Getting Philips Vision Plus

Psfong

i wonder how long can the bulbs last?

===============================

My VP already >2 years & still going strong. Only problem is they r getting dimmer as they age.

If installed properly, they sud last. [thumbsup] Much better then those flashy bulbs sold. [shakehead]

VP is yellowish like original bulbs. Mine were about 1.5 times brighter when new but the good part is their spread is more even unlike the OEM bulbs which have certain areas brighter & some areas not lighted up. U can just get the H4 bulbs which combine the high & low beams in 1 bulb. After installing, u might need to do the adjustment to get the beam of light to shine on the road & not in on-coming drivers' eyes.

I DIY the adjustment on a dark straight road. After adjusting, on the low beam & stand about 50 to 100 meters in front of your car & check if they blind u. If so, the adjustment sud b lower. After that on the high beam & see if it lights up the road as far as the beam can reach.

Aftermarket antenna (eg: internal type) usually doesn't have as good reception as the original external antenna. I tried Bosch internal b4, where it is stuck to the inside of the windscreen with 2 thin wires running along the top of the windscreen & the reception loses out to the original external type.

My Bosch windscreen antenna wire he wana charge me S$50!!! I tell him go fly kite. Went to another shop at Alexandra for S$30 only.

===========================

Last time when my Bosch antenna wire broke, I DIY a replacement by just 1 simple solder. Can use a longer wire to join to the old external antenna for better reception. [thumbsup][laugh]

tryin 2 revive old thread...yday got vision plus H1 4 my sunny in mcwell..fixed during the day..2nite wen i 1 2 test the lite...

the lite seems funni 2 me..it shoots further than stock..but lite like more focus on rite side..left side bit dim & got 2 thin rays of light frm left bulb shootin 45deg 2 the left..

the 2 thin rays veri obvious...veri distractin.. [:(]

is it sometin wrong with the bulb or need 2 run in bulbs? [:/]

========================

Have the headlight alignment checked. Mine is very nice & even spread in front of the car. Better then the OEM bulbs.

Bulbs don't need to "run-in". They sud be best from the start. As it gets older, it wil start to dim.

hmmm thanks..i tink i go back ther again..eye sore 2 drive at nite.. [dizzy]

=========================

If they can't even install your bulbs properly, I wud rather not go back & prefer to DIY.

They cannot touch the bulb glass at all cos it wil cause the bulb to blow very quickly. I think the guy who install for you got no experience at all. Did he wear a pair of clean white cotton gloves when he install the bulbs? Mine did. > then 2 years & the bulbs still working.

ok thanks..scared 2 align myself..wait kena electrocuted or worse casing crack....

u knoe hw 2 do?

He used his bare hands 2 install 4 me... [:/]

Edited by Tarzan666

It's not difficult but just check how much space there is to move your hands in the space behind the headlamp housing. My hands quite big so it might b a squeeze. [laugh]

It sud b shown in your handbook how to change. Basically just remove the rubber cover then the wire connector (plug) then the spring retaining clip & take out the bulb. Never touch the glass part of the bulb. Only hold from the rear metal part where the 3 terminals r.

The alignment is a bit more difficult. Must find location & do at night for best results. Most have 2 screws on each housing to adjust up/down & left/right. Not all use the same method but u got to see what type u have first.

Also have to use a cloth to cover 1 headlight while adjusting the other.

Dont worry about electric shock cos it's only 12 volts. [laugh]

Edited by Pisces69

haiz 2 tink i pay $5 incl GST 4 such workmanship..sian..

let me try..if cannot go back shop bang table aredy..but then hard 2 show them the fault..coz 7pm close & thers still daylight

Try parking about 2 meter from a wall & shine your headlight on the wall. There is a way to adjust using this method but I don't have the calculations to do it this way. This is the professional way to adjust the headlights.

Edited by Pisces69

No not Tye Soon. The other place. Around the 4 or 5th level. Got the lobang from a bro in TCS. Best price at that time & they did a good job installing. I watched him & was very satisfied. [thumbsup]