The sub-70k category

Tomasulu

if you are thinking of buying a car and your budget is $70k and below, this post is for you.

recently, i test drove the chevrolet optra stick (~$65.9k), honda city idsi/vtec stick ($64.5k,68.5k), nissan sunny ex stick (~$67.5k), suzuki liana 5-dr hatch stick (~$66.9k), and the toyota vios auto (stick not available in the ubi showroom) ~$63k. this is what i think...

chevrolet optra -

exterior: the front of the car attempts to be distinctive but ended up on the wrong side of conservative. although i must admit there is nothing particularly offensive about the whole set up. for some reasons, the daewoo equivalent looks nicer with its logo on the hood compared to the chevy logo which is attached to the grill. a set of odd-shape headlamps anchor the two sides. the back is more musculine and purposeful, the pair of sparkling lamp clusters look good. there are only 5 colors to choose from (black, silver, gold, blue and red). the 15" rims that comes with the premium package appear a little small inside the wheel well. i suppose a set of 17" would be a worthwhile investment if you want to enhance its appearance. my verdict? 5/10

interior: this is where the optra really sets itself apart from the pack. the faux-walnut trimmings are understated and therefore tolerable. the CD-changer matches so well with the dashboard that it looks like it is factory-fitted. interior space is good for a car this price, should be able to comfortably sit 4 adults. verdict? 7/10

drive: engine is run of the mill dohc 16v. not sure if it comes with valve timing technology... the salesman gave me the i-don't-know-but-i-won't-admit-it-so-i'll-start-babbling-like-a-clueless-sales person lecture about emission standard when asked about this. acceleration is decent although the engine will be vocal when you push it into the high RPM range. handling is above avg even if it was obviously tuned for comfort, independent suspension notwithstanding. NVH is good for a car at this price. verdict? 6.5/10

honda city -

exterior: this is one sleek willy. very short and angular front (almost at the same angle as the windshield!) and a long big butt translates into a volumous trunk. reminds me a little of the discontinued nsx. certainly looks like it is raring to go and go fast. will look better with the optional front grill and a bigger set of rims (duh!). it is a little controversal but i likey likey. verdict? 6.5/10

interior: one word, yikes. plastic-plastic-everywhere. and the hard unyielding look will scream its humble origin to all it will ferry. hated the locally fitted stereo unit which leaves a gapping hole on the dashboard. size is cozy if you want to be charitable but downright niggardly if you are honest. there is little to like about the interior. verdict? 3/10

drive: the idsi engine is designed to be fuel efficient so don't expect a brisk performer from this unit. perhaps the lack of haste is accentuated by the vtec but i soon found myself losing interest and turned back to the comfort of the showroom. the suspension is twitchy and floaty, certainly doesn't live up to honda's reputation for good handling. NVH is below avg with wheel noise particularly apparent. the vtec version is a much MUCH MUCH better drive. the acceleration is instant, linear and extremely addictive. i sent it above 6k RPM within the confines of the ubi backlanes while dodging oncoming trucks. the sales lady was holding on to the overhead handle like her life depended on it. although you should forget about the myths surrounding the vtec moniker. the sohc unit means you won't feel the surge in power when vtec kicks in. verdict? idsi 4.5/10, vtec 7.5/10.

...to be continued

Edited by Tomasulu

nissan sunny -

the sunny is absolutely, by a long shot, the worst of the lot here. it has a decent exterior but that's about it. driving the car is like travelling back to the early 90s - it feels like a car that is in need of a long overdue makeover. the ride is soft, the engine is extremely rough (although the SE did say that unit i test drove is particularly loud because it has been driven hard by many) and under-powered. the ex's interior is also dated, the stereo unit doesn't go well with the dash and hard plastic is used liberally. Noise, Vibration and Harshness (NVH) is below avg among the ones i test drove. and of course you have heard that it doesn't have the best FC around. i can't find any redeeming quality to this car... well ok, the ac was cold. i'd avoid this if i were you.

suzuki liana hatch -

the liana actually stands for lifestyle in a new age, i kid you not. the first thing that catches your eye is it looks more like a truncated station wagon than a proper hatch. even with the aid of a comes-with-it body kit, it looks kinda dowdy and uninspiring. it doesn't help that the interior looks spartan and cold with the aluminum-clad central dash. The locally-fitted stereo matches well with the dash but of course the factory fitted ones look better in the brochures. in short, the looks will not win a beauty contest but at least if you have to go with ugly, you get to go with uniquely ugly (hehe, uniquely ugly). good thing about this car, from my standpoint, is that there just aren't too many of them on the road.

the drive is decent with slightly above avg accleration. i did detect a lack of push in the middle range of rpms but that shouldn't be much of a concern for the typical buyer. there is definitely road noise and the engine roars heartily, althought in a pleasant way unlike the sunny. the handling is again, slightly above avg with just a little pronounced body roll.

nothing really to dislike about this but i cant say i am crazy over it. it is made in japan if thats important to you. it should have good FC if you trust the official numbers. the sales guy was friendly in a sincere way... but it just didn't excel in any of the areas important to my consideration.

toyota vios -

this car is a value buy and singaporeans know it. go to BM during the weekends and you will find a line from there to mandai. you shouldn't expect solicitous service from the sales staff and i don't blame them. the name of the game for BM sales people appears to be sell as many as you can and do it quick. se complained that her commission is very little.

having said that, ask around for recommendations if you want a good deal. the sales people were clearly uninterested to throw in freebies to sweeten the deal.

anyway, back to the car. it is a toyota, so what else do you need to know? it should be reliable, country of origin notwithstanding. the engine is a proven worker and works hard at impressing you with its thrifty habits. the exterior is inoffensive; with fog lamps and a bigger set of rims, the car should look sporty and youthful. it won't get mistaken for a more expensive make though. good points about the car is it comes with a lot of stuff at a very competitive price - 2 airbags, disc brakes, edb, body kit, abs, etc.

and did i mention it's a toyota?

the bads are many unfortunately. first it is small. ok scratch that, it is midget size. four people will get to know each othe intimately on a long trip. the interior is ugly with lots of open craters (oops, drink holders) and a steering wheel that is probably sold at walmart for $9.90. it comes cheap but i was hoping it doesn't look the part. the centrally placed instrument panels takes some getting used to but it is not a big deal for me. i just wonder what the vios designers were thinking when they decided to go for it. if the central position is better, why didnt they implement it for toyota's more expensive makes?

the engine is surprisingly loud, or the sound proofing is poorly done. other than that, acceleration is good because of the good weight to power ratio. handling is below avg with too little road feel. body roll is pronounced. spares should be easily available, FC is great. and of course, i did mention it is a toyota...

Edited by Tomasulu

it was down to the vios and the optra and i have made a decision. what would you guys have done?

didn't test drive the lancer because of the problems with mitsu and the lancer's exterior didn't exactly call out to me. the look has Gen-1 stamped all over it and for a 1.6l, it looks teenie. problems with the gdi engine and our local gas' sulfur content don't help. kia's cerato looks nice but the lack of air bags/abs puts it out of contention. i can do with a cheapo stereo or hub caps instead of rims but i value my life enough to want airbags/abs in my ride. thank you mr car distributor for your blatant disregard for my safely. was impressed with the proton wira whenever i get a chance to drive it. the mitsu engine is an eager beaver and its surefootedness inspire confidence. i just can't get over the whole malaysian thing to be perfectly honest; and the quality problems don't help change my mind. hyundais matrix is plain butt ugly. i can't understand how car designers can get paid coming out with visual vomit like that. the thot of driving one is about as appealing as scrambling my retinas with an ice pick. the getz looks good for a hyundai, which admittedly, isn't saying a whole lot. but at least it didn't go with the new thinking for hatches and do away with the protruding butt. we need the butt for hatches! what killed the deal was the size of the getz, or more aptly put, the lack thereof. as you can imagine, midget cars don't get my vote

what else is there under $70k?

Edited by Tomasulu

went with the optra for interior aesthetics, refinement, space and overall competence. the major hit against the optra is the lack of a passenger airbag which is really is a sore point for me. i can only hope that its larger footprint and heavier mass relative to the vios will compensate for it.

i really encourage car buyers not to buy vehicles that are deliberately stripped of essential safety equipments. it is likely you will get into at least one accident over the years. and it doesn't matter how careful you drive, you can't expect every road user to be as careful as you are. get all the protection you can, mpvs and suvs are getting more popular than ever, you will need it.

Edited by Tomasulu

it was down to the vios and the optra and i have made a decision. what would you guys have done?

didn't test drive the lancer because of the problems with mitsu and the lancer's exterior didn't exactly call out to me. the look has Gen-1 stamped all over it and for a 1.6l, it looks teenie. problems with the gdi engine and our local gas' sulfur content don't help. kia's cerato looks nice but the lack of air bags/abs puts it out of contention. i can do with a cheapo stereo or hub caps instead of rims but i value my life enough to want airbags/abs in my ride. thank you mr car distributor for your blatant disregard for my safely. was impressed with the proton wira whenever i get a chance to drive it. the mitsu engine is an eager beaver and its surefootedness inspire confidence. i just can't get over the whole malaysian thing to be perfectly honest; and the quality problems don't help change my mind. hyundais matrix is plain butt ugly. i can't understand how car designers can get paid coming out with visual vomit like that. the thot of driving one is about as appealing as scrambling my retinas with an ice pick. the getz looks good for a hyundai, which admittedly, isn't saying a whole lot. but at least it didn't go with the new thinking for hatches and do away with the protruding butt. we need the butt for hatches! what killed the deal was the size of the getz, or more aptly put, the lack thereof. as you can imagine, midget cars don't get my vote

what else is there under $70k?

Hmm for me, i agree with you that matrix looks sux. The car look like a flying coffin to me. [laugh] Getz is better but the size and quality is [:p] . Lancer looks wise to me is good but the thought of mitsubishi going kaput next april is good enough to deter me off. It is better to keep out from mitsubishi car for the moment till their scandals and problems clear. I am not going to risk 60+k of my $ in such a car. It is simply not worth it. Lastly, Cerato looks is good but the engine roar is a huge turn off plus the cheapskate interior. W/o ABS and Airbag is also a huge turn off!

Tomasulu,

Thanks for the very informative mini-review at the start of this thread. It's always refreshing to hear from folks who test drove various vehicle makes and subsequently made the effort to share his/her comments with other potential car buyers.

I fully agree with you on the importance of having passive safety features in our cars. After all, if airbags and anti-lock brakes deserved to be overlooked, why not do away with safety belts too? Which reminds me of a conversation I had with a Hyundai sales executive...

Me: Tucson got ABS and SRS?

Hyundai SE: What for you want airbag and ABS? You drive so long got kena accident or not?

Me: That's not the point. Besides, you won't know when disaster will strike.

Hyundai SE: Then better not have airbag lah! If you know your car got no airbag, then you drive safer mah!

Me: What if a driver in an oncoming car falls asleep on his wheel and drifts over into my lane and hits me?

Hyundai SE: Lidat too bad loh. Haiya... want airbag must pay extra you know! No oni that ah... service somemore must pay oso! You know or not... Komoco save Hyundai owner so much money by taking out airbag and ABS!

Me: Now customer asking for ABS and SRS. How come Komoco not giving customers what they want? Car OMV so low, profit margit must be damn fat man! You saying this $80K car comes without crucial safety features ah? Why are you trying to put a price on human lives?

Hyundai SE: Okaylah... I check for you see got airbag or not. (Calls someone on his cellphone and yaks loudly for 2-3 minutes.) Good news... got one driver side airbag!

I wonder why it's so difficult to include the second airbag for the front passenger, espcially when the $63K Vios comes with two standard airbags?

Yes... many cars still sell well despite lacking crucial safety features. Blame it on a large section of consumers who, through no fault of theirs, are ignorant of the merits of passive safety features in saving human lives. If disaster should rear its ugly head, I'm pretty sure the car owner/driver will regret his/her decision of not spending that little bit more on a safer car to ensure the safety of the car's occupants.

Note: This example is not meant to insult owners of the Tucson or any other cars without safety features.

ya, it is amazing people will buy cars without air bags/ABS because they are "good deals" only to splurg on rims, fuel magnets, filters, spark plugs, body kits, tints, fog lamps (in s'pore!!), spoiler, reverse sensor, alarm, ice system, sound proofing, etc.

what does it say about car distributors that sell basic 1.3l-1.6l rides that are all decked out with useless frills but do away with safety equipments that may save lives? and what does it say about car buyers who don't care enough to make them change?

only in s'pore i suppose.

the SEs in singapore, and a large percentage of those selling jap and korean brand are really just sales coordinator or order takers only.

they are lacking in selling skills and simply there because the cars sell by price or brand.

hence it is not surprising that they are like that....cos they have managed to sell because there are people who will just buy because its cheap.

its really the superficiality of sg car buyers that is causing all these.....of course i am not saying buyers of these korean or jap cars are stupid......but rather amazed that so many people have so little regard for car safety (so many buy cars without these safety features)......at the end of the day, all they see is $$$ in their decision making process.

Edited by Acemundo

Agreed regarding those Ses in selling japs/korean brands. Most of these Ses sell their cars because many Sporeans already biased in japs/korean makes even though it came without safety features like airbags. Why I bought my Renault was because of the Se selling point. I test drove the car with him telling me the features and then he took over and test drove to show me what the car can do. That was convincing. I dont see Ses selling japs/korean makes doing these.