Upgrading new rims and tyres.

Ravinged

Hi folks,

Thinking of upgrading the whole setup of rims and tyres. But there are too many choices available. [dizzy][dizzy][dizzy]

My requirements are pretty simple; Currently on 14" rims, with GoodYear GT065 tyres. Hoping to upgrade to :-

1. 15" or 16" sports rims (can't make up my mind, but most probably I would go for 16") What options do I have for a ESI?

2. Wet and Dry roads - as usual, for economic reasons, all rounded tyres to carry me in all weathers.

3. Braking system setup - What options do I have and how does it fits into the picture of rims/tyres?

Budget of rims plus tyres ... Max is 1k. What are your recommendations and reasons?

Help Help? [:/]

Thanks,

Ed

1) I'll go for 15" rims as it's only 1 plus, 16" will be 2 plus. 15" tyres are cheaper & it should be 195/50/15 for the ESI. nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif

2) best value for money, Kumho 712. wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

3) Replace current stock disc rotor with Brembo Max slotted disc & replaced rubber brake hose with steel braided ones & of cost aftermarket performance brake pads sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

Vtim,

I have recommendations of 16", what is the rational behind 15" or 16"? Just becuase the tyres cheaper? Mileage wise, how does it affects? What rims do you recommend? I am looking around and not discarding any possibilities of second hand rims in good conditions.

I am hoping to use Falken ST115 ... which fits into the 15" like a couple.

Brake wise, I am also looking towards Mintax to test out some cranking noise.

Ed

generally, 16" rims will be slightly heavy than 15" rims & also more ex, same goes for the tyres. That doesn't means that 15" tyres are no good, it's just the 'chio' factor that the 16" will look nicer that's all (IMHO). If you go for 16", the tyres will be 205/50/16 sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif.

You can get very good & light 2nd 15" rims in SHC/CarTorque/TCS. The Enkei CPS-II are not too bad & quite light wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif attach is the pics of the CPS-II in my previous civic wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

I had the ST115 on the Civic for 18mths then went for PG session sweatdrop.gifPosted ImagePosted Image, come back have to change tyres liao Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image(Kumho 712)

for brake pads, you can also try Trestor Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

post-7-1073270174_thumb.jpg

Thanks for the recommendation ... helps alot. Will try to seek them out at workshops ...

I went a few places but they dun carry kumho 712. Since I am not going for track racing, I guess I have more options for tyres.

Ed

1. 15" or 16" sports rims (can't make up my mind, but most probably I would go for 16") What options do I have for a ESI?

2. Wet and Dry roads - as usual, for economic reasons, all rounded tyres to carry me in all weathers.

3. Braking system setup - What options do I have and how does it fits into the picture of rims/tyres?

>>>>>>>>

depends on your application. your priority on racing or looks.

1) bigger rims will definitely look better, but prices for tyres will be higher.

performance wise, your torque will suffer and fuel consumption higer.

2) ST115 feedback not vry good from my frens leh... though i haven't tried it yet. Toyo T1S is highly recommended for both wet and dry.. or advant nova.

3)Braking system is one of the most important factors between crashing and saving your life. upgrade those brakes.. brembo will be good. anyway, red brembo calipers look damn cool.

I differ on the brakes. Think stock ones are good enough. Save money by just getting a good pair of brake pads. Unless you mod your engine and can run real real fast, if not, stock braking is good enough. For looks, you can change rear brake drums to discs. It looks much better, your braking becomes "straighter" (effect is there, even though some say not really), but you need to get good mech to do a good one cos you have ABS and stuffs like that.

To drift a bit, it still surprise me till today that Impreza still have rear brake drums instead of discs....hehehe...

well, I would say it'll depends very much on individual's driving style & habit & see if replacement of stock rotor to after market performance rotor is necessary wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

As for myself, after owning 2 Alfa for 10 yrs (92-02), my front brake pads wear off every 6 mths as I sprint a lot & have late brakings when coming to corners wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif After getting a new ES8 Civic in Oct01, the driving habit didn't change (very hard lar sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif) late braking when coming into corners we not possible on the Civic as the bite doesn't suit my driving style, always engage ABS sweatdrop.gifPosted ImagePosted Image After that, I replace with the Brembo Max, not too ex ~ $170, & Trestor Advantage Pads & went to PG tracking Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image the grip was much more improve (I'm still on stock rubber brake hose) & was able to stick to the back of a A190 (with Kompressor) for 3 laps Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image of course he always pull away on the straight as it's the corner that I catches up with him Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image I also like to drive fast on the NS H/W, the last trip up to K.L. was averaging 170+kmh while the trip back to SG was push by a fake Lexus RX300 (Harrier 240e) & was doing 190+kmh (occationally max at 200kmh) for the 1st half of the NS H/W, got to do a mid stop as wify & Jose (1 & 1/2 yrs) needed a break to visit the loo Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Would agreed to a certain extend about braking becomes 'straighter' if converting the rear drum to disc but if the cars comes with EBD (equal brake distribution) than don't think there's a need to change. Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Wow...you sure drive like crazy...so fast....at least this should give a feel to when we need to change our brakes...hehehe..think most of us travel around 120-14 at most...so our stock braking with good brake pads should still suffice...

A few questions that I would like to ask though:

1. Your pair of Brembo Max costs only 170 bucks? That's pretty affordable. Do you do it here in Spore or Johor? Is brake upgrade a complicated process? Wonder if the mechanic has poor skills and can cause losing our lives for it.

2. When you race at 190-200km/h, your wify does not make any complains at all? I am sure Jose is too small to know the thrills. Wow...

15" will do...some designs do look like 16"....so take your own time to choose the one you like...

as for tyres, go for S02 or S03, selling quite cheap in SHC....highly recommended...

change to better brake pad like trestor advantage and also steel braided hoses.....use dot 5.1 brake fluid... you will be amaze by the much improved braking...

1) Brembo Max is a slotted disc rotor, not the entire brake system upgrade as the caliper is still stock nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif that's why it's around $170 per pair here in SG, Brembo's rotor are better than stock.

2) nope, wify is used to my style of driving & if there's car that are hogging in front, she'll also complain & ask me to overtake laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif.

1) So we don't need to change into the good looking red Brembo calipers to make it even more effective? Wonder how much does it costs if the calipers were to be factored in. No wonder so many wanted to paint their calipers...hehehe...do you happen to know how much to change to steel-braided hose?

2) You race, your wify supports your racing, and if you don't race, your wify will remind you. Wow. This kind of support is extinct as far as I know. 8). So let's watch out for Jose! Think his adrenalin is already turbocharged.

1) Full Brembo Calipers & Rotor upgrade will be very costly, 4 digits sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif click here

& for Brembo Max, click here

steel braided hose should be within the range of $100+.

2) Little Jose has got my 'racing' blood in him lar! laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif