Sync Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Author Share January 15, 2004 Hehe, still my original question is not answered yet (Maybe I write too long), which is: I need to know if there is anyone(s) here (who may know someone, or some mechanic) who is familiar or have expertise in: * Car electronics * Simple electrical/electronics experience or skill * Ripping out car's interior to do wiring * Create custom case/shell/fascia/mounts with stuff like clay, resin, plastic, etc. This is because I really don't have the skill to do any of the above. If no one, or no shop, can do the installation then I'm pretty much in limbo here. I'll still proceed to get the LCD and programming on my notebook. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 I support u mentally Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 I have no idea who you can approach as what you need require many different people of individual specialisation like those good in ECU reprogramming and good wirign skill, another good in re modeling of car interior and also plastic mold designers.....etc....which is why I say, a big project.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Author Share January 15, 2004 (edited) >> like those good in ECU reprogramming I don't need ECU reprogramming, just ECU reading, reading of values is well documented, and there are programs that can do that. Clearing the trouble code is also easy to do. But modding ECU parameters, erm, I'd rather not do that, as I'm no expert in that. Reading of values or trouble codes is quite good as you can know when your sensors is faulty, and can give early warning. If have the trouble code database even better as mechanic cannot cheat you . Only thing is to know where the hell is my OBD II connecter placed at.. Haven't opened up my dash yet, but compliant cars are supposed to have the connector in plain sight. Hmm. BTW, I need some expertise in the early stage for the early parts of the job, like the wiring. After everything works right, I then need people who can do some form of chasis, ugly nevermind, just to hold things in place. When sui sui, then can touch up with proper plastic molding, etc.. Needs a lot of time, and I'm very patient in this.. If I'm not patient, I would have just bought this: http://www.xenarc.com/product/mp-sc1.html and save all the trouble. Edited January 15, 2004 by Sync Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 good ideas ! I think software for car monitoring is already available. U can use a pocket PC for your application and then sync it to yr laptop or desktop. To calculate the distances and maintenance schedule, u could still use the pocket PC and GPS. All u need now is to load the diagnostic software into your pocket PC and get it to do a diagnostic each time u crank the engine. End of the day, it's a matter of costing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toybabe Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 U guys talk so technical until I go bonkers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Author Share January 15, 2004 >> U can use a pocket PC for your application and then sync it to yr laptop or desktop. Hehe, I'm an avid palm user, and I know palm have all this capabilities, but software not tuned for user interface to be used in cars, quite a hassle really. And sadly, I have no good experience in programming for the palm or pocket PC, and I usually don't buy software (well I've bought some). I use my palm to record mileage, distance travelled etc.. But it's quite lor-soh to enter values, when reading the odometer.. Heck I'm lazier by the day.. Got PC and once can read data off cars, I can integrate the stuff better, coz of my own programming, no matter how bad that can be. Fill up petrol, just press one button, and then enter the amount... no need for odo.. hehe.. Still dreaming, but getting there. PS: I'm not a fan of pocket-peecee, used it for one year as a Palm replacement, and then replaced the PPC with a palm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Author Share January 15, 2004 All end users needs to know is that the computer can tell you if something is about to go wrong, and even tell you what that "Check Engine" light means. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 try to get the ECU wiring diagrams and trouble code from manufacturers......should be able to get easily, I think...with that, much of your problem will be solved liao... As for the OBDII, sometime they hide it so that it will not be so accessable to owner so that they cannot mess with it.......could it be below the steering wheel area? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 me also palm user, but still open to options of usability and capability. If you need it to function as a MP3 or movie player, I think the PPC wins the palm... To read off data from the OBDII, you need to know that only certain information is present at it's output stream....ie data from sensors and it's status. I don't think you'd get information like ODO readings,fuel quantity available or even time and date.(altho it is possible to implement those features) The ECU is a smart device, but not smart enuf when it comes to interacting with human operators. I would like to see the day when all ECU are USB or firewire compliant. PErhaps that's a business opportunity you might want to look at instead. The ideas are there.. but it's the implementation that would sell a product. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 it is possible to get mileage provided the stock reading is in digital format in the first place then there is provision for it lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 true.. but alot depends on how the signal is extracted and displayed on the dashboard. all these have to be known. And to get he info, you'd need to pay the manufacturer big time...or at least get it from the net (hopefully from a reliable source) Hope to see the day when all sensors are digital devices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Author Share January 15, 2004 I don't think you'd get information like ODO readings,fuel quantity available or even time and date.(altho it is possible to implement those features) Looking at the tool for the palm that reads off the OBDII, it seems that you can do acceleration runs and measure gear ratios, and based on the RPM and speed data it could get from the ODB, it can measure torgue and horsepower, and draw a nice graph of them, so that you know when to change gears effectively. And even if you can't get RPM values or speed electronically, one can always hack the dashboard and read off the voltage values from the RPM and speed, with a ADC (analog-digital converter), and tabulate data from there. There's a nice parallel port based dongle like thingy, where you can solder the proper wires from the dashboard to the dongle, and it will convert those values to digital. Useful for stuff like fuel, speed, RPM, etc.. And if I can splurge on some wide screen LCD, can definitely make one cool futuristic looking dash . But for odo values.. hmm, mine is electronic, and like what Saaber said, sure got some place to grab the values from.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 Its possible, use the MIL Standards. Use instead embedded cpu, nothing fanciful. One of the ST subsidiary is doing such equipments. BTW, can look further into the software part; before you past the gantry, disable the reader and enable the transfer of funds to the cashcard deducted from the vehicle last went thru. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Author Share January 15, 2004 MIL standards? what MIL standards? I only know of the MIL Standards handbook for lots and lots of different equipment.. And they are quite costly. Can elaborate? BTW, can look further into the software part; before you past the gantry, disable the reader and enable the transfer of funds to the cashcard deducted from the vehicle last went thru. Hehe, this I also want , unfortunately, I don't think cashcard works this way leh... If like that can, many people sell in black market liau. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 (edited) ================================================= I am planning to slowly replace my stock ICE with a 1Ghz computer as my entertainment system. Do things that you would do with your computer. The possibilities are endless. Tell me what you think? ================================================= Another Bill Gate and Steve Jobs wanabe............. Not bad an idea. Thanks for the web-links. Edited January 15, 2004 by Normal_aspirated Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie January 15, 2004 Share January 15, 2004 >> like those good in ECU reprogramming I don't need ECU reprogramming, just ECU reading, reading of values is well documented, and there are programs that can do that. That's cool.. I thot about doing something similar.. but simpler.. Just for display of ECU readouts instead of having to plug in a notebook PC everytime. For this you will still need some additional hardware.. an OBDII interpretor that goes between the OBD port on your car and your PC. I have a colleague in the US who tool one of the LCD screens lying around in the workshop and wired it up in his car. I donno what his system is capable of.. gotta have a look during my next visit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waipor Neutral Newbie January 16, 2004 Share January 16, 2004 sounds very ambitious, but highly do-able. suggestions/comments: 1. why the crystalfontz, just jump straight into a small LCD since u are planning on to make the thing GPS capable. use that hole to house your wireless keyboard and mouse better 2. for power, u may want to consider putting a UPS in the trunk, but the heat may kill the batteries in it. another thing to be concerned about a UPS is that i draws quite a high currnet to keep it batteries charged. however, they are a very good stable power source. 3. u can still use a magnetic HDD, they can withstand quite a bit of shock even while they are spinning. to counter the slow boot up problem, y dont u wire a switch to your doors unlocking. in that way, when u dis-arm and unlock your doors the pc can start to boot up. will add more to this list as i think about it. pm me if u need any help. sounds like a very very interesting project. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...