1. 1.

• Yes, although temporary
    • No, of course not ... duh !
    • Havent thought about it ?
    • Its OK , I got money to burn in the bank
    • This system sucks

I gotta be frank here. Having owned my No 6 ride ... the current MazdaSpeed-tuned TarzanBoy (yar lar ... bluff only lah unimpressed.gif) ... I ask this question to brudders here.

dizzy.gif Do we really own our rides ? dizzy.gif

My definition in owning a ride is : Agree to buy , pay financing , end financing after donkey years , I finally own my ride thumbsup.gif

However, it seems that this concept doesnt exist here .... Agree to buy , pay financing , end financing after donkey years , kena re-new COE or scrap car , repeat the process over again. thumbsdown.gif

NEVER ENDING DEBTS thumbsdown.gif

When can I own my ride then .... like the above, I might as well be better off renting cars bigcry.gifbigcry.gif

Multiple answers for the poll is possible nod.gif

Edited by Hitman

i always think that i am renting car only from gahmen (on a contract called COE), never thought of owning the car before [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

i do own one beetle in MY though [thumbsup]

I envy you inlove.gif

I also want to be like you ... ownership of my own car thumbsup.gif

Met a 50 plus man at Carrefour today ... drives a 70s Spitfire .... damn fast manz nod.gifthumbsup.gif

Admire sia ... nothing more to pay for him except Road Tax and Insurance and Maintenance .... his hobby car unimpressed.gif

Wah lau eh .... our hobby car only RC cars ... people hobby cars are real cars shocked.gif

Maybe u can try to beat the system by importing antique/hobby cars, which is also good to drive on the streets?

Are there such cash penalty to keep a 1983 VW GTI? Furthermore, if u buy it overseas for like 5000 SGD, import to SG, the tax is probably only 10k SGD. (200%)

yaya so in MY want get must get one that can be used as a 'hobby car' one, example: the twin turbo effini [sly][sly]

my beetle was one of my grandpa's hobby car also...

he also has one 1966 jaguar mkII and a V8 3.5L old rover [nosebleed][nosebleed]

u see, he bought in those car cheap cheap and keep them coz he can't afford new one when he was young.. and now he is still owning them. for the rover he doesn't pay road tax and insurance anymore but he can still keep it, this is what i called a real car ownership [thumbsup]

Hi all

What i am about to say here is not pleasant, but here goes...

To answer the question, my view is relatively simple. Pay up in full for the car, you own it. Hence strictly speaking, most pple do not own their car, it is the financing company that owns it.

But since this is a rather stringent criteria, my personal view is that as long as you are not in negative equity (owe bank a value > than current market value of car) then you are in "safe" territory and can be considered to "own" a car in the sense that your car is an asset, rather than a liability. This obviously applies to those whose go for 10 yr loan with low downpayment.

It is sad that so many Singaporeans do not sufficiently understand financial planning, such that they are frittering away their hard earned money paying LTA, the financing companies, etc. If job is ironclad and pay keeps increasing, then great. But if not, then how? Would you rather have a car when you are old and less mobile, or now, when you are young and fit?

my view only [:)]

I agree with your point of view .... trouble is , other costs factor in .... how many of us can really pay fully for our cars without financing dizzy.gif

My current car value > my financing loan ... but I still dont feel I own the car .... anytime I deafult on the loan .... REPO-MAN may come bigcry.gif

I admire you and your grandpa .... nod.gif

RX7 .... itching like mad oredi , machiam wanna go put my RM$5K downpayment , owner still havent sold the car yet rolleyes.gif

under such circumstances, just do the best lor... downpayment try to put more, so that loan not too big and monthly not too much

Owning a car in Singapore is cash haemorrhage in itself, whether you pay up in full or not. So, too bad for those who MUST own a car.

If the interests is low and you decided that you need a car, I think borrowing to own one is definitely acceptable. Why wait ten years to save up the cash? Since you have decided that you need a car, it must be with good and pertinent reasons. If you waited, you might already lose out on opportunies, such as getting a business deal, a promotion, convenience for your children/family, or job related convenience related with owning a vehicle.

Of course, it is stupid to take a loan and not paying off the principle.

Thats why I ask ... do we really own it ... cause it seems to be is a never endin debt. unsure.gif

As soon as we can call the car our own .... ooops, time is up .... buy COE or Scrap mad.gif

Where does the "scrap" cars go to? Doesn't really get scrapped right?

A 10 years old car is worth some money overseas, where it can be driven another 10-15 years. Also, Singaporeans take good care of their gold coated cars, and the driven distance is very low.

Edited by Zrun

I agree with your point of view .... trouble is , other costs factor in .... how many of us can really pay fully for our cars without financing dizzy.gif

My current car value > my financing loan ... but I still dont feel I own the car .... anytime I deafult on the loan .... REPO-MAN may come bigcry.gif

"May"?? More like definitely right?? sweatdrop.gif

Time to downgrade or upgrade to a bike... U save petrol, accelerate faster.