Need to change headlights

Agnoxis

Recently, my left headlights not working totally, ie. only the right side got lights when I switch them on. Just wondering how much it roughly costs to change that so I won't be chopped carrot...

Better to change at Hokkien mechanic or CAS? Thinking of going CAS for a round of servicing since it's considerably cheaper (engine oil+oil filter @ $48) compared to my mechanic (engine oil+oil filter+spark plugs+air filter @ $80 - now I'm wondering whether he put air filter as in change the filter or just clean the previous one...)

BTW, my ride is a Suzuki Swift SF310GL, dun quite know the cost of the air filter...

Could be a blown bulb... no need for whole headlight unit replacement.. cost depends on how much.. Philips direct replacement is around $50 for a pair (always change in pairs), and is quite easy to DIY [:)] no labour charge. However most places will change for you if you buy from them.

You can't see what your mechanic do to your car meh? You can see whether he changes a new air filter or not mah. CAS charges $48 for oil+filter but have you asked what oil they used? Sometime those hokkien mechanics are better then english speaking ones.

1st - get hold of ur car owner manual. look for the fusebox.

open fusebox and check the fuse related to headlamp. if it is blown ( as indicated by a burnt mark or disconnection betw both terminals), just get the same fuse and replace it. if it blows again, then u obviously hv a bigger problem of shorted wires, which is dangerous.

once u ascertain that this is not blown, ok, u dunno how to replace ur headlamp bulbs, neberming. goto places like autobaccs or stamford tyres. thou their bulbs mebbe slightly costlier, u dun need philips or expensive stuff, they hv normal headlamp. and the best thing is they hv a fix price for changing bulbs.

change a pair of them.

as for air filters, simple lah, go join suzuki club, plenty of pple will help u. u can buy from lawerence ong which is at waterloo center (waterloo street/ off middle road), their shop faces st joseph church. just park at roadside for a while and pop by the shop. but make sure there is no aunties around lah. and once u done with ur biz, better go off, cos parking illegally is expensive yeah?

Normal halogen bulb costs about $6/ea. Be careful not to touch the glass part of the bulb as it will blow very fast.

I normally change only the blown bulb as the other bulb might last very much longer & you will be wasting money by changing it unnecessarily. But it's up to you.

Before you change, try unplugging the bulb connector & put it back & check again if it works as the connection might just be loose.