Genie47 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 (edited) Yeah. Only worthwhile thing is the body. Robust fella and BTW, you are addressing Genie47 and not Darklord. VR4 Niva...Ooh..... Scary if met on the E3! Edited July 10, 2004 by Genie47 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Samaras are usually red. I dunno but the main color I see are red ones. Overheating, poor paintwork. Cheap bxxxxxd that serves its purpose and then you scrap them! But not the Niva. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched July 10, 2004 Author Share July 10, 2004 yes, 100% sure but it looks like an old Nubira to me, the headlights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Julian Clutched July 10, 2004 Author Share July 10, 2004 No lah... Lada was sold here from 1988 to 1991 only, then evaporate into thin air, think cannot pass the dunno what emission... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Heh! But it ain't winter over here in Singapore lehz!! I admit that they are built for the Russian winter but out of Russia, they CMI liaoz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 The old models actually have a manual petrol "choke" to jump start the car if the car batt is dead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Woahz... GM again?? Maybe they will do some fine-tuning which would be really needed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Got it wrong. Choke is from carburetted cars. You let in a rich AFR when you pull the choke knob. If your battery is dead, the choke is no going to help you. There is no ignition to begin with! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Hi there Darklord Seems like you are familiar with the Niva. You are half correct. The surviving ones are only 1/4 original at most. The rest of the 3/4 will be from whatever fits and goes. Saw it once in Batu Pahat. This Malay family owns one and when he pops the bonnet, it's a VR4 engine! The body is tough though. Too bad it's only 3 doors. A little inconvenient for the rear passengers. Other than that, if there a full factory one around, sure to overheat like how the Samara did. You replied to Genie but addressed to me! Genie would know lots of the technical stuff about Ladas (Basically he knows all models! ) but I had "first-hand" experience of it in Australia!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Isit?? I got the information from the guy who was trying to sell me his Lada Nivea back in Australia! In fact, his whole family drives Ladas, from grandfather to him! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Only carburetted engines have a choke. Can be automatic, can be manual. If your battery is dead, nothing will start the car unless get a jump start. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Come to think of it now, the choke would just flood the engine with petrol! But hey, machiam can be used like cruise control! Set the choke to maintain car at certain speed and don't need to step on accelerator liaoz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Aussies love the Niva. Their country off road conditions needs a car like that. A cheap car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Heng I never bought the Lada from him sia! But got to admit it was a real "hardy" car manz! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 ": Isit?? I got the information from the guy who was trying to sell me his Lada Nivea back in Australia! In fact, his whole family drives Ladas, from grandfather to him!" ARAH whole family oso driving Chevy!!! from Father to him!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Ermz, I think got quite abit of difference lehz! That family started from 1970s to 2000s lehz... I am sure ARAH's one is 2004s niaz.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 my Ah Gong used to drives a Chevy. now i oso own one. counted anot??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 10, 2004 Share July 10, 2004 Cannot! Skipped one generation! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...