Prozac Clutched May 26, 2002 Share May 26, 2002 Am driving AT190 too but my colour cannot make it lah. Log book stated grey but seems like brownish to me. Didnt do much to the car except installing the PBV, changing of plugs to splitfire brand and K&N airfilter. The response of the car and fuel consumption seems better after changing those things. Yah.. my original colour also cannot make it... so i MAKE it ... make it.... ... i resprayed the whole car..... now.. loves the colour.... as for changing of colours... just go www.onemotoring.com.sg and change.. can liao... and they'll send a letter to u after u've done that..... I didn't know that PBV makes a difference.... i've changed my plugs, cables & drop-in K&N filter as well..... the rest is stock original... my fuel consumption is about 10.5 to 11km/litres... but i got a fren that could hit 12km/litre... that means his full tank can hit 600km!! so been always trying to reach that... how about yours? in terms of km/l? Hi Guyver, how much did u pay for the paint job? Full colour change right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie May 26, 2002 Share May 26, 2002 Me too got a VRS PBV fitted on my Lancer, from McWell. It cost me $320 abt 2 yrs back, when fitted on my GTi. The pressure are different when cold start, and it changes after u have drove for sometimes. It normally will goes up slightly. Example: When the engine is cold, the pressure u've set maybe is 2.6 bar, but after u drove for sometimes, it shoots to 2.8 or 3 bar. The best to adjust the pressure i think is after u have drove for sometime, meaning the engine is hot, in order to be accurate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prozac Clutched May 26, 2002 Share May 26, 2002 Me too got a VRS PBV fitted on my Lancer, from McWell. It cost me $320 abt 2 yrs back, when fitted on my GTi. The pressure are different when cold start, and it changes after u have drove for sometimes. It normally will goes up slightly. Example: When the engine is cold, the pressure u've set maybe is 2.6 bar, but after u drove for sometimes, it shoots to 2.8 or 3 bar. The best to adjust the pressure i think is after u have drove for sometime, meaning the engine is hot, in order to be accurate. does ur "power" or responsiveness increase?? Fuel consumption? Or is it all in the mind.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie May 26, 2002 Share May 26, 2002 I dont really feel the diff. I think all is in the mind... But surprisingly, after i have fitted into my GTi, i oso dont feel the diff., but after i removed it to transfer to my Lancer, i can feel it. My GTi feels like sxxt.... Like a normal swift. So, who knows whether this thing works. My throttle response is normal, maybe slightly better, but definitely not my mileage. It decrease by a little bit. Its even worse after i have chnaged my rims to 16". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prozac Clutched May 27, 2002 Share May 27, 2002 haha, me also... its all in the mind i guess.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killer5010 Neutral Newbie May 28, 2002 Share May 28, 2002 PBV will not increase the power of your car. It only helps wif getting a smoother gear shift. A setting of 2.9 is too much, you will notice that your fuel consumption increases. With a PBV, u have to change a new fuel pipe. The stock pipe will burst under too much pressure. My advise to u , remove the pbv from your car, my car which is 1 yr old broke down bcoz of it. More over , dyno test with a pbv aand without pbv shows no diff. If you go to ultramax for dyno, u will know immediately. The dyno tester will ask u to remove it b4 the test. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hensony Clutched May 28, 2002 Author Share May 28, 2002 Hi, bro. Thanks for your message. 2.9 bar may be too much for my car. Fuel consumption is definitely increased. But the power that comes with it is intoxicating. Makes me very unwilling to change the setting. However, I disagree with you that PBV does not increase my car's power. Two of my friends can testify that installing PBV in their cars does increase the power. The pick up is definitely faster. This is one of the most obvious sign after installing PBV. Could it be that your car is not suitable for PBV? There's a bro here who told me his car's fuel system is "returnless" (don't know what that means), but because of its unique system, his PBV does not enhance his car's performance. By the way, what car are you driving? I must admit I'm not sure of the fuel pipe. Didn't know I have to change it. Come to think of it, you are the only one telling me of the necessity. Even McWell Ventures (where my car's PBV was installed) did not mention the need. Anyway, to play safe, I will seek second opinion before changing the pipe. Must be expensive. PBV will not increase the power of your car. It only helps wif getting a smoother gear shift. A setting of 2.9 is too much, you will notice that your fuel consumption increases. With a PBV, u have to change a new fuel pipe. The stock pipe will burst under too much pressure. My advise to u , remove the pbv from your car, my car which is 1 yr old broke down bcoz of it. More over , dyno test with a pbv aand without pbv shows no diff. If you go to ultramax for dyno, u will know immediately. The dyno tester will ask u to remove it b4 the test. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie May 28, 2002 Share May 28, 2002 I agree with u too. PBV doesnt serve any purpose? It cannot be. Btw, if thats really the case, then why bother to take it out if it doesnt help? I personally feel its fine, but not that significant. Just slight improvement. But 2.9 bar is really too high. A normal car pressure w/o PBV is around 2.2bar. Mine is 2.2 bar before fitting PBV. Now i set it at 2.4 - 2.6 bar. My babe feels okay. Slightly better than before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killer5010 Neutral Newbie May 29, 2002 Share May 29, 2002 Brudder, no prob. Everyone will have a diff opinion on the acc they add. When i first install the pbv, i do feel the diff (maybe psychological effect). But after, my dyno with and without the pbv , it does not show a diff on the dyno chart. Some of my fren from SHC oso share the same feelings after they run the dyno. The reason why u feel the power after putting in the pbv is not bcos your engine is becoming more powerful. It is due to the fact that more fuel is pumped using the pressure. It is the same as if u step on your rev wif full throt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 29, 2002 Share May 29, 2002 From what i know PBV helps to even the blind spot to have more gradual acceleration.... not increase horse power or what right? A fren of mine has it... and he told me that it actual makes your acceleration more even.... and not sudden surge.... but not really in terms of more power... my 2 cents... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie May 29, 2002 Share May 29, 2002 Killer, u mean u took the pbv out afetr u found out that it doesnt help? Really no diff except higher fuel consumption? If thats the case, probably i might wana take it out too. If theres no diff in both fuel consumption and power, no point taking it out. Can just leave it there..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killer5010 Neutral Newbie May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 hi mitlover, pbv does help on the gear shift portion. As for fuel saving, that also depends on the setting of the pbv. Power gain definitely not possible. Remove it if u dun need it coz if the pbv brokedown, ure entire car cannot start, it happen to me last month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evo6_23 Neutral Newbie May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 in order not to spend too much...i'll probably just get a full set of sportier tyre covers to complete the look of the car. Hopefully, i can find something at $50.00 for a set of 4. hi michel... if u haven't got ur tyre covers u can go to a shop called "car accessories" to take a look... i saw some the last time i went there... there's one of them in parkway and one in jurong point... think got other branches too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 hey Evo6_23...there's one in jurong point??!! I didn't even realise there's such a shop in jurong point even though i frequent the place every now and then... Yeah....still haven't had the chance to shop around yet. Thanks for the advise. Cheers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 hey Evo6_23...there's one in jurong point??!! I didn't even realise there's such a shop in jurong point even though i frequent the place every now and then... Yeah....still haven't had the chance to shop around yet. Thanks for the advise. Cheers... Is it? tom i'll be in the west.... so will check it out.. if possible..... tom "Journey to the West"..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 Yup, theres one shop situated just at the entrance of the carpark to the mall. Its quite ulu and quiet. It hide on one corner though. Happy looking.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zolidlim Neutral Newbie May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 If thats the case, i probably will take it myself. Thanks for the info. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched May 30, 2002 Share May 30, 2002 from what I know ... PBV works ok only for manual cars, for auto cars...dun waste money ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...