Optra or Altis

Ncl2505

u made the right choice, pal. i felt the optra's build quality is much better than the altis. ride is more comfy and confi feel too. with so much aveos and optras on the road, i would think this brand is here to stay. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Optra will consume more fuel than Altis because it is of a better built and a heavier car due to safety purposes. I m willing to compromise safety than fuel consumption!!! Also, the Altis safety standards is only for either Thailand, Singapore or Asean countries. Sorry! i dun remember!!! However, I can confirm that the Optra safety standards is of world class.

I find the Oprta a quieter drive than the Altis also.

[reply]

Optra will consume more fuel than Altis because it is of a better built and a heavier car due to safety purposes. I m willing to compromise safety than fuel consumption!!! Also, the Altis safety standards is only for either Thailand, Singapore or Asean countries. Sorry! i dun remember!!! However, I can confirm that the Optra safety standards is of world class.

I find the Oprta a quieter drive than the Altis also.

Well, I guess when it comes down to individuals, different needs/requirements have different weightage.

For my list here goes :

0) Budget

1) Comfort Ride

2) Safety

3) Fuel Consumption

I find the ride (noise, engine sound, steering feel, road handling confidence) is far superior to Altis.

In terms of safety, I have never personally crash-tested any of the cars, but the only advantage is Altis's 2 SRS Airbag compared to Optra.

FC, even if 20% higher than Altis is like only about $60 more per month (or $720 per year). For the price difference of comparable version (leather, auto tranny, sports rim), it is about $3,000. This price saving can top-up my increased fuel consumption for 4 years already.. so to me, the increase in FC was compensated.

Unless you go to KL every weekend, then you most probably clock double my mileage, and the savings in car price can last you only 2 years..

Hi Bro,

I'm also waiting for my black optra premium. Incidentally, we booked the same accessories. What price you are paying? Mine is $69644.25. Now waiting for my open COE also, hopefully can receive it by this Friday.

My wife like Optra very much. In fact we have test drive other car also like nissan sunny , cerato , matrix and also liana and shortlisted to Optra and Altis. I have also test drive both car and my opinion also Optra is better. The problem , Optra is relative new in the market and dun know the reliabilty is good or not.

wat do u find in optra that have an edge over altis? me oso comparing notes. [:)]

if suay get into accident, i wld tink optra parts are rarer n therefore more expensive? toyota parts are all over the place...

tats the onli part i havent heard mentioned so far.

korean cars are gd for 10 yrs nowadays lah. but i still observe korean cars will break down for some stupid reason or refuse to start once in a while. but u wont hear of a toyota doing tat.

[reply]

if suay get into accident, i wld tink optra parts are rarer n therefore more expensive? toyota parts are all over the place...

tats the onli part i havent heard mentioned so far.

korean cars are gd for 10 yrs nowadays lah. but i still observe korean cars will break down for some stupid reason or refuse to start once in a while. but u wont hear of a toyota doing tat.

Looking at insurance premium, and I will have to conclude that AIG thinks my Optra is cheaper to repair.

My premium for Optra 1.6 Auto is $1500+, for Altis 1.6 Auto is $1700+.

In terms of parts for the Optra, should not be a problem, though I have not physically verified. Already heard of someone changing rear bumper for only $400+ for the whole set. I think Altis at least $500+ ?

Optra made in Rayong, Thailand. Sold in SG, MY, TH and China as Buick Excelle. I don't think should have problem getting cheap parts from Thailand as well as China.

As for never hearing a toyota breaking down for no reason, I have.. wink.gif. I have also experienced a Mercz engine/valve timing went haywire at a traffic light. Have to do a Cold reboot (Off everything, pull out key, and restart engine) to rectify. Warm reboot (just off engine and restart, without turing to OFF all the way) does not work.

I guess just a matter of how well the owner maintains it. And also some degree of luck.

The only problem I know of with Chevy is somehow, for no reason, it attracts bamboo sticks towards the fron windshield...laugh.gif

"The only problem I know of with Chevy is somehow, for no reason, it attracts bamboo sticks towards the fron windshield... "

I concur such strange phenomenon.....

Hi, I agree with what you have mentioned but do you know that most Jap car don't need to repair after accident. [confused] Why? the body cannot withstand the impact thus need to scrap even involved in minor accident.

My brother's Lancer was scraped after head on with a Subaru WRX. Subaru suffer minor dent but the Lancer air bag inflated, radiator broken, engine damaged..... [shakehead] Cheap Jap car with cheap quality.

[furious]

Seen 1 Optra involved in accident last week, also minor dent, but not the Jap car. Ha Ha. Life protection is more important. [thumbsup][bounce2]

[

wat do u find in optra that have an edge over altis? me oso comparing notes. [:)][/reply]

I chosen Optra mainly because of the built quality , comfort and silent drive , good interior and the look with the spoiler is nicer.FC for me is secondary compare to the good ride.