Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 Being a blur person that I am at certain times of the year, this is what happened: curious to see the 'cleanliness' of the engine in my parents' '04 Sunny. I took off the oil cap for a closer inspection. was distracted by some event and had to close the bonnet of the car. parents drove car to m'sia and back. upon arriving home, oil indicator lights appeared. they felt something amiss when the car behaved sluggishly and had not much power. bonnet was opened and behold; engine oil spluttered in every nook and crevice. engine oil cap nowhere to be seen. Obviously, coz I was distracted earlier. oil was topped up and new cap replaced. Like to know from you guys out there...what are the possibilities of engine damage and what should I do, other than scrap the car ? How extent is this damage ? siao liao.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 Wah! Your parents never beat your backside ah? Anyway suppose if the light comes on only when you reach home, ie. when you have lost enough oil and the pressure is getting low, there should not be damage other than a messy engine bay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 when u guys found out abt it...is the engine oil all leaked out or there are still engine oil inside...pray hard there are still some inside or there wld b serious damage to the pistons due to the high friction Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 Hmmmm I had this experience too. At least I did not drive that far. But realised oil dripping from my bonnet at the petrol station where I was filling up petrol. Did not lose much oil, abt 1/4 lost only. But can see smoke coming out from bonnet as the oil drip on the exhaust pipes. Therefore I drive very slowly to workshop to replace cap. 50km/h at 5th gear!!! Dont want too high rpm for oil to splash. Washing the engine bay is a real nightmare!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 The engine will not be damaged since only on reaching home then only the oil indicator light up. The crankshaft is robust and those bearings can withstand heat. So dont worry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Author Share August 31, 2004 my buns machiam got sunburn.... my ears like kena sonic boom....'harr' ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 wow, i ever have gear oil leak until car cannot move. i replace the gear. now u have engine oil leak, i am afraid....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Author Share August 31, 2004 Oil indicator lighted up. Engine felt sluggish.. not much power. But no seizure took place. Engine bay looks like a hamburger kitchen...so greasy. Din check the engine temp tho.. still praying hard. Will be bringing to TC to check....other than ripping the engine out, what else can be checked ? Compression ratio ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Author Share August 31, 2004 at least you did see something... my parents were whizzing the NS like no tomorrow, so likely they could not see or smell anything. ya.. will be washing it up nice and clean..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Author Share August 31, 2004 hope so.. thanx for the reassurance. but will be bringing down to TC to check nonetheless...just in case. coz the car is just 6 mths old. trying to be mentally prepared to sell/scrap/repair on the worse case.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Author Share August 31, 2004 ya.. me still pretty much afraid upto now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 luckily not as bad since luckcent reassured u. but still, gotta be careful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 think it's not a big issue. Maybe it's all "mental". Your guilt is causing you to think that you have done harm to your parent's car. Go for a check. But I doubt it's so serious until need to scrap. My friend in Malaysia didn't know his engine oil was leaking and at the end, could hear the piston clunking and finally car couldn't move. That's when you will need to do some scrapping. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 Rest assured, the engine will be fine. Same for my ride, also forgot to put back oil cap and also also the oil indicator came on. Just fill oil back to normal level and send it to w/shop to clean up and all is fine. For your information my ride was even poured in 4.5 liters of oil by the mechanic without draining the old oil. Imagine having 9 liters of oil in the engine. . Brought it back to agent and bang table, unfortunately the mech was told to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 hehe, maybe he wanted an excuse to make his parents change the car from Sunny to Cefiro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 31, 2004 Share August 31, 2004 Good idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Author Share August 31, 2004 car going in for checks today... parents say car feels no power at all..... (but they've been saying that since they got the car) so see how. not sure if TC will charge them a bomb for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 31, 2004 Author Share August 31, 2004 hehehe.. I'd take a JDM accord anytime... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...