (most of the time have to remove wheel to check physically, unless your alloy rims allow fingers to reach the rotor). The rotor being steel material, it will rub with the brake pads & there by creating friction & this friction causes the wheel to stop spinning wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

Bro, dun worry... It is very normal. It usaully gets rusty when ever it rains or comes into contact with water. The brake pad is baring the disc(metal) surface, thats why its exposed to all weather and stuffs... Its perfectly normal...

don wan see rust? then go change to ceramic brakes lor hahaha...

er.. whatever the case, don go spray WD40 or lubricating oil on it leh...

Edited by Mmythos

Just curious. How bad would it be if someone applied oil, WD40, etc on their brake disc? Is it total loss of braking? I think the brake is "powerful" enough to "bite through" the oil/WD40, so maybe lose a bit of braking power until the brake clean the disc like it clean the rust. Unless it is some super duper lub! Anyone knows? Anyone tried and survived? [sly] And no, I am not about to try it! [laugh]

even though the WD-40 is water base but there's still a fair bit of lubricant (oil based) on it. The main worry is that if the WD-40 were to be absorbed into the brake pads, then the pad will loose it's frictional properties sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif Any yes, don't try it sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

How bad.... Very bad lor... imagine the discs is for you to create friction in order for u to stop and u lubricate it, how to create the friction?? The barke pads are unable to grab that .... Most likely, ACCIDENTS will happen lor [sweatdrop]

No worry. Its perfectly normal. Don't have to do anything [;)]

Go take a look at the red Ferrari 360 parked just Orchard Hello shop for DBS credit card promotion..

The rotors also rust like nobody'w business [:p]