Parkwalker Clutched June 24, 2004 Share June 24, 2004 Hi Gang! I am currently shopping for good, cheap, low noise tyres (you know lah Singaporean mental of "all also want). Checked with some dealers and realised that conti is very expensive, compared to Falken... How's performance for falken and yokohama? Any good tyre shop to recommend (esp yokohama, Stamford don't seem to carry it)? Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redz Clutched June 24, 2004 Share June 24, 2004 try BS GR80. quiet and reliable in both wet and dry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear June 24, 2004 Share June 24, 2004 (edited) I'm using Falken ST115. Reviews are good with it. They are "Accoustic Performance" meaning quiet yet gives performance. So far OK. Users prefer these over the Ziex512 also from Falken. The price can't be beat. There are only 4 names to consider when it comes to affordable performance tires. Falken ST115 Kumho Ecsta 712 (least expensive of all of 4) Sumitomo HTRZ II (if you can find it around) Yokohama AVS ES100 (most expensive of all of 4) Another to consider is he BFGoodrich gForce Sport. The tire pattern on this one rocks! Edited June 24, 2004 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orangie Neutral Newbie June 24, 2004 Share June 24, 2004 My st115 getting noisy liao leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonknapp Clutched June 24, 2004 Share June 24, 2004 was jus reading the motoring annual and the BF goodrich seems to be a really good tyre. tyre noise ratings equal to the Michelin Pilot Preceda (8.5/10 vs 8.5/10) but is more comfortable ( 9/10 vs 7/10). tyre weight also lighter for 195/50r15 (8.5kg vs 8.6kg). considering that the size 205/50r16 is only about $110 per piece this tyre cant be beat for a performance tyre!! for this size, St115 is about $130, kumho $120 and es100 $135. Sumitomo i have no idea but its slammed in other countries. Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 It gets noisier as it wears. But it is a great performance tire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kotila Clutched June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 What about GOODYEAR? Any comment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 No experience with Goodyear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redz Clutched June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 GOODYEAR not as popular now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 which goodyear tyre u referring to? got realli one and realli one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kotila Clutched June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 Thinking of installing Eagle F1 to my stream. Is it suitable for my car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 depends if they hv your size. if hv, go for the F1 GSD3. most shops selling the GSD2 which is quite noisy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kotila Clutched June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redz Clutched June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 eagle not bad leh... ur stream is 1.7 or 2.0? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kotila Clutched June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 STREAM 1.7L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redz Clutched June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 same same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eskimo Neutral Newbie June 26, 2004 Share June 26, 2004 I was considering Bridgestone GIII, if I have enough cash in hand. But it is not in your list Where does the GIII fit ? Falken ST115Kumho Ecsta 712 (least expensive of all of 4) Sumitomo HTRZ II (if you can find it around) Yokohama AVS ES100 (most expensive of all of 4) Another to consider is he BFGoodrich gForce Sport. The tire pattern on this one rocks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 28, 2004 Share June 28, 2004 My st115 getting noisy liao leh Wow... so fast? Is it a norm? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...